We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aponye”
Review of Aponye Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aponye Hotel
Ranked #75 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aponye”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel arraigned an airport transfer for us, which was great until we went to pay for it. The e-mail from the hotel listed one price, but the driver demanded more. This occurred at the front desk with the hotel manager present. We produced the e-mail but the manager and the driver both said the e-mail was wrong and we would have to pay more.

We attempted to change our US currency into Ugandan shillings at the airport, but the driver insisted that we wait, that we could get a better rate elsewhere. Against my better judgement I listened. When we get to the hotel, the manager kept finding "problems" with our US currency, and would not accept it. Although she would gladly "hold" a "bad" $100 bill until we could get to a bank the next day, after we told her we had to leave at 7:00 to catch a bus. I was finally able to find an ATM so we could pay her. Sure enough there was no-one around except for a guard sleeping on the lobby couch when we left the next morning.

The service was rude, the restaurant was below average, and overall it was not a good experience. The only good thing about this hotel was the proximity to the Post Office if you need to catch the Post Bus to other parts of the country.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
4
25
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Where do I start? The person (woman) at the reception/front desk was very unprofessional. I called from overseas to check to see that my family member had arrived and checked in okay and i was treated to rudeness!!!!!!! Because I did not know his room number I was shut down and told there are many 'bazungu' (white people) there and how was she supposed to know who he was...never mind the fact that I gave both his names a number of times. Her other phone then rang and without putting me on hold she went ahead to answer it and why am I not surprised that it was a persoanl call? Finally she hang up on me because I guess she thought it was the next best thing to do. Stay at this place at your own risk!!!! If the first bit of service (or lack of) is what they are offering, then I do not want to even know what the rest of the hotel has to offer. Shame on you Aponye...better step up!!!! with your customer service or get out of the businesss of hospitality all together!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not waste your time and mind! You'll go crazy after dealing with the crappy front desk woman.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyobutungyi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Situated downtown on busy street. Ok if you have a room at the back or middle as quieter. Reasonably clean but questionable electrics - wires hanging out of walls etc. Main issue for me was poor service, especially in the restaurant. Unfriendly, slow, and inflexible. Having said that, it is probably one of the cheaper hotels around

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithcj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rwanda
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

For $30 per night for an air-conditioned double it is a reasonable price with helpful staff, wireless Internet, and clean sheets. But you get what you pay for: the bare minimum. Our room was not vacuumed under the bed and we couldn't stop sneezing and the duvet covers on top of the sheets were full of dust. There were cobwebs in the corners of the rooms and the mosquitoes were aggressive even with the nets. And the balcony was hilarious: Built but then encased in glass around it so no fresh air at night so defeats the purpose of a balcony. So, if you can find another hotel for the same price but is actually cleaned beyond the sheets and is sprayed for mosquitoes choose it instead. Maybe the free wireless Internet is what puts this hotel above the competition. But I think their days are numbered. And the shower rarely had hot water, cold water was too cold, and the shower did not have enough pressure.

Room Tip: Check under the bed and the ceiling corners for dust and cobwebs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustyRwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

wish they were more helpful ,.it took ages for a coffee and sandwichm,too much security men in the streets it scared me,wish managment there showed some appreciation ,..no lift working ,.its to busy the streets there for any walking about in comfort,.i would not recomend the bus journey from kampala to nairobi,.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suirvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night on our way through Kampala. At 60,000 we felt the room was a much better value than Red Chilli's where we had previously spent a couple nights. The hotel is conveniently located in the downtown with lots of cafes and transport links in the area. The rooms are large, bright with a queen-sized comfortable bed with white sheets. TV had lots of channels including some movie networks. There's a big bureau and little table and chair seating. Bathroom was clean and maintained. We ordered room service which was good. Breakfast isn't included but there's a number of cafes down the street that serve very filling and cheap breakfasts. The staff weren't super friendly and the elevator doesn't work, but as value for quality of room, this was the best we saw in Uganda. It felt very much like a business hotel for locals. We'd definitely return here and would recommend any backpacker not to waste their money on something like Red Chilli's when there's much nicer and cheaper places to stay closer to downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

After a month camping in Uganda to arrive at this hotel was a pleasant suprise. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. However, the hotel is situated on one of the busiest roads I have ever come across and so the noise continues throughout the night. It is opposite a mosque which has speakers on the roof so everyone can hear what is going on. There were a few ants in our bathroom and the mosquito nets had holes in them. I did not have a single bite on arrival at the hotel and after 3 days left with numerous.... For the price you pay (and if you speak to them they will go lower) I would say this hotel is well worth it

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony as then you can watch the amusing passers by, some of the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Ravens Hotel Limited
Ravens Hotel Limited
#74 of 101 in Kampala
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Namayiba Park Hotel
Namayiba Park Hotel
#39 of 101 in Kampala
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biraj International Hotel
Biraj International Hotel
#59 of 101 in Kampala
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Express Hotel
Holiday Express Hotel
#45 of 101 in Kampala
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 101 in Kampala
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 101 in Kampala
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aponye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aponye Hotel

Property: Aponye Hotel
Address: Apollo House,Plot 17B William Street | Next to Equity bank & UBA Bank and Majestic Plaza, Kampala +256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 52 elegant, self contained; air conditioned and well furnished executive rooms fitted with DSTV and Cable TV.It is within walking distance to and from the bus and taxi stations, shopping malls, African craft shops, cultural centres, major banks, universities, government offices and foreign missions.Aponye hotel is a favorite of foreign tourists and the business community because of its price friendly and affordable accomodation,utmost good care and hospitality extended to its guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aponye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing