We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quite a nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International 2000 Limited

Hotel International 2000 Limited
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel International 2000 Limited
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Kampala
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite a nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Hotel International was quite a nice relaxing place to stay. It has some nice gardens to relax in with a cold drink, and the food was very good (they have an indian chef who makes a fantastic chicken tikka).
They also do a very nice bbq.
The rooms could do with a bit of refurbishing as the carpet is getting a bit worn but the place was nice and clean with air conditioning and spacious.
The service is a bit slow, especially when it comes to bringing back change, but I found that to be common throughout Uganda.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
2
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
408 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I currently live in Kampala so don't need to stay at the hotel. However, I do almost daily use the hotel's gym, which is in reasonable enough shape and is available to non-guests at a good daily rate. (If you're interested, the gym at Garden City is much nicer, but also quite a bit more expensive and, if you're coming from the 'wrong' side of town not always easily accessible.)

The hotel's restaurant sprawls onto the lawns surrounding the hotel, oozes a pleasant atmosphere and serves very good Indian food at decent enough prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

True this hotel is in a nice location but it is poorly managed: the manager seems to be in a bad mood all the time, not a very approachable fella by both the visitors and employees. Who designed this hotel? I had to go thru a maze of stairs to get to my room: watch out for dangerous unmarked steps allover the place!

The food is tasteless be it a snack, main meal or breakfast. Stay away from samosas, they taste funny in this place. Whoever thinks that Indian food in this place is the best has not tasted real Indian food: tough meats, nani is thick and soft like African chappati, nothing much for breakfast unless if you fancy noodles for breakfast!

The lights in the room a dim making it unconfortable. Cheap equipment so my toilet seat was broken, you have to play around with the shower head to make it work.....

Internet is choppy if you can get on!!

Employees are great and try their best to please.

The gym has reasonable equipment however the design makes it feel like a cave: no windows, no air-conditioner and the dirty thick carpet gives it a certain smell. Take your towel, what they give you smells like it is unwashed and has been used over and over.

The hotel was almost empty the 4 days I spent there so employees seemed like they were loitering around doing nothing.

It is sad to see that at such a location and land size that this hotel has nothing much to offer.

Room Tip: Sorry folks, I doubt if you can find a good room as we know it at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I never spend a night at this Hotel but every time I am in Uganda I go there at least once to have a good diner. It is a quiet, well maintained place with nice gardens and a really outstanding Indian kitchen at reasonable prices. I would even dare to say it is the best Indian food I have eaten outside India. Definitely worthwhile going there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

The location is excellent, so quiet, the pool is reasonable. The quality/price very reasonable, good food just breakfast buffet is not so special. Anyway advisable quiet place to stay in Kampala

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
2.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
2.2 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#22 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marie's Royale Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Sanctum
The Sanctum
#45 of 92 in Kampala
3.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Papaya Holiday Home
Papaya Holiday Home
#6 of 157 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International 2000 Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International 2000 Limited

Property: Hotel International 2000 Limited
Address: Tank Hill Road-Muyenga, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Jovago.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel International 2000 Limited reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing