We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively surprised!”
Review of Aponye Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aponye Hotel
Ranked #76 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed September 5, 2012

After reading all the negative comments on this forum we initially wanted to avoid this hotel. However, they offered airport pickup and early check-in which was convenient as we arrived very early from Cairo.
Prepared for the worst, we were positively surprised! The airport pickup was on time and charged the agreed cost, we really could check in at 4 am at no additional charge (!!! we only paid the standard price for the next night) and the rooms were clean and very ok for the cost of the room.
The only negative point worth mentioning is its location in downtown Kampala, so yes, there is noise during the night (but this was the same in almost every other city we stayed in East Africa). However, we preferred to stay in the center as we appreciated the possibility to walk to the Post Bus and restaurants without having to take a taxi all the time.
So, all in all I can only recommend this hotel to budget travelers!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank mokkafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 61 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here mostly for its handy location smack bang downtown close to the taxi park. It is a funny place in that it is above a shopping mall and it is not so easy to get up to the hotel (3rd floor) when you have lots of bags and their perpetually out of order elevator is, well, out of order.
I stayed first in a double room with fan as there were no singles, it was about $23 but did have wifi and a tv with 3 channels, one of which showed some olympics in portuguese.
The room was ok but the fan was nowhere near the bed so was quite useless. On opening the window I got bitten hundreds of times - the mozzies around there are fierce.
It was a little noisy overnight with banging or doors going till 2 or 3 am (sounded more like staff that guests) and then some hammering at 7 am.So the next night I moved into another room which had a/c and was $27. This was better and quieter and i could leave the window closed. The TV did not really work though i don't go to Africa for TV.

The shower was pretty poor with the hot water more of an imagined warmth than actual but it worked, and after 2 days of bucket baths in Murchison i was ok with that.
A final word on the staff. While the porters are quite helpful the desk ladies could not give less of a damn if they tried. But trying is not in their job description. I found it more amusing than anything else but I could see how it could get annoying if you actually needed help. Their laundry is weird, charging more to wash socks than trousers, but it is what it is.

Fora night or two if you have an early taxi in the morning it is fine and a lot cheaper than the mid range hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones with the balcony that opens into the courtyard. Balconies over the main road are coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldoc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I am writing this review as I sit on the bed in my room at the Aponye Hotel, at 3:39am, because I cannot sleep due to the deafening base coming from who-knows-where saturating my room. I am wearing ear plugs. I asked to be moved but the woman at the front desk stared at me blankly and told me I would have to pay more to move to a quieter section.

Customer service here is terrible; appropriate for a dive like the Hotel Aponye.

There are also many cockroaches in my room. Big ones, little ones... It’s pretty gross. I have been living in Uganda for about three months now and have never seen such an infestation anywhere else I have stayed.

My word of advice is to just go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel arraigned an airport transfer for us, which was great until we went to pay for it. The e-mail from the hotel listed one price, but the driver demanded more. This occurred at the front desk with the hotel manager present. We produced the e-mail but the manager and the driver both said the e-mail was wrong and we would have to pay more.

We attempted to change our US currency into Ugandan shillings at the airport, but the driver insisted that we wait, that we could get a better rate elsewhere. Against my better judgement I listened. When we get to the hotel, the manager kept finding "problems" with our US currency, and would not accept it. Although she would gladly "hold" a "bad" $100 bill until we could get to a bank the next day, after we told her we had to leave at 7:00 to catch a bus. I was finally able to find an ATM so we could pay her. Sure enough there was no-one around except for a guard sleeping on the lobby couch when we left the next morning.

The service was rude, the restaurant was below average, and overall it was not a good experience. The only good thing about this hotel was the proximity to the Post Office if you need to catch the Post Bus to other parts of the country.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Where do I start? The person (woman) at the reception/front desk was very unprofessional. I called from overseas to check to see that my family member had arrived and checked in okay and i was treated to rudeness!!!!!!! Because I did not know his room number I was shut down and told there are many 'bazungu' (white people) there and how was she supposed to know who he was...never mind the fact that I gave both his names a number of times. Her other phone then rang and without putting me on hold she went ahead to answer it and why am I not surprised that it was a persoanl call? Finally she hang up on me because I guess she thought it was the next best thing to do. Stay at this place at your own risk!!!! If the first bit of service (or lack of) is what they are offering, then I do not want to even know what the rest of the hotel has to offer. Shame on you Aponye...better step up!!!! with your customer service or get out of the businesss of hospitality all together!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not waste your time and mind! You'll go crazy after dealing with the crappy front desk woman.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Kyobutungyi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Situated downtown on busy street. Ok if you have a room at the back or middle as quieter. Reasonably clean but questionable electrics - wires hanging out of walls etc. Main issue for me was poor service, especially in the restaurant. Unfriendly, slow, and inflexible. Having said that, it is probably one of the cheaper hotels around

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithcj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

For $30 per night for an air-conditioned double it is a reasonable price with helpful staff, wireless Internet, and clean sheets. But you get what you pay for: the bare minimum. Our room was not vacuumed under the bed and we couldn't stop sneezing and the duvet covers on top of the sheets were full of dust. There were cobwebs in the corners of the rooms and the mosquitoes were aggressive even with the nets. And the balcony was hilarious: Built but then encased in glass around it so no fresh air at night so defeats the purpose of a balcony. So, if you can find another hotel for the same price but is actually cleaned beyond the sheets and is sprayed for mosquitoes choose it instead. Maybe the free wireless Internet is what puts this hotel above the competition. But I think their days are numbered. And the shower rarely had hot water, cold water was too cold, and the shower did not have enough pressure.

Room Tip: Check under the bed and the ceiling corners for dust and cobwebs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustyRwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Top Five
Hotel Top Five
#53 of 105 in Kampala
9 reviews
0 mi away
Ravens Hotel Limited
Ravens Hotel Limited
#66 of 105 in Kampala
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.8 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 105 in Kampala
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aponye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aponye Hotel

Address: Plot 17B William Street | Next to Equity bank & UBA Bank and Majestic Plaza, Kampala +256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $22 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 52 elegant, self contained; air conditioned and well furnished executive rooms fitted with DSTV and Cable TV.It is within walking distance to and from the bus and taxi stations, shopping malls, African craft shops, cultural centres, major banks, universities, government offices and foreign missions.Aponye hotel is a favorite of foreign tourists and the business community because of its price friendly and affordable accomodation,utmost good care and hospitality extended to its guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aponye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing