We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Kampala”
Review of Humura Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Humura Resorts
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis in Kampala”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

After 3 months volunteering in Uganda, I was looking for a quiet place to rest and enjoy before the long journey home. Humura Resort in the quiet and upscale Kololo neighborhood of Kampala was the perfect spot. Large, beautifully appointed and quiet rooms with a/c, flat screen tv and deluxe bathroom. The pool area is serene and green. There are several places to enjoy a drink and the restaurant served delicious fresh food. If you are craving fresh veggies, try the mixed salad. This resort is small and intimate and the staff was friendly and helpful. Several Ugandan friends joined me for meals and were also impressed. I'll stay again my next trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Front Office Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Ms. Carolyn G
Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Humura Resorts as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to write a rave review about our property. We greatly appreciate the vote of confidence and commendation.

We are truly delighted to hear that we were able to meet and exceed most of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable.
Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, it will be a pleasure hosting you once again.

Kind regards,

Hilda Birungi
Rooms Division & Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    84
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
20
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed at Humura for 11 nights in January. The room was spacious and staff were very cheerful and kind. I particularly liked the quiet atmosphere at the hotel, and good internet connection as I had to work in the room all the time . Loved breakfast pancake, hot shower, plenty of natural lights in the room through the window overlooking the garden. I had late flight on my last day, and they kindly allowed me to stay till the evening, which was such a great offer. Possible improvement could be better soundproof of the wall. Overall, it was a very good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabibi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Front Office Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Tabibi2
Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Humura Resorts as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to write a rave review about our property. We greatly appreciate the vote of confidence and commendation.

We are truly delighted to hear that we were able to meet and exceed most of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable.
Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, it will be a pleasure hosting you once again.

Kind regards,

Hilda Birungi
Rooms Division & Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Used the hotel for one night and one day before my night return flight.
Very good room: clear, clean and with all needed amenities.
Staff very nice and helpful.
Very good location: walking distance from Shopping center, national museum and in general nice area.
Food (1 dinner and 1 breakfast) was very good.

Room Tip: Not too close from the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Front Office Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear MFG
Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Humura Resorts as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to write a rave review about our property. We greatly appreciate the vote of confidence and commendation.

We are truly delighted to hear that we were able to meet and exceed most of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable.
Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, it will be a pleasure hosting you once again.

Kind regards,

Hilda Birungi
Rooms Division & Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for a work week in Kampala. The hotel offered great service - very helpful and friendly staff. Nice, quiet and relaxing garden and environment. Great location in a peaceful and quiet setting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Front Office Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Ms. Caorline672014

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Humura Resorts as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to write a rave review about our property. We greatly appreciate the vote of confidence and commendation.

We are truly delighted to hear that we were able to meet and exceed most of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable.
Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, it will be a pleasure hosting you once again.

Kind regards,

Hilda Birungi
Rooms Division & Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwich, Maine
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I came to Uganda for the first time this January to lead a workshop at the Humura. I have spent many years in Senegal and Guinea (which are not known for their keen customer service) and I therefore arrived with some trepidation, wondering about the logistics of organizing the workshop and what sort of support I would receive from Humura staff. I was more than pleasantly surprised, I was overwhelmed by the flexibility and responsiveness of the Humura staff in responding to (and anticipating even!) my every need. Hannah and her team made it easy for me to print and make handouts each day--into the night--for the participants. They moved tables around, set up the projector, and rearranged tea breaks without complaint when they differed from our original plan. The conference facilities are excellent and comfortable, with room for break out sessions in the garden, and all the wall sockets you need for multiple laptops. The space is quiet and beautiful with gardens all around the hotel and conference rooms. I was able to rent a laptop and LCD projector, which saved me from having to lug them from the U.S. I short, I was able to forget about logistics and concentrate on what was really important-delivering an excellent workshop for the participants.

I also felt completely comfortable in the hotel. I can't say enough good things about the staff who are friendly, helpful, and full of knowledge. I swam laps in the pool everyday as a stress reliever and it was very well maintained. I also had the same taxi driver each day I was there-Joseph Opio-who was excellent. I completely trusted him not only to find his way around the city, but also to give me advice as to how long it would take to get to our destination (Kampala has horrid traffic), what time to leave, and to offer his excellent local knowledge. He was also completely reliable in showing up for pre-set appointments. I recommend his taxi service without reservation. If you are holding a workshop in Kampala, I strongly advise you to book the Humura!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Ms. Lacey g

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Humura Resorts as your preferred place of residence and for holding your meeting during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to write a rave review about our property. We greatly appreciate the vote of confidence and commendation.

We are truly delighted to hear that we were able to meet and exceed most of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable.
Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, it will be a pleasure hosting you once again.

Kind regards,

Hannah White
Foods and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Humura has a great location and is a peaceful oasis of calm in the middle of Kampala! The rooms were clean and comfortable, with effective A/C and decent bathrooms. The breakfast was also good and plentiful, and staff very friendly and helpful. Overall great value for money and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Front Office Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Christopher M,

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Humura Resorts as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to write a rave review about our property. We greatly appreciate the vote of confidence and commendation.

We are truly delighted to hear that we were able to meet and exceed most of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable.
Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, it will be a pleasure hosting you once again.

Kind regards,

Hilda Birungi
Rooms Division & Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Kampala is a popular tourist destination and finding decent and affordable accommodation is a thing of the past - but finding a good food place is still a nightmare for us the residents!

My husband's birthday was coming up, and amidst my busy schedule, I had to find a homely and nice place, and with good African food. As I scouted Kampala city and its immediate surburbs, I stumbled on Humura - had seen the sign post innumerable times, but always though of it as a BB as 'humura' in our local dialect means 'to rest'.

Humura staff were very pleasant, the atmosphere was relaxing and beautiful, and finally comes the food - it was the best, service was excellent and all my guests agreed with me!

Bravo to Humura management and please keep up and coming back very very soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
637 reviews
1.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 100 in Kampala
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
6.0 mi away
Cassia Lodge
Cassia Lodge
#4 of 100 in Kampala
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humura Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humura Resorts

Property: Humura Resorts
Address: Plot #3 Kitante Close, Kololo | P. O. Box 35521, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#5 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Humura Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humura, meaning "state of relaxation and calm", is a city-based resort in a calm country atmosphere. This elegant 18 room resort within 5 minutes walking distance from the 18 hole Kampala Golf Club and an easy drive from Kampala’s key attractions, including major shopping malls, is a tranquil oasis amidst the bustle of the central city. Whether visiting the capital on business or pleasure, Humura’s picturesque garden, outdoor swimming pool, restaurant, bar and gym facilities combined with impeccable service will provide you with a complete escape and will allow you to experience Kampala at its best. A special Program for Children is also available at the Humura Resort. Pets, however, are not permitted on the hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Humura Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humura Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing