We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overpriced and tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Kampala
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced and tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. On the 1st evening the air conditioning stopped working. 3 calls and 2 hours later no one came to fix it. When going out for dinner, I asked to be moved to another room and this was done.
The seating furniture in both rooms was tired and stained.
Good variety at breakfast, and it is different every day.
It took my colleague 25 minutes to check out. I asked them to prepare my bill whist I ate breakfast, so mine was quick.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the golf course. The others face the road and you do get some traffic noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    86
    42
    12
    5
See reviews for
3
2
11
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good solid business / higher end (I don't think quite luxury) hotel pretty centrally located in Kampala - yet still on a golf course. Huge rooms, very nice staff, and a revolving restaurant (which is still pretty reasonable).

It's also a good location near a large shopping center - just next door, really easy walking distance - with everything from banks / ATMs to supermarket to other restaurants.

Room Tip: There are exercise bikes / running machines in the corridors, however, they're only supposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Likes:
-Spacious rooms (your rooms are bigger than Serena Hotel, I switched from Serena to Golf Course Hotel because Serena hotel rooms are small and I'm claustrophobic)
-Convenient location
-Nice night view of the city
-Free WiFi
-Nice breakfast buffet.
-The chairs in the bedroom are comfortable.
Dislikes:
-Sometimes the staff brought torn or stained sheets.
-The beds are hard and uncomfortable that my body ached every morning. There were times I chose to sleep in one of the chairs in the bedroom because the beds are hard and uncomfortable.
-The shower floor is at the same level as the outside area where the toilet and sink are. The shower doors are so short that I had to put the floor towel rags to seal the space between the bottom of shower doors and the floor adjacent to the shower door to prevent water from flowing onto the area where the toilet and sink are.
- The furniture in the sitting room is hard and uncomfortable.
-Spurs restaurant's burgers gave me food poisoning. My stomach hurt for two weeks. That was the worst stomach ache I had in my entire life.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericanGirlCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Like the previous review I thought we were going to have access to the golf course but still we were there to work. Very central location, great for Garden City mall next door. Big rooms, great bathrooms, wifi not so great. Had lunch in the revolving restaurant, which is pretty good, and burger meals in the bistro type place. A pleasant stay with ok staff, clean and reliable service but soulless, you could be anywhere in the world. Still it does what it says and I would use it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanisharch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a very adequate hotel overlooking Kampala Golf course.You would expect it to have access to the golf course and somehow be relaxed,sporty etc.It isn't !The pool is not really in use and relaxing is not the theme.(I tried)Lobby,bar and casual dining area are fine but dated.Bedrooms are good,bathrooms very good.The overall feel though is 70's.The area is good for shopping,coffee and dining.Service is very good,in parts.

Room Tip: Face the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoneboyhuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in the Golf Course Hotel in July for work related businness. I felt this was a resasonable location and base to work from. Rooms are large but the reported hotel wide wifi was not good throughout the hotel.

Several restaurants within the hotel including their aclaimed 7th Floor revolving restaurant, which unfortunately for me was poorly lit and food nothing to boast about. Regardless I would return if in Kampala again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPRBOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arrived early evening in a group of three and was upgraded to one of the villas on the fifth floor which was a welcome surprise. Very spacious villa with 3 rooms but a musty, damp smell. Was frustrated over three days with the lack of wireless internet connectivity after being told by the IT manager that the problems would be solved. After three nights, 2 of my friends left and I moved to a normal room which was excellent although the wireless still did not work. The hotel is in an excellent location downtown and the breakfast is very good. Ugandan staff were generally very helpful except some at reception who need to relearn some customer service etiquette. With improved attention to detail in the area of customer service at reception and the wireless internet this hotel could be much better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the golf course side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarrodd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 92 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.6 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#4 of 92 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 92 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Course Hotel

Property: Golf Course Hotel
Address: Plot 64-86, Yusuf Lule Road | P.O.Box 22774, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Course Hotel is a World class luxurious Hotel offering you a true definition of comfort, hospitality and serving you right from our hearts.With our location in the most serene environment; adjacent to the Uganda Golf Club, you are assured of an ever green environment and freshness and ambience. Golf course Hotel is designed to offer you the best of comfort with our spacious rooms, making Golf Course Hotel an ideal destination for discerning travellers from all over the world. Our professional and skilled staff ensures that every person is a highly treasured guestThe Hotel is conveniently located within a 45 minutes’ drive from Entebbe International Airport and only 5 minutes from the Kampala city center.Our location is perfect and convenient for honeymooners, business travelers, tourists, and those who wish to have a memorable visit to the ‘Pearl of Africa’, Uganda. We have Eight (8) Categories of Rooms for you to choose from: Deluxe, Executive, Family Suite, Business Suite, Honeymoon Suite, 6 Holiday Apartments and 3 Executive Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Orbitz, Priceline, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing