We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge
Ranked #43 of 178 Kampala B&B and Inns
Aalten, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

After arriving at Entebbe Airport The Lodge in Lweza Kampala is only 30 minutes away and a wonderful place for the first (or last) night in Uganda. It is close tot Entebbe Road, but very quiet. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the food is good and the staff is very friendly. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helma333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
15
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

A home forevermore! Can you Imagine being in the place whereby everything is functioning and I mean everything as per your wish! Trust me most of the time I had to be out to carryout my duties but getting out of the gate it was a struggle as I never wanted to leave my home, my new family with all the love, care, , surroundings and the excellent atmosphere at large!!! The place is a WOOOOOOW, I will be back, Guys give it a try you will never regret!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SS2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Lodge is very basic type of accommodation with bed, TV and bathrooms. I stayed here on the first night of my arrival in Uganda and we were booked to stay here again for 2 nights 3 weeks later but changed our booking to elsewhere due to it's location and showers.
There was no water pressure in the shower head which made it unpleasant as I had been traveling for over 26 hours. The water did not drain well either. We decided not to come back as it was too far from Kampala city and there wasn't anything to do nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We recently travelled to Uganda to catch up with some family, and decided to stay at The Lodge for the two weeks we were abroad. We were all very impressed with the food, service, attention to detail and friendly staff. The administration staff, particularly Olivia, is excellent, and we had no problems with our bookings and accounts. Alex and Robert (chef) are just as helpful. Whether you wanted dinner at 6:00pm or at 10:00pm nothing was a problem. Meals were personalised and we basically had our 'own chef' for the duration. The rooms were always kept neat and tidy too. We would definatly recommend The Lodge to anyone considering accomodation in Kampala. The excellent value for money, guest to staff ratio, and location make The Lodge a one of a kind in Kampala. (Thanks again to all the staff and to the boss, keep up the great work. We will see you again soon).

Room Tip: The double room is excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSWRover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The Lodge is a fantastic place to stay with friendly staff, excellent food and service, great rooms, lovely and safe environment.

The staff are absolutely amazing, very friendly and easy to talk to. There are always willing to go the extra mile to help and make your stay enjoyable.

The chefs are incredible always happy to prepare whatever meal you request and time.

The Lodge is a wonderful place to stay and i recommend it to anyone.
I will definitely be going back on my next visit to Uganda.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavia2790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Autho
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We went back to The Lodge now in July 2011 for the second time, as we just love it there!! The first time we went there was last year May, and we just had to go back now in july!! The rooms are amazing, very spacious!! Breakfasts are just great, and ofcourse the hosts are simply wonderful people and are willing to help with anything!! The location is just great, and we particularly love that this is a place that you really can just get away from

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

...This place looks very different from what you see on the pictures. Rooms are more than basic and shabby and the reception picture must be taken somewhere else. After a look at the room we decided not to stay here and had a long discussion with the staff, who didnt want to give the money (just handed over) back. We ended up paying half the price because they said they could have rented the room to others earlier, but the place was not even fully booked. Can not recommend this place, pay a bit more and stay closer to the airport or to town, not in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank justravellin186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacusUganda, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thanks for taking time out to review The Lodge.

Am sorry that The lodge did not match your requirements.

Kindly note that The Lodge is a guest house and we proud ourselves in Providing a quite environment and a comfortable bed for our clients to sleep or work.That's why most of our clients always return!!

We are a lot cheaper compared to the big hotels that charge average price of USD 200 per night. Compare that to our minimal USD 50 yet those hotels provide slightly superior or similar service to The Lodge.

Also note that there is no way we could have refunded 100% for your late cancellation as we have a policy in place which you were made aware at the time of booking.we managed to refund 50% which annoyed you very much and actually threatened to write a negative review.

For the pictures,the latest pictures for The Lodge can be found on our website.

I hope to satisfy you on your return at The Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
2.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Village
Hotel Le Petit Village
#14 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Acacia City
Hotel Acacia City
#12 of 178 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#8 of 178 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.7 mi away
Papaya Holiday Home
Papaya Holiday Home
#3 of 178 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primera Hotel
Primera Hotel
#50 of 178 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Property: The Lodge
Address: Lweza, Kampala 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is an intimate guest house that provides that quietness and friendly service. Only open to the residents, The Lodge is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing