We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and friendly, but a work in progress”
Review of Humura Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Humura Resorts
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Humura site is laid out in levels. You park and check in at the lodge at the top. The rooms are down the hill in a pretty green space with the restaurant, a small pool and a business area. The rooms are good sized, clean with adequate closets and efficient A/C. The WiFi in the room worked most of the time. The bathroom has a shower and good counter space, although a space to hang a robe would be nice. Unfortunately, the bed was horrible – like a wooden board.
The staff was happy to accommodate us, but there were many little problems that made Humura feel like work in progress. The pool was dirty the afternoon we arrived, and they closed it the next day. The shower had erratic pressure and temperature, the toilet ran, and one of the sink’s faucet handles leaked, flooding the counter. The lovely outdoor restaurant was missing many menu items. Eventually staff had to suggest the things that they did have, which mainly came down to grilled meat and overcooked tilapia. Our tip: stick with the local dishes: both the fish stew and the beef cubes were great.
Humura Resorts is located close to the outskirts of Kampala. This alone makes me strongly recommend it if you plan to visit the source of the Nile and Jinja because you don’t have to cross the city to reach them. Kampala’s traffic is just one step short of impassible on some days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fenice_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We as management of the Humura Resorts Hotel Kampala would like to respond to the issues raised by the reviewer.

Humura Resorts hotel strives to give the best quality service there is in the hospitality industry.
Concerning the pool Our pool attendants clean the pool in every shift and the supervisors are on hand to make sure that cleanliness is maintained throughout the day. we have not shut down the pool at any one day for any malfunction. We, however, carry out periodic maintenance of the pool.
Our quality of beds have been graded as one of the best.

As concerns the shower pressure and temperatures, we have two kinds of water heating systems, the solar and electric to ensure that there is availability of hot water supply throughout the day. The bathroom has both towel and robe hangers available with a well fitted sink so there are no linkages of water through the sinks/toilets’ faucets. We pride ourselves in being Environmentally friendly and aware hotel . In this aspect, our toilets have been built to use minimum water so there is no likelihood of a run.

Our menus are made to cater for our international guests. Our staff are trained to handle guests’ inquires and interest them in the varieties provided in the Menu. We do not serve local dishes as stated by the reviewer.

In this regard, we are of the opinion that the reviewer had Humura Resorts Hotel mistaken for another service provider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at Humura twice during a recent trip to Uganda and loved it, it is a home away from home. The staff are warm and welcoming (especially the ladies at reception), the management is excellent, great food and peaceful surroundings. I would definitely recommend Humura to anyone visiting Kampala.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank L_sara572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was my first time at Humura Resorts and definitely not my last!

The reception ladies (Hilda, Leah and Christine)are great. Emily was very helpful seeing to it that i was comfortable.

I appreciate the services offered by Julie at the restaurant. Any Expatriate, international visitor looking for a good place to rest after a long day's work or trip, should go to humra.

Room Tip: I had a room on the upper floor. it has a nice view at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

For my work I visit Kampala on a regular base. Since my first trip in September last year, I stay at Humura Resort. If you compare them with the other hotels it is great value for money. If you expect a great luxery hotel , pay double or three times the price of Humura and book there. If you want a good stay, with comfort and clean rooms in a small and cosy environment, you have to chose for Humura. As in every hotel it can happen that something is not working or missing. The way the staff help you in finding a solution is great. So much hospitality you won't find in the big hotels. Last time there was a problem they couldn't fix the same day. As a compensation they offered me a free mea; in their restaurant, which is by the way of good quality although the menu is limited. As a reaction on earlier comments the WiFi works great during my last stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor a very good, because they are at the same level as the garden, swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was expecting a better Hotel from the reviews on Trip Advisor but this was below my expectation. Its is not a 4 or 3 star Hotel. Its more like a guest house. The rooms are clean but the sheets are torn and look overused. The bathroom is in bad shape with no soap and no hot water or luke warm water and the shower is not clean. The people who work their are good and nice but what they have to work with is sad. Will not stay here again in Kampala.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nairobi_KenyaAspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Humura always appreciates feedback from our guests, as we use it to continuously improve the service experience of those we most value. First, we would like to sincerely apologize that your stay was not ideal. We pride ourselves in indeed being a tranquil boutique hotel providing personalized service that our guests who come from around the globe have highly rated over the years. Secondly, we are responding to your review as we feel that the points you raise are not reflective of the conditions at our hotel, or of the many who stay at our establishment. Housekeeping is checking the rooms every day and when there is a problem it is immediately addressed. During the period of your stay you expressed a request to stay on the top floor, but as we mentioned, the hotel was entirely full, and there was only one room on the lower level. Subsequently, you complained about hot water being unavailable. When housekeeping checked the room, hot water was working just fine. Notwithstanding this, you were then moved to the upper level, when a room became available.

Regarding the bed sheets, we are very surprised at your observation – as sheets throughout the hotel were recently changed, and are new; furthermore, we make sure our beds are laid professionally according to the normal high hospitality standards, and housekeeping makes sure that soap and other amenities are replaced periodically. On the day in question, you put a ‘do not disturb’ sign on your door – it was later discovered you were not in the room. In view of the sign, housekeeping, in line with the standard norms to protect guest privacy, could not enter your room, and therefore the change of soap etc were not addressed.

In any event, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and hope you your experience will be much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed in the Humura with 16 colleagues and have to say that the hotel, and staff were excellent.
Whilst dealing with the bookings, the communication and staff were incredibly helpful, and the booking was processed easily - a particualr thank you to Christine and Hilda for this.
Upon arrival, the room was fantastic and very clean, and the porters etc were all halpeful in helping to move my luggage, and as always, reception was excellent at assiting me with anything the team needed.
The various spaces in the hotel are also fanastic with several beautiful terraces, and a small pool to cool down in - although I'm afraid I didn't have time to make the most of this! The bars and resturant were also great, and the service was excellent. The menu was lovely, and suited everyone's palette. I was particuarly happy to be able to eat salad whilst travelling in Africa safely.
Thanks once again to all the staff at the Humura who made our stay so fantastic!

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the level with the resturant have the nicest view as the doors open onto a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at Humura for 7 Nights and was won over by the nice staff. Next to the Golf Course and walking distance from various good restaurants & supermarkets. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Although there are no mosquitoes in the rooms but a nice mosquito net is set up every evening around your bed for a assured comfortable sleep. The menu has a limited choice but food is tasty. The jewel in the crown is the hotel staff. There are only 18 rooms in this hotel, so the staff knows each and every guest by name and room number thus attending to their specific needs fast and efficiently. They will make you feel very comfortable and special. Although i can name all the staff members but my special thanks to Shiva, Hilda and Olivia for making my stay pleasant...If looking for home away from home, then this is the right choice.

Pros: Everything else apart from the two cons below
Cons: Pool, although very clean (cleaned daily) is very small to lure you to swim; Buffet breakfast menu needs lots of improvement and variety

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samrat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
1.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 105 in Kampala
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
1.8 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#10 of 105 in Kampala
354 reviews
1.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#12 of 105 in Kampala
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humura Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humura Resorts

Address: Plot #3 Kitante Close, Kololo | P. O. Box 35521, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#5 Business Hotel in Kampala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: $165 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Humura Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humura, meaning "state of relaxation and calm", is a city-based resort in a calm country atmosphere. This elegant 18 room resort within 5 minutes walking distance from the 18 hole Kampala Golf Club and an easy drive from Kampala’s key attractions, including major shopping malls, is a tranquil oasis amidst the bustle of the central city. Whether visiting the capital on business or pleasure, Humura’s picturesque garden, outdoor swimming pool, restaurant, bar and gym facilities combined with impeccable service will provide you with a complete escape and will allow you to experience Kampala at its best. A special Program for Children is also available at the Humura Resort. Pets, however, are not permitted on the hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Humura Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humura Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing