We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unwind your trip at the shores of Lake Vicoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lagoon Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lagoon Resort
Ranked #7 of 175 Kampala B&B and Inns
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unwind your trip at the shores of Lake Vicoria”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After some weeks travelling over bumpy roads and escaping the terrible smoggy and crowed Kampala it was great to relax some days in this green paradise. Especially because we were the only guests!
The ride by boat from Kampala is rather rough, but the skipper managed to keep our feet dry.
The main building is constructed very nice by the owner himself and tastefully furnished and decorated by one of the sons. Overlook the lake at sunset from the deck and enjoy the view. Admire to the great blue turaco’s and the laughing hornbills.
Go for a walk to the neighbouring village with very kind people, escorted by the dog of the lodge! Relax at the swimming pool and increase your tan.
The guesthouses were not built as nice as the main building, were not mosquito-proof and needed some cleaning.
The kitchen is great and the service was kind and good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandoeng1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horgen
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The two days @ Lagoon Resort were the first two days in Uganda. It was an good start to get used to the climate and the country.

My room was named Rhino. It is a small cottage with an terrace. From this terrace you can spot monkey and several species of birds. The room was nice and clean. First I was wondering that there was no fan, but after all I did not miss it and I had always a good sleep.

Breakfast, Lunch and dinner are served in the main building. The quality of the food was excellent.

One day I made a "community walk" to see how the people are living and what they are growing. One afternoon I rented the boat to get closer to the different birds. it was definitely worth the price. Just ask the Hassan or his father when the boat will be available.

The resort is family owned and run by the family. All the people are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I had been to Lagoon Resort in November last year for lunch, where we were served freshly grilled fish, which was incredible. As I was staying elsewhere and this way only a day trip, I promised the owner, Steve and his son Mark, that I would stay overnight the next time.

Lagoon Resort is nothing like I have experienced before: you take a boat from the marina at the Speke, where a gent named Duncan proficiently zips you across the waters of Lake Victoria to the end of a quiet cove where a pier on a white sandy beach greets you.

There is a central lodge for meals and drinks, adeptly managed by Patrick, who is resourceful enough to make even the most outrageous requests happen.

I stayed at "Buffalo", which is a short walk down the pebbled trail to the right of the central lodge. I was surprised to find it so comfortable! Double bed, spacious shower, hot water, enough space for my stuff to be put away and not trip over... the entire stay was a great experience and the panoramic views breathtaking!

I'm now back in Kampala for a few days and the busyness of being in the city is a clear reminder of just how tranquil and relaxing the weekend was. I feel rested and energized!

Thanks guys. Look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: The coffee served here is unbelievable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moving around all the time!
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our holiday and found the Lagoon Resort to exceed our expectations (which were already fairly high!). We were made to feel very welcome by the whole team. The owner Steve is an exceptional host and the staff are great. Our accommodation was perfect - a lovely tented lodge in the forest complete with our own red tail monkey display. The food was great; each meal was a welcome treat. Given the level of service and the exceptional quality of food at $100 per person full board this is very good value. Within 5 seconds of arrival you forget that you are only 25 minutes away from the traffic chaos of Kampala.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Situated just 25mins by boat from Munyonyo, Kampala, the Lagoon Resort is a world away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Owned and run by a German father and son team, this small resort (there are just 5 cottages and one family-sized banda) is set in acres of lush green gardens, carefully designed to retain as much of the land’s natural character as possible. After docking on the private jetty, you cross the small sandy beach and, escorted by the two friendly resident dogs, follow the winding gravel path up a gentle slope to the main building, a low, open plan thatched rondavel which houses the bar, reading lounge and dining area. The décor is tastefully simple and finished to a high standard, using local materials and artwork. The owners’ philosophy is obviously that less is more and they are not wrong.

Along another windy path, set deep among the trees and surrounded by abundant exotic flowers, are the rooms – wooden A-frame bungalows on stilts with canvas sides. Instead of numbers the bungalows are identified by a signboard bearing an animal (mine was the mighty buffalo!) and each has its own balcony where you can sit and soak up the sounds of the surrounding forest, which teems with birdlife. The spacious rooms are simply but elegantly furnished with comfortable 4-poster double beds draped with mosquito nets, a wardrobe and dressing table, and a partitioned bathroom with hot water showers and flush toilets. Power is supplied in the early morning and throughout the evening, and after dark oil lamps line the pathways to guide you safely home to bed!

At dusk, the best place to be is undoubtedly on the wooden ‘Sunset Platform’, cleverly built around the trunk of a large tree and extending out over the sprawling lawns. Reclining on one of the many cushioned loungers, you can stare out over the lake and while away yet another hour or two until dinner.

Meals are taken in the glass fronted dining room with views out over the lake at whatever time suits you. And what food! The 3-course fixed menus for lunch and dinner are superb – during my stay I was served delicious tilapia (fresh from the lake) in a tangy creole sauce, thick and tender beef steak with garlic butter, and chicken in a creamy white wine sauce, accompanied by various vegetables and rice. The desserts ranged from fresh fruit salads to banana fritters drizzled with chocolate sauce. Breakfast is a similarly grand affair, with a mixed fruit platter, followed by toast and preserves and rounded off with eggs of your choosing, bacon and baked beans.

The resort lends itself to lazy afternoons with a good book, where the only thing to trouble yourself with is deciding which of the many shady seating areas to try out next. But if you start to feel like you need to work up a bit of an appetite before the next meal (as I most certainly did), there are a number of activities available to try. For the sporty-minded you can take kayaks out on the lake, hire bikes to explore the tracks around the resort, or borrow a rod and have a go at catching your dinner from the end of the jetty. There’s also a volleyball net set up on the beach if you can summon the energy! For those more inclined to take things at a very African pace, there’s a reading table with numerous magazines and books left by previous visitors inside the lounge. Finally, you could set out on the resort’s own nature trail through the surrounding bush and see how many of the species of bird you can spot.

The Lagoon Resort feels like it almost dares you not to fall into a deep state of relaxation and I’m happy to say I failed miserably. When it was time to leave I was the last onto the boat, wishing I could stay just one more day! I would most certainly recommend this place to anyone wishing to “get away from it all”. But the word is getting out so booking ahead is essential!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VanH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampala
0.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
314 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
191 reviews
9.2 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#16 of 97 in Kampala
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Resort

Property: Lagoon Resort
Address: Kyagwe | PO Box 70835, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing