We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat somewhere else” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel International 2000 Limited

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel International 2000 Limited
Ranked #50 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
“Eat somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have attempted to eat two meals here and have lost my appetite both times. I ordered the basil, tomato pizza only to find that it lacked both basil and tomatoes. It was terribly bland. I also tried 2 indian dishes. Poor quality ingredients and terrible execution. I highly recommend not eating here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 319_SDN_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
3
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have visited and stayed at the Hotel International a couple of times. The hotel is conveniently located along the Muyenga road. Further away from town (which is a good thing if you are looking for some sanity; some peace and quiet). It is easy to catch public transport to town from the hotel. No crowds, no hassles. The gardens are a great place to unwind, the food is very good, and the staff are really nice people.
The rooms would definitely be nicer if the old carpets were replaced.

While there is a business centre, it is more convenient to pick yourself an internet modem to be able to work anywhere in the gardens without much network interruption.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Hotel International was quite a nice relaxing place to stay. It has some nice gardens to relax in with a cold drink, and the food was very good (they have an indian chef who makes a fantastic chicken tikka).
They also do a very nice bbq.
The rooms could do with a bit of refurbishing as the carpet is getting a bit worn but the place was nice and clean with air conditioning and spacious.
The service is a bit slow, especially when it comes to bringing back change, but I found that to be common throughout Uganda.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
407 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I currently live in Kampala so don't need to stay at the hotel. However, I do almost daily use the hotel's gym, which is in reasonable enough shape and is available to non-guests at a good daily rate. (If you're interested, the gym at Garden City is much nicer, but also quite a bit more expensive and, if you're coming from the 'wrong' side of town not always easily accessible.)

The hotel's restaurant sprawls onto the lawns surrounding the hotel, oozes a pleasant atmosphere and serves very good Indian food at decent enough prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

True this hotel is in a nice location but it is poorly managed: the manager seems to be in a bad mood all the time, not a very approachable fella by both the visitors and employees. Who designed this hotel? I had to go thru a maze of stairs to get to my room: watch out for dangerous unmarked steps allover the place!

The food is tasteless be it a snack, main meal or breakfast. Stay away from samosas, they taste funny in this place. Whoever thinks that Indian food in this place is the best has not tasted real Indian food: tough meats, nani is thick and soft like African chappati, nothing much for breakfast unless if you fancy noodles for breakfast!

The lights in the room a dim making it unconfortable. Cheap equipment so my toilet seat was broken, you have to play around with the shower head to make it work.....

Internet is choppy if you can get on!!

Employees are great and try their best to please.

The gym has reasonable equipment however the design makes it feel like a cave: no windows, no air-conditioner and the dirty thick carpet gives it a certain smell. Take your towel, what they give you smells like it is unwashed and has been used over and over.

The hotel was almost empty the 4 days I spent there so employees seemed like they were loitering around doing nothing.

It is sad to see that at such a location and land size that this hotel has nothing much to offer.

Room Tip: Sorry folks, I doubt if you can find a good room as we know it at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I never spend a night at this Hotel but every time I am in Uganda I go there at least once to have a good diner. It is a quiet, well maintained place with nice gardens and a really outstanding Indian kitchen at reasonable prices. I would even dare to say it is the best Indian food I have eaten outside India. Definitely worthwhile going there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

The location is excellent, so quiet, the pool is reasonable. The quality/price very reasonable, good food just breakfast buffet is not so special. Anyway advisable quiet place to stay in Kampala

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.2 mi away
Marie's Royale Hotel
Marie's Royale Hotel
#45 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#19 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#37 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Papaya Holiday Home
Papaya Holiday Home
#3 of 174 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International 2000 Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International 2000 Limited

Property: Hotel International 2000 Limited
Address: Plot 3209 Tank Hill Road-Muyenga, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International 2000 Limited 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers an all inclusive concept typical of modern living. It is set amid rush green gardens with an extensive view of Lake Victoria and the surrounding suburbs. The environment offered by this site together with the beautiful, quiet and elegant lake breezes leave an everlasting memory to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel International 2000 Limited reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing