We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Chilli Hideaway
Ranked #3 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here two nights separately. Stayed in two different cottages. Both were excellent. Self contained,sleep 4 to 5 people. Range from 50to60 for the cottages.They have kitchens separate toilet from shower and hot water etc. There are dorms and camping too. The facilities are great. The social bar and eating areas are also great. The staff are excellent. Not unfriendly at all as some have said. Its a great out from the hustle of the city area and is where you will meet many interesting people that are in Uganda for all kinds of reasons. Backpackers to charity workers to UN workers to families living there recharging a bit. Food was great. Prices in my view were very reasonable! Ishmael and Moses. Two very nice taxi drivers based there are reliable and trustworthy. I understand they are salaried and I missed it, but there is a sign in the backpackers of the rates for different trips appatently. I did not feel like I had to negotiate or that it was unreasonable for the drivers.
I loved this place.

Regarding noise. There are some very noisy birds in this country. There is little anyone can do about it of course, some rooms may be a bit noisier for birds than others. Its like a snooze button. They start early and get louder and louder. Consider it a built in alarm clock I say. :) other than the animal noises i heard nothing to complain about. Well run, efficient, comfortable, worth the extra distance. Be great to see the new place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwimatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Kiwimatic

Thanks for all the feedback - I'm so glad you enjoyed our place. Will be sure to pass on your comments to Ismail and Moses too!

Best regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    188
    59
    19
    10
See reviews for
27
102
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kampala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A decent value. Stayed here once. Rooms are standard backpackers, though ours was very, very loud (near the road). Shower was hot. Staff was neither the friendliest nor the most helpful I've experienced in Kampala, but there were no overt problems. Food was expensive for a backpackers but it was adequate in size/taste. Wifi was pretty average by Kampala standards (slow by western standards) but slowed to a halt when busy in the evening. Red Chilli offers a variety of tours and trips that seemed to be reasonably priced, but I didn't take any of these. Biggest complaint is that Red Chilli is not close to things happening in Kampala -- to this end, consider New City Annex.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Andrew

Thanks for all the feedback. We do agree - if you would like to stay close to the action in the centre of Kampala, it maybe better to stay at a smaller guesthouse in town. We try to provide instead a secure and friendly oasis outside of the hustle and bustle - set in 5 acres of grounds, also suitable for camping. In our new site, opening later this year, we will also have a decent size swimming pool, outside bar, games area and TV room - things that just wouldn't be possible down-town.

Sorry to hear you found the food to be expensive - we believe for western style food, under US$5 a plate is great value in Kampala but again, if you are on a real budget, local markets might be more your style.

Wishing you all the best
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This budget hotel is a great choice if you are traveling through Uganda. My girlfriend, our two friends, and myself took an overnight bus from Nairobi, Kenya to a bus station in Kampala. Through emailing ahead of time the staff of Red Chilli arranged for a taxi to pick us up and for a predetermined rate drove us to Entebbe where they set up a trip to Ngamba island chimpanzee sanctuary on lake Victoria. The driver waited for us while we spent the afternoon on the island, afterwards he drove us to a restaurant to eat dinner and then brought us to the hotel by the evening. The hotel itself was fairly busy even during the off season and provided food, a bar, hot showers (which were not attached to the room), and a comfortable bed. The rooms were a bit small but fairly clean. The next morning a bus came and picked us up to take us to Jinja for a white water rafting trip on the Nile river. The staff was very friendly and extremely help full in arrange trips and excursions around Uganda at reasonable rates. If you are planning a trip to Kampala I would highly recommend staying at the Red Chilli Hideaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Aaron

Thanks so much for the recommendation - I'm really happy to hear you found the place helpful and friendly!

Best regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights before and after a tour to Murchisson NP. It is located out of the centre of Kampala but can be easy reached by minibus. I had a single/ twin room for myself with shared bathrooms. Room was basic with a mosquito net and fand, but clean. The bathroom, too, was fairly clean. Only disappointment was, that it can be a little bit noisy, as there are seem to be some clubs and bars around. Food at the bar was really good, as was the free WiFi.

If you are looking for a backpackers place to stay, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hladr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear hladr4

Thanks for the review and sorry about the noise from the local bars...Kampala is a very vibrant city and it seems it's incredibly difficult to avoid noise at night in any part of the city! We do make sure our own music is turned off at midnight however.

All the best
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beni
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at Red Chilli for three nights in one of their double rooms with shared bathroom. First of all, what a great deal! The bed was super comfortable and the room had a table and chairs and a wardrobe. I was right next to the bathrooms, which were always kept very clean and tidy. The grounds are quite nice and there is a small plunge pool with a few lounge chairs around for reading, getting some sun, and relaxing.
Everyone that works there is super helpful, friendly, and fun. The food they serve is reasonably priced and was always delicious. There is a free internet connection which is easy to use and very convenient. They have a lot of information about tours, safaris, stuff to do in Kampala, and places to go throughout Uganda, and can help you make reservations and such.
I will definitely be staying here on my future trips through Kampala!

Room Tip: The shared bathrooms are kept really clean, so I would totally recommend staying in a room with shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Kate M

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review - I'm so happy to hear you had a good time! Please do come back and visit us again!

Best regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Wow, thank you for a wonderful stay. Staff are very friendly, professional, helpful and give the best care to their customers. Very clean facilities, knowledgeable staff and very well organized team. nice to see the staff working together. I was Treated with respect and they all new me by name and what I wanted before having to ask. Would recommend to anyone. Great atmosphere, and family friendly. I spent 1week here and had great help planning activities, transportation and outings. The bar has everything one could need and food is excellent. Keep up the good work. Thank you to all the Red Chilli team.

Room Tip: Habanero was really nice with restrooms close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twingo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Twing08

So glad you really enjoyed the place - thanks so much for the lovely feedback!

Best regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I take a team to Red Chilli every year. We spent 10 nights there whilst working in and around Kampala. It is the perfect western??? oasis in the centre of Africa. My teams always remark on the feel of RC. The accommodation is dated and basic but the bar and general ethos by far make up for the inconveniences. We are looking forward to the new RCH and expect to use the hideaway for many years to come. The staff are always fun and attentive. Service is sometimes quirky but always courteous and very good. Food is reasonable and well priced. The noises at night can sometimes be a problem but that is part of the African experience. Thanks Red Chilli.

Room Tip: We always stay in the cottages so have no real experience of the main accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Rob

Thanks so much for the review and for all the business you have given Red Chilli - we look forward to welcoming you to the new place too!

All the best
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
4.8 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 100 in Kampala
196 reviews
11.9 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 100 in Kampala
84 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cassia Lodge
Cassia Lodge
#4 of 100 in Kampala
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
324 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 100 in Kampala
248 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fat Cat Backpackers
Fat Cat Backpackers
#1 of 121 in Kampala
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Chilli Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chilli Hideaway

Property: Red Chilli Hideaway
Address: 13-23 Bukasa Hill View Road | Butabika, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Chilli Hideaway, Kampala Facilities: Great value accommodation: set in 5 leafy acres, in one of Kampala's quieter and safer suburbs (Butabika). We cater for self-campers and also provide dorm beds & private rooms (with or without en-suite facilities) Check-in from 2pm onwards and check-out by 10 am. Swimming Pool: 16m salt-water swimming pool with baby pool. Free of charge for our residents! Complimentary shuttle bus: operating between Red Chilli and the centre of town. We have a 10-seater minibus that departs Butabika at 9am, 12pm and 4pm daily and terminates at the Nakumatt Oasis Shopping Mall (next to Garden City Mall) on Kitante Road. Departs town at 10.30Am, 1.30Pm and 5.30Pm, also from Nakumatt Oasis. Please book ahead at reception or by email/phone to avoid disappointment as we can only take 10 passengers on each shuttle. Please note - the driver may not deviate from the set route! Special hire taxis can be arranged on request at any time and are available on site at Butabika. Fully stocked bar: open daily from 7am until midnight, with booze for sale from 10am. Lots of communal areas to kick back and relax - including a beer terrace and a separate pool-side bar. A la carte restaurant: serving excellent breakfasts, lunches, dinners and snacks from 6:45am until 9.30Pm. Sunday from 6:00pm -9:00pm, is a pool-side BBQ night. Mouth-watering pizzas are baked in our wood-burning pizza oven outside Mon - Sat, from 6:00pm- 9:00pm. We can offer special rates and incentives for group meals - please contact us for further details. Our inside bar, restaurant and all accommodation areas are non-smoking, however smoking is permitted on the beer terrace and at the pool bar. FREE wireless internet access (with connections available for laptops) in our reception/internet lounge area only. Available between the hours of 7am and 11pm and subject to connection. Our systems are on a timer and will shut down automatically at approx 11pm. We also have one public internet stations and a cable connection. Please understand that the internet connection in Uganda is far from perfect, and at times is very slow and erratic! Satellite TV: Offering sports and news updates in the bar area, and a choice of viewing in the residential TV room. Look out for special movie nights! Pool table, dart board and table tennis: available in return for a small (or large!) Donation to our chosen charity: The Steve Willis Memorial Fund & a security deposit of 20,000/= for the darts, balls, cues, paddles etc. The deposit is refundable, providing the items are returned in one piece and not damaged! Self-Catering Kitchen & laundry block: located in our campsite for those who would prefer to self-cater. We have a basic camp kitchen, equipped with sink, cooker, fridge & external barbecues and picnic tables - but please note, we do not provide cutlery and crockery. You must provide your own cooking utensils. Separate laundry room available next door. Library: We have a small library and welcome book swaps in return for a small donation to the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please ask at reception/bar. Board games: we have a small selection for use, free of charge, from behind the bar. Laundry: A hand-wash laundry service is available for residents for a small charge or there is a designated self-catering laundry block. Please ask at reception/bar for more details. No underwear, shoes or totally filthy clothing to be handed in to be washed! We cannot guarantee that the laundry will be dry on the same day, due to weather conditions. Please note that if you hand in white clothing, it will definitely be returned to you cleaner, but we cannot guarantee it will be whiter! Office Facility: we offer printing, scanning & photocopying facilities in the administration office for a donation to our charity- the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please note the office may not always be open - either outside of office hours or when we are out receiving deliveries etc. Just ask at the bar if the door's closed! Consumables: for sale at the bar, including cigarettes, snacks and drinks. We also sell shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste and brushes, mozzie spray, postcards, stamps and other useful items at reception. For more choice, you will find several shops, markets & restaurants located within a short walking distance from Red Chilli Hideaway. Back-up generator and inverter: these keep things ticking over when the power fails, as it so often does in Uganda! When we are running on inverter or generator, please note only the lights are connected to the back-up power supply; plug sockets and fans in the rooms and bar area are not. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Chilli Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Chilli Hideaway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing