We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Petit Village
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is well situated in Kampala and the standard is very good. Really nice clean rooms next to the pool. We had no problems with any aspect and the staff were extremely helpful sorting out some travel arrangements. Rita at the desk and her colleagues all did their jobs very well.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank babaDADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

So this is a nice looking hotel and is well located with good staff and a nice pool. BUT....the roof of each of the rooms is thatched. This looks lovely but means that there is absolutely no sound proofing from the road outside so it's very noisy. In addition (and the main problem) is the outdoor nightclub on the other side of the road that you feel like you are in when you want to go to sleep. We only stayed in this place for 2 nights either side of a trip to see the gorillas and it finished quite late on Monday but not until 4am on Friday night when I finally managed to get to sleep.

So if you can sleep through World War 3 then this place is nice. If not, I recommend giving it a miss.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

on a recent trip from Mbarara to Kampala for a workshop, a group of us were booked into lepetit hotel as it was close to our workshop venue. i was immediately surprised at the quiet and serene atmosphere in the middle of the noisy Kampala hustle and bustle. The rooms were spacious and the staff were friendly and dedicated. compared to the internet at my office, their WIFI was really fast. Their restaurant is top notch and i recommend the next time you visit Kampala, Le Petit Village is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mich0s123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place is pretty good. Clean, elegant rooms and good attention to detail. Not outstanding, but good for Kampala. Good quality showers and comfortable beds. Boutique style if not in service.

Not central so you have to take taxis/motorbikes everywhere, and the traffic is terrible. The breakfast is average. The staff try to overcharge you for taxis.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back by the outside wall can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate12345_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Le Petit Village was recommended to me by friends and I didn't regret it. I spent a wonderful time in this oasis of good taste, tranquility and African luxury in Kampala.
The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated and the personnel is very friendly and helpful. Last, but not least, the food at their restaurant is delicious!
I wish I could find more places like Le Petit Village in Africa...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL
hotel must be noisiest in Kamapala with a night club accross the street, + they have their own butchers shop (you can smell the rotting and rancid meat), they must do their laundy next to butchers where "Mango" flies feed - the hotel did not iron the linens and bath robe properly as I had 3-5 days later mango flies had hatched into my back and had to get two local operations to remove the maggots in my back -

food was great by kamapala stanadards but thats about it

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: no rooms are good even on the back all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefkam, Manager at Hotel Le Petit Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Julia M,
We regret to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Unfortunately you did not bring any of these issues to our attention during your stay which would have allowed us to address them timely and to your satisfaction.
We would like to guarantee you that our hotel uses state of the art laundry and drying equipment and we apply hygiene standards to the highest levels. All laundry is disinfected and ironed and our quality assurance procedures in place do provide for additional checks which we are confident would have detected any foreign objects in the linen. Our hotel is renowned for is high standards in cleanliness and service. We are most certain that the cause of your contamination must have come from another source.
The delicatessen shop is a sales outlet that has no processing done on site and therefore any scent of meat is highly unlikely as the tenant is ISO22000 approved and uses equally the highest standards in food safety management. We have audited and we could not find any breach of the standards as well as the cold chain.
Quality Cuts is known in Uganda as the top brand of delicatessen and strive to keep the highest standards in food quality and service.
We thank you for your comments.
Emily Duyck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

When I read the other reviews, I was expecting very good service here, including "poured champagne for guests at sundown" and turndown. Alas, we were here 2 days and had neither turn-down, nor champagne. For the price of a jr. suite I would have expected a higher standard of care; in fact, the hotel staff were quite passive (almost unfriendly)-- which is not characteristic of other places we stayed in Uganda during our two week visit. By comparison, the Le Chateau restaurant staff were very personable and attentive on our arrival-night dinner. The coq au vin and white So. African wine were first-rate; a very nice meal. The breakfast buffet (included) was very nice too. And we enjoyed the spacious room: good air! good bed! and clean. (Although neighborhood barking dogs at 2:30 a.m. was a real nuisance.) The pool was small but refreshing... also clean. So, with a little more staff attention, this would have been a very nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the property. The first 4 rooms (at the front) are easily viewed by e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentflierUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
2.4 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
1.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 105 in Kampala
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#10 of 105 in Kampala
353 reviews
3.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
215 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cassia Lodge
Cassia Lodge
#4 of 105 in Kampala
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Petit Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Petit Village

Address: Ggaba Road | Next to American Embassy, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $190 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Petit Village 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your visit to Uganda will not be complete without a stay at Le Petit Village. From standard to executive suites, this thatch-roofed hotel meets the needs of a variety of discerning travelers.Le Petit Village's intimate rooms are decorated in Safari Chic rustic elegance, which makes it the perfect place to relax in understated luxury.All rooms are self contained, equipped with LCD TV screens, WIFI internet connections, phone lines and complimentary mini bars. Enjoy a good swim, chill out and enjoy a view of Kampala complete with natural and local sounds from your private terrace, or partake in gourmet dining at our famous Le Chateau Restaurant. One visit and you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Petit Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing