We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel, but room service was hopeless”
Review of Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Large, airy room, comfortable and quiet. Great view of the golf course and close to downtown for business. Restaurants (and adjacent mall, ATMs) were convenient and good. Security good.

Had a strange pair of birds who would come and beg grapes off of me at my window every day!

Very nice spa in the adjacent mall, with great services.

Unfortunately, the room service was a bit hopeless. I had to call and ask for a menu, then they wouldn't let me keep it in the room. So every time I wanted room service, I'd have to call and ask for a menu, wait for it, then order at the door and then wait. Wasn't worth the aggravation.

If you aren't a room service person, this hotel was a great value. Otherwise, there are better options in Kampala.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

I once stayed there and first room had been newly painted and had the smell of paint. I asked to be moved and was happy with my new room until the unexpected happened! While resting on my bed in the evening, i saw a huge rat running in the wardrobe and then ducked under my bed. I had to call the staff to get rid of it. Needless to say, i moved out. Its a nice hotel though and has a great view of the Golf Course and most importantly close to the shopping malls but i feel they need to improve on maintainance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaktariGithinji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

They have huge rooms, with in-room wifi that has always worked (surprise), unlike some of the hotels preferred by some American visitors. More than half the rooms face a lovely golf course and in the morning the birds are right at the window. It's very clean, extremely convenient to anything you might need, bank, food, shopping, exchange bureau etc. (within safe walking distance). The food is good, the staff cordial and attentive. The only problem I had one time was using a credit card. But, I think that it was resolved to my satisfaction. I have recommended this hotel to many others from our company. They have returned to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBlandsdowneWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I checked into the hotel late in the evening and the process was quite fast. On getting to my room, I found that I had been allocated the disabled room. Upon enquiry the next morning, I was informed that the hotel was fully booked but they promised to allocate me a different room the same day-this did not happen until a day later. At times the room would be filled with a very strong smell that was emanating from the ventilation in the washrooms.

On the better side, the hotel is located within walking distance to the city centre and it boasts of a golf course. The rooms are quite spacious and there is free wifi although it is not so strong in some rooms.

The food is rather on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the golf course as they are a bit quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WuonOkungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I booked a hotel room at golf corse.on arrival they tell me that the hotel is full and that they can offer me a room at their 3 star sister hotel. This is not ethical.they sell room on first come first served or they r using the golf course as a strategy to fill up their inferior sister hotel despite people having confirmed bookings. This happened to 5 of us who happen to check in at te same time. The managers were not helpful at all and had a no care attitude I.e take it or leave it. I was very disappointed by this as I was a regular visitor to this hotel. And I am sure that the other 4 people were not happy. This will not go down well with some major cooperates in the region.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Large, clean rooms, nice and bright. Good service but if the hotel is busy, the breakfast area gets too crowded. Friendly staff. I'd go back.

Room Tip: Stay on the golf course-facing side to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keishamaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

i arrived in Kampala from Canada after a very long flight. The Golf Course Hotel is an ideal blend of North American service standards mixed with the pleasure of African culture and service. The European food choices were welcomed and the morning buffet was fabulous. The staff are pleasant, trustworthy and they extend a warm welcome. Great location, minutes from a shopping mall with all the necessary stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 104 in Kampala
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 104 in Kampala
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
1.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Course Hotel

Address: Plot 64-86, Yusuf Lule Road | P.O.Box 22774, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $168 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Course Hotel is a World class luxurious Hotel offering you a true definition of comfort, hospitality and serving you right from our hearts.With our location in the most serene environment; adjacent to the Uganda Golf Club, you are assured of an ever green environment and freshness and ambience. Golf course Hotel is designed to offer you the best of comfort with our spacious rooms, making Golf Course Hotel an ideal destination for discerning travellers from all over the world. Our professional and skilled staff ensures that every person is a highly treasured guestThe Hotel is conveniently located within a 45 minutes’ drive from Entebbe International Airport and only 5 minutes from the Kampala city center.Our location is perfect and convenient for honeymooners, business travelers, tourists, and those who wish to have a memorable visit to the ‘Pearl of Africa’, Uganda. We have Eight (8) Categories of Rooms for you to choose from: Deluxe, Executive, Family Suite, Business Suite, Honeymoon Suite, 6 Holiday Apartments and 3 Executive Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing