We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Indeed But Beware”
Review of Aponye Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aponye Hotel
Ranked #76 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel truly is a great deal. We paid $23 for a double room. I am certainly not complaining about that but I do think there are some things reviewers should know before they book or decide to stay here.

This hotel is smack dab in the heart of downtown Kampala. This is NOT a good thing. The street that this hotel is on is ALWAYS crowded with trucks delivering stuff. It is so congested that our tour drivers could NEVER pick up or drop us off on our street. We had to hike in a couple of blocks away. This is not a problem but guests should be forewarned especially if you will be traveling with any suitcases as the streets are MAD with people and cars. It can literally take 45 min to go a few short blocks.

The other thing I wanted to mention is there is really no reason to stay in the heart of downtown Kampala. It will drive you crazy with the dust, noise and congestion. Many of the restos that are rated on TripAdvisor for Kampala are located in Kololo. Stay there. There just isn't a lot to do in downtown unless you want to witness a very very busy city (can't you see that anywhere in the world?)

If you do find yourself in the heart of downtown Kampala, go to Sam's resto. It is an Indian resto that is great abeit a bit over priced. The manager there is gracious and very hospitable.

One more thing: Aponye has many many roaches. Just go there knowing that. I grew up with plenty of roaches so it didn't bother me, but like I said, reviewers should know this.

Lastly, on the plus side, Aponye surprisingly had a nice breakfast and nice staff. The building really was very secure and they had room service! Pleasantly surprised by that.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank dianahuynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and was really pleased at what you got for your money. Great location in the middle of town, if in a slightly mad street, but I think most of Kampala is like that. Room was clean, felt safe, friendly staff, quick turn around and cheap washing service. Ate in the hotel restaurant twice and it was tasty, cheap and quick service.

Would go back.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank Vik_Fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have stayed there for almost a week and we had a pleasant stay there.The hotel is inexpensive and the services and the staff were nice.We paid less but get good enough services.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMstravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed here twice on my travels. The manager and staff were very helpful, the rooms clean and security good - felt safe as a solo female traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186338Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at the Aponye Hotel twice. The second time there was a misunderstanding regarding the booking and the general manager upgraded us to a better room. He then took care of us, gave us advices about places to go and visit, brought us personally to an exchange office with very good rates, organized the taxis in the early morning hours and brought all our postcards to the post office after we left. Excellent service! Thank you!
The rooms are very good quality for the price and there is a storage room where they can keep your valuables for all the days you need.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasE1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We booked this hotel last minute for a stay of two nights and were not disappointed.

The hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable, and the restaurant offers good quality food . However, there are a few drawbacks, principally that the lift is permanently out of order and the hotel rooms are several flights of stairs from street level. Don't book if you're unfit! Also, the mosquito net was in poor condition so I got bitten a few times.

Having said that, the rooms are ever so cheap and the ceiling fan and small balcony were nice additions.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biz_e26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I have now stayed at this hotel three times and would not consider going back to Kampala and staying anywhere else ! I love it there ! The rates are unbelievably reasonable for what you get, I have hardly ever had a problem getting hot water, maybe once or twice in the morning but that is when everyone else is showering so it's understandable and the staff are fantastic...nothing is too much trouble and they are extremely friendly and helpful...I have never once had to carry my own bags up the stairs as the staff do it before you even ask....I have never ever seen prostitutes or pimps there and I did ask them after reading that review....apparently they were brought in by some undesirables who were staying there that time so I really do not think that is an issue.I truly honestly could not recommend this hotel more...they make you feel like you are at home away from home....and the restaurant food is probably one of the best Ive eaten in Kampala-fantastic chef !

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divebunnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#57 of 105 in Kampala
4 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Top Five
Hotel Top Five
#56 of 105 in Kampala
9 reviews
0 mi away
Ravens Hotel Limited
Ravens Hotel Limited
#68 of 105 in Kampala
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 105 in Kampala
343 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aponye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aponye Hotel

Address: Plot 17B William Street | Next to Equity bank & UBA Bank and Majestic Plaza, Kampala +256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $22 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 52 elegant, self contained; air conditioned and well furnished executive rooms fitted with DSTV and Cable TV.It is within walking distance to and from the bus and taxi stations, shopping malls, African craft shops, cultural centres, major banks, universities, government offices and foreign missions.Aponye hotel is a favorite of foreign tourists and the business community because of its price friendly and affordable accomodation,utmost good care and hospitality extended to its guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aponye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing