We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouthwatering steaks”

Le Chateau Brasserie Belge
Ranked #12 of 292 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Every great brand re-invents itself to keep up with the new trends and tastes of its customers. Le Château is no exception, have been in existence for over 20 years. Le Chateau Brasserie Belge proudly offers more than just food for our guests. With enchanting ambience, mouth watering Belgian and European Cuisine of the highest standard coupled with attentive service, we are able to deliver a faultless dining experience. The team is very excited to welcome you through our doors to a brand new, transformed restaurant, promising you an unforgettable dining experience fitting to any mood. Together with Belgian Chef Paul Francis Leysen we look forward to welcoming you.
Ndola, Zambia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering steaks”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

By far one of the best restaurants in Kampala, Uganda, the location and the food here addds up to a wonderful experience.
Starting with the location, it's on the Gabba Road on top of a small hillock. The dining area is quite well spread out and open-air with the typical high-roofed African straw roof. The lighting is warm and low, giving the place a romantic feel.
The cuisine claims to be Belgian, but the steaks are juicy and mouthwatering. Especially the Steak A La Flambe, where the final cooking is done at the table with cognac. My friends from Europe have enjoyed the steaks and would vouch for the meat as the best they have eaten.
Definitely a restaurant that deserves 5 stars and a visit.
The restaurant also makes its own cheeses and so they have a small outlet where one can buy various cheeses, sausages, and meat products.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaustubhDharkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    56
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Convenient location, Serene environment.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

One of those very conveniently located places that makes you very glad that they exist exactly were they are! Located within the Quality Village which in itself is a shopping complex, the restaurant also enjoys a strategic location along the Gaba road, next to the American Embassy, near numerous super markets including Uchumi, Gas stations, and the great Quality cuts butcherie. Approximately between 10 to 15 minutes walk from Nsambya hospital! Public Transport to/from town and Gaba easily available. We were scheduled to meet with some colleagues in a University around the area, but opted to meet in a nearby place with lesser traffic noise. To my greatest delight we remembered that there was Le Château in the neighbourhood! We were glad we came to this place! Getting off the busy Gaba road with the constant traffic hoots and all the noise into Le Château was a great delight! A very calm place, great staff, great food. A little more expensive, but worth its price. We did not try the WiFi, but the last time l visited (late last year 2012), it worked just fine.
Great place to meet with friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bibian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
406 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Good food, but too pricey”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The food is good, though besides the steaks, not overly exceptional. Except perhaps for the cowboy steak.
Prices for the food are a tad too high, with the drinks even being unreasonably priced. Try Le Petit Bistro or Jacob's Lounge instead.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cosy place”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Was invited here with some colluegues and we must admit: their beef is very tender !
Prices were reasonnable for European standards as in most restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulu, Uganda
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beef Fillet is Awesome”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice and cozy environment, it also had live music that evening (light jazz) which made it all really special. I've been there several times in these years and the food is generally good, even though sometimes takes quite a bit. Prices have increasingly become expensive throughout the years. last time I was there I ordered for a Beef Fillet with Roquefort sauce, a couple of beers and an espresso and spent 60k.Nevertheless, the beef fillet was awesome.
Toilets are well kept and clean and staffs are generally cordial.
Overall its one of my favorite restaurants in Kampala. I give it a plus.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chateau Brasserie Belge also viewed

 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Le Chateau Brasserie Belge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing