We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the tuna melt sandwich!”
Review of Cafe Javas

Cafe Javas
Ranked #1 of 296 Restaurants in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cafejavas is a full-service, quick-casual, coffee-themed restaurant chain in Kampala Uganda. It provides the perfect refuge from a busy days shopping or a quick break from the office. It is where Kampala goes for breakfast, lunch, dinner, coffee and pastries. Menu items are specifically designed to meet the needs of just about everyone looking for a friendly informal dining experience. Great emphasis is put on customer service. The staff are highly skilled, trained and experienced in the hospitality industry. We commit to great food, great coffee, great service, an experience that will make you long for more.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
“Try the tuna melt sandwich!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

For my travel and lifestyle blog I went to Kampala to scout the best restaurants, bars, shops and things to do. This place is great for breakfst, just a coffee or lunch. I love their passion fruit juice too! There's only one thing I eat here every day when in Kampala: the Tuna Melt sandwich. It's delicious! For me as a girl I ordered without any sided since the sandwiched are huge! I will post more on Kampala on my blog soon. Or just read my other reviews on Tripadvisor about Kampala and its restaurants.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank iannsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    351
    91
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service and great food!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Cafe Javas is one of my favorite places to get some tastes of home. They have great service with delicious food. Their milkshakes are the best I've had in Kampala. I love their teriyaki wrap so much that every time I try to order something else, I just keep going back to it. They used to have some great frozen yogurt but don't have it right now. My only bummer? They make you pay for wi-fi. All in all, it's a great place to escape the insanity that is Kampala, relax and enjoy some great food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahPish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still a good deal”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A busy place for a great lunch. Various menu items to fit most budgets and palates. Good service. Hard to find a seat for a larger group, esp during the lunch rush, but come in a little early and it is a nice meeting spot. Good for the family too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great cafe with generous serves!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The cafe is modelled along Starbucks style, but with Ugandan menus integrated. Customer service was excellent and serves were generous.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zaria055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice cafe for quick bites”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Café Javas are a chain of cafes in Kampala that serve nice snacks and decent lunches. Mostly a good place to visit for snack or lunch out of convenience as have good locations. Service is also always efficient. That said, not sure how Café Javas has become one of the top-rated restaurants on TripAdvisor, ahead of many very excellent sit-down restaurants in Kampala. In my opinion the food is nothing special, certainly not to be considered for more than a quick bite. My feeling is that previous reviewers which give this place a high rating for being "good for Uganda" have not ventured out very often for proper dinner in Kampala, and were mainly attracted to Javas because of their central locations and western appearance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Javas also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Cafe Javas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing