We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Humura Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Humura Resorts
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at Humura twice during a recent trip to Uganda and loved it, it is a home away from home. The staff are warm and welcoming (especially the ladies at reception), the management is excellent, great food and peaceful surroundings. I would definitely recommend Humura to anyone visiting Kampala.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank L_sara572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Humura Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was my first time at Humura Resorts and definitely not my last!

The reception ladies (Hilda, Leah and Christine)are great. Emily was very helpful seeing to it that i was comfortable.

I appreciate the services offered by Julie at the restaurant. Any Expatriate, international visitor looking for a good place to rest after a long day's work or trip, should go to humra.

Room Tip: I had a room on the upper floor. it has a nice view at the back
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

For my work I visit Kampala on a regular base. Since my first trip in September last year, I stay at Humura Resort. If you compare them with the other hotels it is great value for money. If you expect a great luxery hotel , pay double or three times the price of Humura and book there. If you want a good stay, with comfort and clean rooms in a small and cosy environment, you have to chose for Humura. As in every hotel it can happen that something is not working or missing. The way the staff help you in finding a solution is great. So much hospitality you won't find in the big hotels. Last time there was a problem they couldn't fix the same day. As a compensation they offered me a free mea; in their restaurant, which is by the way of good quality although the menu is limited. As a reaction on earlier comments the WiFi works great during my last stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor a very good, because they are at the same level as the garden, swimming poo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was expecting a better Hotel from the reviews on Trip Advisor but this was below my expectation. Its is not a 4 or 3 star Hotel. Its more like a guest house. The rooms are clean but the sheets are torn and look overused. The bathroom is in bad shape with no soap and no hot water or luke warm water and the shower is not clean. The people who work their are good and nice but what they have to work with is sad. Will not stay here again in Kampala.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nairobi_KenyaAspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Humura always appreciates feedback from our guests, as we use it to continuously improve the service experience of those we most value. First, we would like to sincerely apologize that your stay was not ideal. We pride ourselves in indeed being a tranquil boutique hotel providing personalized service that our guests who come from around the globe have highly rated over the years. Secondly, we are responding to your review as we feel that the points you raise are not reflective of the conditions at our hotel, or of the many who stay at our establishment. Housekeeping is checking the rooms every day and when there is a problem it is immediately addressed. During the period of your stay you expressed a request to stay on the top floor, but as we mentioned, the hotel was entirely full, and there was only one room on the lower level. Subsequently, you complained about hot water being unavailable. When housekeeping checked the room, hot water was working just fine. Notwithstanding this, you were then moved to the upper level, when a room became available.

Regarding the bed sheets, we are very surprised at your observation – as sheets throughout the hotel were recently changed, and are new; furthermore, we make sure our beds are laid professionally according to the normal high hospitality standards, and housekeeping makes sure that soap and other amenities are replaced periodically. On the day in question, you put a ‘do not disturb’ sign on your door – it was later discovered you were not in the room. In view of the sign, housekeeping, in line with the standard norms to protect guest privacy, could not enter your room, and therefore the change of soap etc were not addressed.

In any event, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and hope you your experience will be much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed in the Humura with 16 colleagues and have to say that the hotel, and staff were excellent.
Whilst dealing with the bookings, the communication and staff were incredibly helpful, and the booking was processed easily - a particualr thank you to Christine and Hilda for this.
Upon arrival, the room was fantastic and very clean, and the porters etc were all halpeful in helping to move my luggage, and as always, reception was excellent at assiting me with anything the team needed.
The various spaces in the hotel are also fanastic with several beautiful terraces, and a small pool to cool down in - although I'm afraid I didn't have time to make the most of this! The bars and resturant were also great, and the service was excellent. The menu was lovely, and suited everyone's palette. I was particuarly happy to be able to eat salad whilst travelling in Africa safely.
Thanks once again to all the staff at the Humura who made our stay so fantastic!

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the level with the resturant have the nicest view as the doors open onto a love...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at Humura for 7 Nights and was won over by the nice staff. Next to the Golf Course and walking distance from various good restaurants & supermarkets. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Although there are no mosquitoes in the rooms but a nice mosquito net is set up every evening around your bed for a assured comfortable sleep. The menu has a limited choice but food is tasty. The jewel in the crown is the hotel staff. There are only 18 rooms in this hotel, so the staff knows each and every guest by name and room number thus attending to their specific needs fast and efficiently. They will make you feel very comfortable and special. Although i can name all the staff members but my special thanks to Shiva, Hilda and Olivia for making my stay pleasant...If looking for home away from home, then this is the right choice.

Pros: Everything else apart from the two cons below
Cons: Pool, although very clean (cleaned daily) is very small to lure you to swim; Buffet breakfast menu needs lots of improvement and variety

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samrat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The greeting was good, rooms were large, clean and comfortable and the AC was a treat. The bar area was great with comfy seating and breakfast had a huge variety including cooked breakfast, pastries and fruit. Excellent value for money and our experience here was much better than at speak which was far more expensive and nowhere near as luxurious or clean as humura.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 103 in Kampala
660 reviews
1.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 103 in Kampala
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
1.8 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#9 of 103 in Kampala
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humura Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humura Resorts

Address: Plot #3 Kitante Close, Kololo | P. O. Box 35521, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#5 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: $160 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Humura Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humura, meaning "state of relaxation and calm", is a city-based resort in a calm country atmosphere. This elegant 18 room resort within 5 minutes walking distance from the 18 hole Kampala Golf Club and an easy drive from Kampala’s key attractions, including major shopping malls, is a tranquil oasis amidst the bustle of the central city. Whether visiting the capital on business or pleasure, Humura’s picturesque garden, outdoor swimming pool, restaurant, bar and gym facilities combined with impeccable service will provide you with a complete escape and will allow you to experience Kampala at its best. A special Program for Children is also available at the Humura Resort. Pets, however, are not permitted on the hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Humura Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humura Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing