We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12th floor 7 Hills Revolving Restaurant is plus plus plus!”
Review of Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #20 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is our third extended stay at Golf Course Hotel and can highly recommend it. The location, connected to Garden City Shopping Center, is wonderfully convenient; and a second mall, Oasis, is on the very next block. Every floor of the hotel has a treadmill and a stationary bike in the hallway outside the rooms, which is something I've never seen anywhere else in the world. Some reviewers have complained about the noise, but we never had a problem with it and I love the idea that my workout is just a few steps from my door. This time around, we had a very large room with sitting area and bar. There were some maintenance issues when we arrived which were quickly dealt with; however, the carpet was quite stained as was the furniture. The in-house laundry is prohibitively expensive, but there is really no alternative unless you want to carry your laundry over to the dry cleaners in the shopping mall. The public spaces are pleasant, and the morning breakfast at Bamboo Terrace is quite good. Beautiful pool, but it lacks sunbrellas, so lounging poolside is not an option unless you want to fry in the equatorial sun. The staff are responsive and happy to help. One huge plus plus plus about Golf Course Hotel is its 7 Hills Revolving Restaurant on the 12th floor. Great food, wonderful service, and amazing views. Prices not that much different than in the ground-floor Bamboo Terrace, but the menu is far more extensive, and the chef is a real pro. Bring your own wine and pay a small corkage fee which will save you quite a bit over ordering from the in-house restaurant. Love staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the golf course are quiet, while the ones facing the street are very noisy if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Gold Course hotel is a pleasure. although it looks dated from the outside, the rooms are very large, and i like the fact that the floors are laminted, giving and overall clean effect.

An added bonus is the attached shopping centre with food court & decent restaurants up on the roof. Give Nawaab a try ( indian).

Because of traffic congestion in kampala, Golf course hotel is very conveniently located close to almost everthing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the goldcourse - otherwise you have hectic traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The place is nice enough, though overpriced, and while staff arer generally pleasant (like most Ugandans), management will happily overcharge you after the fact and fight tooth and nail until you relent. If money is not a concern for you at all, then this might be the place for you, but you can do much better other places (NOT their sister hotel Metropole, which has the same poor management).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The moment you land in Entebbe Airport, the calm and tranquil Lake Victoria will welcome you. The lake has definitely added to the beauty of the city. You drive for about 45 minutes and reach in the heart of Kampala city and also in Golf Course Hotel. A good and modern property, very well located just beside the largest shopping mall and the most happening place of the city.
Rooms are spacious and the wide open window brings the freshness of the green golf course which is just beside the hotel.
The worth mentioning is the top floor revolving restaurant. It is located on the 12th floor and you can have an amazing view of the whole city specially during the night. The grills in this restaurant are by far the best in the city. I also liked the breakfast and the dinner spreads but one must experience the top floor restaurant.
The gym is well equipped but the best part is in front of your room, on the corridor, there is a treadmill walker and fitness cycle has been places for light exercise and if you are interested for the full fledged shaping up, you can go to the gym also.
Overall a very homely and fresh stay

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bochabasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omoding, Public Relations Manager at Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

World class luxurious hotel offering a true definition of comfort and hospitality in the most serene environment; adjoining the Uganda Golf Club, guarantees you an ever green freshness and ambience.
Body:
Golf Course Hotel is a 45 minutes’ drive from Entebbe International Airport and is in KAMPALA’s CBD. The hotel is a perfect and convenient for business travelers, honeymooners, tourists, and those who wish to have a memorable visit to the ‘Pearl of Africa’, Uganda.
A visit to the Golf Course Hotel is a culinary experience of global diversity. The Hotel comprises of restaurants designed to suite all tastes from local fusion to a class of the finest international dining.
Enjoy Continental Cuisine so creatively primed as you view picturesque and magnificent scenes of Kampala’s Hills at the 7Hills Revolving Restaurant the only revolving restaurant in East and Central Africa or indulge yourself in tantalizing steaks, ribs and Mexican dishes at the Silver city Spur- steak ranches. Coffee Shop (Bamboo Terrace) will charm you with a savor of grandeur. Sip from our selection of tempting beverages at our tranquil corporate Green bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I spent a week in the hotel as business traveller. The rooms are very spacious with large windows overlooking the golf course, if you manage to get a room to this side. Try to avoid the other side, which face the car parking and the noisy and polluted Yusuf Lule Road. The adjacent shopping centre is very convenient, particularly as there is virtually no possibility to buy anything what you may need (map of the city, phone card, hygiene articles, stationary, etc) within the hotel.
The hotel advertises itself as having a gym, but in reality you are only allowed to use the rather unattractive gym in the shopping centre. The hotel itself has a treadmill and bicycle to be used by hotel guests on each floor, and be aware not to accept a room too close to this equipment, as sportive guests running on the treadmill at 5.30 am just outside your door may be rather annoying if you want to sleep out.
The staff is very friendly, but this cannot always compensate for some unsatisfactory aspects: Breakfast and other meals in the pool-side restaurant are really unappealing, although the place as such is very nice; the walk-in wardrobe and bath room are spacious, but are somehow rather inconvenient as they lack space for keeping things; the hair-dryer is useless (take your own one if you need it); the reception is not very courteous with late check-out; and a few other things, which were all minor as such, but combined left the impression that the hotel management is not fully aware of what makes a hotel homely and welcoming.
In summary: a convenient and not too bad place, but lacking that extra something that would make it a truly special place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franzjutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I really rate this hotel. The staff are kind and helpful. I use it a lot, about every month, that says it all. Nothing is too much bother.The breakfast is good and the revolving restaurant is outstanding. Everything is near at hand. So much better than some who charge more.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KampalaMuzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

From dealing with the highly efficient Sales and Marketing Dept to the Bell Captain you couldn't ask for more. Friendly helpfull staff who show nothing but consideration to their guests.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubblesOtoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 107 in Kampala
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 107 in Kampala
786 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#13 of 107 in Kampala
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel
0.6 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 107 in Kampala
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Course Hotel

Address: Plot 64-86, Yusuf Lule Road | P.O.Box 22774, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $176 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Course Hotel is a World class luxurious Hotel offering you a true definition of comfort, hospitality and serving you right from our hearts.With our location in the most serene environment; adjacent to the Uganda Golf Club, you are assured of an ever green environment and freshness and ambience. Golf course Hotel is designed to offer you the best of comfort with our spacious rooms, making Golf Course Hotel an ideal destination for discerning travellers from all over the world. Our professional and skilled staff ensures that every person is a highly treasured guestThe Hotel is conveniently located within a 45 minutes’ drive from Entebbe International Airport and only 5 minutes from the Kampala city center.Our location is perfect and convenient for honeymooners, business travelers, tourists, and those who wish to have a memorable visit to the ‘Pearl of Africa’, Uganda. We have Eight (8) Categories of Rooms for you to choose from: Deluxe, Executive, Family Suite, Business Suite, Honeymoon Suite, 6 Holiday Apartments and 3 Executive Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing