We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place to stay - secluded from the busy area...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Petit Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Petit Village
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good place to stay - secluded from the busy area...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

I stayed at the La Petite continously for 4 months. Great place, Nice people, what else you need....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunilNair66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    49
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
35
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
263 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

This was a great hotel. This was a small paradise tucked away from a bustling street. Excellent location if you have local business. A 15 minute drive in traffic from downtown Kampala.

The breakfast buffet was great and the dinner was great as well. The compound has a pharmacy, bakery and deli for your needs. There is a small grocery store just diagonal from the compound. The in room refrigerator was great and the contents are included in the price of the room. The staff was extremely helpful. The room was clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondechickma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

The set up of the facility is beautifully arranged with little huts on a slight slope adjacent to some facilities like restaurant, butcher, souvenir shop, café, etc.
While we had originally booked the executive suite, we found the juniour suite much nicer set up as the executive appeared a bit suffed and gave a confined atmosphere. Later we visited the suite (funny enough the suite ranks below the junior) and found out that the interior was partially even nicer arranged than both of the more expensive options. The bath tub next to the bed is a quite attractive solution for couples, however a bit of a wet affair for the floor and surely unamusing if there is more than two persons in the room.
We decided to take the hut on top of the area because it offered the best view. Unfortunately, it also exposed us to the noise from the neighbouring compounds. Friday night is a late night party at a nearby garden bar, but Thursday and Saturday they party there too. The final night another neighbour staged a private event which almost ripped our ear drums. Not the fault of the hotel but an extreme nuisance.
Breakfast was ok, the choice at the cold buffet a little small but nice fresh fruits and some hot stuff. Unamusing, the incapabilty of the cleaning lady who only sweeped the floor wet thus creating nice little puddles in the room in which dust and hair swam and which created after drying a lovely sticky layer on the beautiful wooden floor. The linen were changed every day - apart from the day when the baby had peed on the bed..
Apart from that the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful.
All in all a very nice place that needs to sort out its neighbours and cleaner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasseater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

i stayed for 2 nights and the place is beautiful and calm. The rooms are different and has a fantastic view. The rates are very good and rooms are spacious. The city is just 20 min drive in non peak hours.
Its much better than all the 5 star hotels. you have pastry shop and good belgian Restaurant.
The internet is pretty slow in the rooms but they are working to restore the speed. hopefully they will recitify soon.
Good place to stay for all purpose.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

I've just arrived from Kampala this morning and i had stayed at Le Petit Village. While i did enjoy my stay, there are a few things i'd like to point out. The photos on the website make it look like the rooms are huge but i stayed with my mum and dad in the executive suite, it was quite small. Also, our room had a bathroom in a corner, with frosted glass walls and wasn't closed from the top. That would be fine for couples but i honestly didn't like the bathroom since i was sharing the room with my parents. You need privacy in the bathroom at least. The restaurant was quite good and so was the bakery. The decor of the rooms and the hotel in general was quite nice. The only thing thats spoilt it for me was the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma_1986_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

The Petit Village was recommended to me by a colleague for my recent visit to Kampala. The location - a five minute walk from the US Embassy - is perfect for anyone there for embassy business. But location notwithstanding, this accomodation proved delightful. I stayed in a not-so-small bungalow, with a sitting / TV room, kitchenette (stove, plates, cookware, utensils, a small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages) bedroom and bathroom. The rooms were spotless, nicely furnished but uncluttered. The location is on a busy road but the room was quiet and peaceful.

Satellite TV, WiFi, a swimming pool, outdoor table and chairs at the room and a breakfast buffet were included in the room price

This small "village" hosts a good bakery, delicatessen, pharmacy, craft shop and fresh produce stand. The restaurant is moderately priced, perhaps toward the higher end, but serves very good meals. I took dinner their twice, and would recommend it to a guest staying at any hotel in the city.

My only complaint: there was not adequate hot water in the morning. I don't know if each room has its own tank, or if the hot water is shared, but I did take one jump-in, jump-out shower.

Friendly staff, great rooms, great food and pleasant diversions (including a supermarket across the street) make this my only choice when I return to Kampala in a few months.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark-mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

The bungalows are beautiful, with an authentic African touch, and an excellent place to unwind, with a home feel.
The rooms were very clean, and the staff were very friendly.

It is also a practical place, with, in addition to the bungalows, a pool, a restaurant, a wine shop, a Patisserie, and a craft market

I will go back, this time for a vacation with my 2 young children

Annick

  • Liked — The Bungalows architecture
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
1.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#17 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cassia Lodge
Cassia Lodge
#4 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Petit Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Petit Village

Property: Hotel Le Petit Village
Address: Ggaba Road | Next to American Embassy, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Petit Village 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your visit to Uganda will not be complete without a stay at Le Petit Village. From standard to executive suites, this thatch-roofed hotel meets the needs of a variety of discerning travelers.Le Petit Village's intimate rooms are decorated in Safari Chic rustic elegance, which makes it the perfect place to relax in understated luxury.All rooms are self contained, equipped with LCD TV screens, WIFI internet connections, phone lines and complimentary mini bars. Enjoy a good swim, chill out and enjoy a view of Kampala complete with natural and local sounds from your private terrace, or partake in gourmet dining at our famous Le Chateau Restaurant. One visit and you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Petit Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing