We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service/Safe and Secure”
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge
Ranked #51 of 210 Kampala B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I stayed at the lodge twice over the last 3 months. The staff is simply amazing! Alex will get anything you need him to, Tessie and the other cleaning ladies kept the room in top shape and the food was superb. Best eggs ever! Robert (the Owner) personally introduced himself and made sure all of our needs were met. We were only suppose to make one trip and prepaid for 1 month. While in Kampala we found out we needed to leave early and return in December. Robert kindly offered to save a room for us even though it was a very busy time of year with the holidays. He in no way had to do that. No further charge, just adjusted dates of stay.

Wi-fi worked great and generators always kicked on within 5 minutes of power failures. The best feature was how safe the lodge was. I never had to worry about leaving personal posessions in the room. All windows had bars, and the lodge was secured with gates and 24 hour guards.

The lodge was better than we could have ever dreamed and the price was simply amazing compared with other lodging options. Would highly recommend to any travelers!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrentEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 54 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2010

I picked The Lodge off TripAdvisor and wasn't disappointed. The double room was basic but very spacious and there was a nice breeze that kept the room cool. The room and bathroom were very clean. I had a nice sitting and eating area outside my room. Breakfast was well done and tasty. The location is a 2 house compound between Kampala and Entebbe. It was a good location for this trip but there is nothing in the area to see or walk to. The grounds are very nice and they are supposed to be putting in a pool, so that would be a great way to pass the time. Very nice people own and run the lodge and the staff was very accommodating. The internet was spotty but they are working to upgrade it. I would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytrailsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We have just returned from our week stay in Uganda.The Kampala Lodge is set back off the main road and away from all the hustle and bustle.It is very clean and more like a private home than a hotel.The staff are very friendly and helpful.we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here .This hotel is excellent value for money and so much nicer than the flash hotels in the city centre.!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamilDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Traveling to Uganda for a wildlife safari, we did a lot of web-based research on the many lodging options in the country where we would be staying. The Lodge looked like a good bet, but we really couldn't be sure until we arrived. From the moment we entered the lobby, we knew that this was the right place for us. The warmth and friendliness of the owner and staff made us feel completely at home, yet we also could find total quiet and privacy in our large, clean room. The solid, non-motel-like furniture helped foster a home-like atmosphere. The hotel is set back far enough from the highway which makes it easier for public transport. Since we had not been to the country before, we had lots of questions, and owners and staff turned out to be a wealth of information. We quickly learned to look forward to their "continental breakfast," full of homemade goodies such as apple crisp, fresh fruit salad, and quiche, with a different menu every day. The location was ideal:, and we had easy access to the Village and restaurants, even in bad weather. For us, the true test of lodging is how we feel about it a week or two later, when the "vacation glow" has faded. The Lodge kampala now has a special place in our hearts, as one of the best all-around places we have stayed on a winter vacation. -- Jerome and friends from New England

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeromekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

My husband is not a fan of B & B's -- but when I sent him the website for Kampala Lodge he said, "book it!". This is a place that men will tell their friends about (women will,too) - no flowered wallpaper or fragile antiques in sight!. The Lodge is a beautifully designed -- with great beds,plenty of water pressure to get the dirt off after a day of outdoor activities, and of course, its clean, clean, clean. The rooms are decorated with the lodge theme -- the birds are found in abundance everywhere you look -- Guests can sit in the great room and watch the near by panorama. I loved sitting outside and breathing in the lake Victoria air! I wanted to bottle the smell and take it home with me. The air is just one of the things I enjoyed on my recent 4 night stay at the lodge. I also enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of the owner and his staff. My husband and I felt relaxed and welcome. Every morning there was a different breakfast to look forward to -- stuffed French toast, ricotta cheese pancakes, Asiago cheese omlet, etc.etc. We also got suggestions for where to go and how to get there from Robert-- who is a fountain of information and enthusiam for the country being a travel agent himself. There are lots of things to keep you busy for the length of your stay. If you love the outdoors and nature you will never run out of adventures in this area of Kampala. We went to the the beaches in Entebbe and ate some terrifiic food. Upon our return from a long day of touring we were greeted with home baked cookies,-- the end to a perfect day of relaxation. We really had the feeling that we "got away from it all" for a few precious days. This is THE SPOT to go to if you want to relax and unwind. The other guests we met at the lodge were interesting and friendly -- but never intruded on our space or time -- just offered friendly conversation at breakfast or in the evening.. Don't wait for a special occasion to visit the Lodge -- you never need an excuse to enjoy yourself, I would definitely return to the lodge again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I stayed at The Lodge kampala for 3 weeks while I was visiting kampala on a business trip and conference. All I can say is FANTASTIC what an incredible place. The rooms are newly refurbished with top quality finishes, the staff very accommodating, my room was spotless and my bed was a welcoming gift after my long day at work. The kitchenette was stocked with all the necessary. It felt like home away from home. I have never had such devine coffee, they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and mostly use local and organic ingredients to prepare their meals, you have to visit this "one in a million " guest house in Uganda.

Thanks to all the staff - what a wonderful experience, I will definately be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brnn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I love TheLodge Kampala! My colleagues and I held a week long Executive retreat there in February and it was an expereince I will long cherish.And here it is: for all the luxury, beautiful decor, exquisite food, lovely surroundings, it is people who make a place. And in the end it was The lodge staff who created the hotel's wonderful ambience. From the maids, to the restaurant staff, to reception, I have seldom met a friendlier, more welcoming group of interesting, engaging and engaged people. Robert and his team are really to be congratulated, and more than that, sincerely thanked.

The Lodge not only has great facilities, beautiful rooms, but the staff are absolutely wonderful, every single person from Robert and Sam to Anna the gatekeeper. Everyone responded promptly to our every request.The staff's friendliness and eagerness to help along with the great location in a great neighbourhood helped to wipe away the stress and make us feel truly relaxed. I hope I can go back just to soak in the calmness and the warmth of the staff. Five stars guest house!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dietervenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#29 of 104 in Kampala
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 104 in Kampala
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Speke Resort and Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
208 reviews
6.5 mi away
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: Lweza, Kampala 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range: $47 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is an intimate guest house that provides that quietness and friendly service. Only open to the residents, The Lodge is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing