We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel International 2000 Limited
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Hotel International was quite a nice relaxing place to stay. It has some nice gardens to relax in with a cold drink, and the food was very good (they have an indian chef who makes a fantastic chicken tikka).
They also do a very nice bbq.
The rooms could do with a bit of refurbishing as the carpet is getting a bit worn but the place was nice and clean with air conditioning and spacious.
The service is a bit slow, especially when it comes to bringing back change, but I found that to be common throughout Uganda.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 30 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I currently live in Kampala so don't need to stay at the hotel. However, I do almost daily use the hotel's gym, which is in reasonable enough shape and is available to non-guests at a good daily rate. (If you're interested, the gym at Garden City is much nicer, but also quite a bit more expensive and, if you're coming from the 'wrong' side of town not always easily accessible.)

The hotel's restaurant sprawls onto the lawns surrounding the hotel, oozes a pleasant atmosphere and serves very good Indian food at decent enough prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

True this hotel is in a nice location but it is poorly managed: the manager seems to be in a bad mood all the time, not a very approachable fella by both the visitors and employees. Who designed this hotel? I had to go thru a maze of stairs to get to my room: watch out for dangerous unmarked steps allover the place!

The food is tasteless be it a snack, main meal or breakfast. Stay away from samosas, they taste funny in this place. Whoever thinks that Indian food in this place is the best has not tasted real Indian food: tough meats, nani is thick and soft like African chappati, nothing much for breakfast unless if you fancy noodles for breakfast!

The lights in the room a dim making it unconfortable. Cheap equipment so my toilet seat was broken, you have to play around with the shower head to make it work.....

Internet is choppy if you can get on!!

Employees are great and try their best to please.

The gym has reasonable equipment however the design makes it feel like a cave: no windows, no air-conditioner and the dirty thick carpet gives it a certain smell. Take your towel, what they give you smells like it is unwashed and has been used over and over.

The hotel was almost empty the 4 days I spent there so employees seemed like they were loitering around doing nothing.

It is sad to see that at such a location and land size that this hotel has nothing much to offer.

Room Tip: Sorry folks, I doubt if you can find a good room as we know it at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ganda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I never spend a night at this Hotel but every time I am in Uganda I go there at least once to have a good diner. It is a quiet, well maintained place with nice gardens and a really outstanding Indian kitchen at reasonable prices. I would even dare to say it is the best Indian food I have eaten outside India. Definitely worthwhile going there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

The location is excellent, so quiet, the pool is reasonable. The quality/price very reasonable, good food just breakfast buffet is not so special. Anyway advisable quiet place to stay in Kampala

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank oboe1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel i, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel International 2000 Limited, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lady_samhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel i, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel International 2000 Limited, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.2 mi away
Marie's Royale Hotel
Marie's Royale Hotel
#61 of 104 in Kampala
4 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#32 of 104 in Kampala
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#40 of 104 in Kampala
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Nexus Resorts Hotel
Nexus Resorts Hotel
#29 of 104 in Kampala
46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Metropole Hotel Kampala
#25 of 104 in Kampala
132 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 104 in Kampala
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International 2000 Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International 2000 Limited

Address: Plot 3209 Tank Hill Road-Muyenga, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $73 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International 2000 Limited 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers an all inclusive concept typical of modern living. It is set amid rush green gardens with an extensive view of Lake Victoria and the surrounding suburbs. The environment offered by this site together with the beautiful, quiet and elegant lake breezes leave an everlasting memory to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel International 2000 Limited reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing