We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!!!”
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge
Ranked #48 of 195 Kampala B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I loved this guest house in many ways! The chef,the staff and owners are such great hosts.
The rooms are spacious with white linen for beddings.The cleaners keep this place in a clean state all the time even when it has just rained.

The breakfast is basic but sufficient.the internet is free though some times spotty.Overall,I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The suite is lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
15
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

On heading to Uganda, I really did not know where to start from as an Indian, and just wanted a small place to spend a night and then start off the next day with a new beginning probably get a nice place, as I searched, came across Kampala Lodge, and as a matter of fact was hesitant to pay the money before I arrived, as I was so scared about Africa.

When I got there, I finally got a feeling of being at home, the staff, Alex, Robert were really good to me and I indeed did not look no more for another place to stay at while in Kampala. Surely, they helped in organising my transportation around town and advised to the cheapest way to get to Jinja to see the Madhvani Group of Companies.

I will definitely go back there!

Room Tip: You should ask for the room with a kitchenette, really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiaTraveler465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Don't let the rutted dirt road leading up to the place fool you. Set in a neighborhood just off the main highway, the entrance gate opens up to a pleasant garden and courtyard. There are only 13 rooms here. The reception and dining area look like someone's house more than a hotel. There is free internet, when it is working. TV in the room is useless, it gets no reception at all. Beds are good and firm, with nice bedding. Bathroom looks a little bit mroe used, but otherwise usable. Breakfast is a basic fried egg with toast, but they do provide some fresh fruit with it. There is not much else around this area. Overall, not a bad place to stay for an overnight in the Kampala area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalten, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2011

After arriving at Entebbe Airport The Lodge in Lweza Kampala is only 30 minutes away and a wonderful place for the first (or last) night in Uganda. It is close tot Entebbe Road, but very quiet. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the food is good and the staff is very friendly. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helma333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

A home forevermore! Can you Imagine being in the place whereby everything is functioning and I mean everything as per your wish! Trust me most of the time I had to be out to carryout my duties but getting out of the gate it was a struggle as I never wanted to leave my home, my new family with all the love, care, , surroundings and the excellent atmosphere at large!!! The place is a WOOOOOOW, I will be back, Guys give it a try you will never regret!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SS2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Lodge is very basic type of accommodation with bed, TV and bathrooms. I stayed here on the first night of my arrival in Uganda and we were booked to stay here again for 2 nights 3 weeks later but changed our booking to elsewhere due to it's location and showers.
There was no water pressure in the shower head which made it unpleasant as I had been traveling for over 26 hours. The water did not drain well either. We decided not to come back as it was too far from Kampala city and there wasn't anything to do nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We recently travelled to Uganda to catch up with some family, and decided to stay at The Lodge for the two weeks we were abroad. We were all very impressed with the food, service, attention to detail and friendly staff. The administration staff, particularly Olivia, is excellent, and we had no problems with our bookings and accounts. Alex and Robert (chef) are just as helpful. Whether you wanted dinner at 6:00pm or at 10:00pm nothing was a problem. Meals were personalised and we basically had our 'own chef' for the duration. The rooms were always kept neat and tidy too. We would definatly recommend The Lodge to anyone considering accomodation in Kampala. The excellent value for money, guest to staff ratio, and location make The Lodge a one of a kind in Kampala. (Thanks again to all the staff and to the boss, keep up the great work. We will see you again soon).

Room Tip: The double room is excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSWRover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
4.0 mi away
Nexus Resorts Hotel
Nexus Resorts Hotel
#22 of 100 in Kampala
44 reviews
2.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 100 in Kampala
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 100 in Kampala
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tristar Hotel
Tristar Hotel
#26 of 195 in Kampala
9 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#13 of 195 in Kampala
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Property: The Lodge
Address: Lweza, Kampala 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is an intimate guest house that provides that quietness and friendly service. Only open to the residents, The Lodge is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing