We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, I was waiting for more...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well, I was waiting for more...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is OK but it's not pretty new...

Perhaps an update could change its classical image!

The rooms are big enough but the twin beds are pretty small if you’re tall!

The breakfast is perfect and you could it for the whole day…

The upper restaurant (level 12) is ok and not expensive… but its name “Revolving” is perfect because of you are going to go out a bit dizzy!

The price is not very cheap (197 USD for two and night) it less than you’re going to receive in other five starts hotel… But considering that you’re in Kampala it’s ok!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPASO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    101
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
3
2
11
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I organised a conference in the Golf Course Hotel this October (2012) and I wanted to write a review because I was very satisfied with the service of the conference managers.
First of all, the conference has incredible rooms, even for very big events like weddings, etc. There have different kind of rooms, so you might find exactly what you are looking for.

Everything was prepared in advance, and I had a good communcation with the team previous to the event (all via email, as I was in Europe).

I love the catering, for the coffee breaks and the lunch. It was a good mixure of Ugandan traditional dishes and local products but with something to satisfy every taste.

But what it positively surprise me the most was the flexibility of the event managers, as I had to change the rooms and the number of PAX several times.

I also stay in the hotel for five nights. My room was huge and nice, with a nice view to the golf park. I found the price quite expensive, but I can not compare with other hotels as I have not been in others in Kampala. Breakfast is nice, you have a cook to make your eggs in front of you and this kind of things.
I also used the transport pick-up of the hotel and there, I would have loved to get some advice from the reception, as I almost lost my plane as I was not informed when booking about the incredible traffic jam in Kampala.
Ah! You can not change money in the hotel but you can pay there in dollars.

Overall, good, especially regarding the conference, event and catering services.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views to the golf park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arantxa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was my second visit and after losing my reservation and having a room facing the road on my first visit, I got a golf course facing room this time. The rooms are enormous and well fitted. Lovely big comfortable bed. TV good. Internet is slow. I suggest going to Orange in the next door Garden shopping centre and buying an internet modem.
My first room (108) had a leak from the A/C so moved to room 415. Supposed to be executive room but it was smaller than my other room and difference was just a bar and high chairs. Outside the rooms 413 to 415 on each floor they have an exercise bike and running machine. This was awful as there was a fitness fanatic that got up at 6am every day to use the equipment. The noise was unbearable and was moved to room 423 at the end of the corridor.
The breakfast is good with a wide selection for everyone.
The staff were very apologetic and helpful.
When booking be careful to notice that VAT and local tax is NOT included. It took my room rate from 176 USD to 189 USD a day.
This hotel is so nearly very good but just needs a bit of thought and attention

Room Tip: Do not take rooms on any floor that end in 13 to 15 due to exercise equipment right outside the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My father had stayed at this hotel previously on one of his business trips, and he told me to stay away from the Spur... Boy was he right.

Not expecting anything much from this, as it was arranged by my employer, I must say that when looking at this hotel in context to the other hotels you come across in Uganda, and the rest of Africa mind you, this hotel is really quite good.

In short:
+ Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful (helping me find my way to an ex pat bar via 'boda boda' motorcycle)
+ Rooms are HUGE and bathroom was modern.
- The bedding and carpets etc were very dated.
-+ Breakfast is decent, but count yourself lucky if the chef is around to fry you an egg.
+ Mineral water stock is always replenished promptly (definitely a must in a country like Uganda)
- Spur restaurant is exceptionally below par, don't even bother.
+ Staff at the 1st floor bar are very friendly and diligent.
- Air conditioning unit is very loud and blows directly onto the bed making for an uncomfortable sleep.

That's it for now, I'll be back there next week on more business and I hope that time round I'll be able to write about more positives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NemZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

2 night stay booked through our office in Uganda, so wasnt sure what to expect. Room was enormous with huge windows and a great view of trees lining the golf course. Everything else was basic at best. Staff cannot be bothered to serve you, except for checkin desk. Breakfast starts at 6am, but really starts at 7am so dont rush down, and remember that by the time they help you, you will have to eat quick to get out in time for any morning meeting. Room service on first night was ok. Dinner at Spurs on second was beyond salvage. Win some and lose some.

Room Tip: pray! and pray lots to the right room gods!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

My office arranged this stay so I didn't expect anything much. Location was good and check-in and out was prompt. Breakfast selection was decent. And this is how far I could stay positive. A room I was given was on the ground floor and far end of the corner. No service staff was available to help me carry the luggage. Room was large but very dated. Linens didn't feel terribly clean. The room was dark and could hear traffic from the road behind. No hot water in that room. Asked to change a room, but was informed that the hotel was fully booked. Had to endure two more nights there. Don't reckon I would go back there as there are better options available in Kampala.

Room Tip: Higher floor might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bohemian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Being unfamiliar with Kampala, and having read some of the mixed reviews here, I didnt know what to expect at this hotel.
What I found was a huge clean room which looked newly decorated, with attractive wood accents, TV, enormous bathroom, double-sink, glass enclosed shower, bathtub, and a separate walk-in closet.with safe and iron.
The bed was comfortable. Wifi worked fine in room and lobby. The view out the room's back window is of the golf course, and makes it feel like countryside, not a big city. The location of the hotel is good if you like to shop; it's an easy walk, right next to Garden City Mall with its shops (check Banana Boat for gifts), coffee houses, Nakumatt supermarket and restaurants.
We wanted to try the revolving restaurant, but it's closed on Monday. Breakfast was fine: fresh fruit, good coffee and chef doing omelets, served in a tropical setting by the pool and gazebo.
Other tourist guests I spoke with had the same reaction : Golf Course Hotel was a very pleasant surprise!! It may not have the hotel star level of the Kampala Serena, but it is less than half the price, and more than adequate!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the golf course. The hotel will not guarantee those, as they are popular, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.6 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Course Hotel

Property: Golf Course Hotel
Address: Plot 64-86, Yusuf Lule Road | P.O.Box 22774, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Course Hotel is a World class luxurious Hotel offering you a true definition of comfort, hospitality and serving you right from our hearts.With our location in the most serene environment; adjacent to the Uganda Golf Club, you are assured of an ever green environment and freshness and ambience. Golf course Hotel is designed to offer you the best of comfort with our spacious rooms, making Golf Course Hotel an ideal destination for discerning travellers from all over the world. Our professional and skilled staff ensures that every person is a highly treasured guestThe Hotel is conveniently located within a 45 minutes’ drive from Entebbe International Airport and only 5 minutes from the Kampala city center.Our location is perfect and convenient for honeymooners, business travelers, tourists, and those who wish to have a memorable visit to the ‘Pearl of Africa’, Uganda. We have Eight (8) Categories of Rooms for you to choose from: Deluxe, Executive, Family Suite, Business Suite, Honeymoon Suite, 6 Holiday Apartments and 3 Executive Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing