We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kampala
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
9
2
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
9
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chimp tracking no hot water walking distance chimps wifi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2019

Incredible room and lodge. As we were walking to our room, we even followed a baboon on the trail! It's very close to the chimps as well, apparently, the wait staff will see them in the restaurant bathrooms looking in the mirror!

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank bplatt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

Actually the isn't well maintained. Pathways to the rooms are rocky and unstable. The bedding is very old and has changed from white to some shade of grey. Smells damp too. The beds are very hard if that's your thing you'll be fine. Wifi almost didn't work is so so bad. No air conditioning anywhere so in a hot day forget any relief. The forest rangers lounge around the camp as they please. The staff is super friendly but service is exhaustingly slow. They take the meal orders for your next meal at the previous one ie: lunch they'll ask your dinner choice in order to reduce waiting time but despite this you might wait 40-50 minutes for your meal. The food when it arrives however is really good and very tasty. It seems the only choice here in the park if you want to come chimpanzee trekking.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Andirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

The rooms were spacious and well designed.You were lulled to sleep as well as awakened to the sounds of wildlife. The rooms were private and very cool. Wifi was basically in the bar area only. The flashlight was a necessity as the light went out and it was pitch black in the morning as you tried to prepare for the day. No complaints- just a heads up as we loved our stay, despite no hot water. The staff was friendly, the food was good, and the location was perfect for our chimp tracking experience the next day. The briefing was in walking distance to the lodge. Even though there was a brief primate walk in the evening, you could just stay on your porch and have a fairly good chance of seeing a red tailed monkey or another primate -but if you did not see them, you certainly heard them.

Room tip: We loved our cottage.They have a treehouse, that is said to be in the path of the primates.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Is what you feel like in the bandas located very privately in the rainforest. The rooms are large and nicely built. The shower in the large bathroom was nice once you figured out how to get hot water, which frankly isn’t that important in the hot jungle. You have to be escorted to and from your rooms at night because of the animal life. These are unique lodgings that are pleasing to stay in for a couple nights.

The restaurant food is fairly good and the wait staff try very hard to please. Maybe a bit too enthusiastically for my taste but certainly better than wait staff with sour dispositions.

The only problem we had was related to trying to get some last minute laundry done after some wet rainforest walks. They said they had a dryer but what they did not say was that it was broken. So after washing them we were given wet clothes, hung up in our room (all over the room) to dry. When we asked what happened they went back and retrieved our clothes from the room and put them back into the broken dryer to (big surprise) no avail. And in the process mixed up and temporarily lost some of our items. Eventually all the clothes were recovered. This should have been a case of not saying they could do something when they couldn’t. I dare say they learned their lesson.

In spite of this slight mishap if you are going chimp trekking this is THE place to stay as it is located very close to the center where everything starts.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

We were on a 11 day trip with National Geographic Expeditions and stayed at the Primate Lodge while tracking chimpanzees in Kibale National Forest. It is and excellent lodge, professionally run with very good food, wonderful location right in the Forest. The rooms are spacious. Loved the large indoor shower. Service was excellent. Highly recommend a stay.

Room tip: This is not luxury like some other lodges we stayed at but the location and ambiance are excellent. Really enjoyed our stay.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valentinos70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews