We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mid-range choice.”
Review of Humura Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Humura Resorts
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great mid-range choice.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Humura is a great mid-range option. It's very clean, beautiful, great food/restaurant, excellent and very attentive service. Probably fair for the price. My only complaint is that the rooms are paired in units separated by a locked door, so if you have loud neighbors, well... it's like they are inside your room. Overall really excellent option-- I'll definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, General Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear StoneStepper,

Thank you very much for your time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Humura. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We very much appreciate your feedback and apologise about the inconvenience mentioned. 2 pairs of our 18 rooms are adjoining. Please be advised that the problem you have raised has been addressed with consequence improvements to the sound level.

We look forward to seeing you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    84
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
20
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've been to Kampala many times, and this is by far my favourite hotel! Staff is super proffesional and friendly, and they will always help you in any way they can. The setting is beautiful, and it's really peaceful (which you really need after a day on the streets of Kampala!). The rooms are clean and have everything you need. Also a big plus is the pool and the fact that the restaurant serves awesome food! This place will not disappoint you! I have already made my next reservation..:)

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great hotel in the centre of Kampala. Beautiful view from the room, friendly staff and also a good restaurant. The fitness center is there if you like working out during the holiday, if not: the pool area works just fine (it did for me...). Good breakfast and great location wherever you want to go in the Ugandian capital.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra_b_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel was very nice. Standard of rooms (ie flooring, furniture, bedding, etc) was of very high standard. Hotel had the appearance and standard of excellence in design and layout. Though right off a main thoroughfare, you could not hear and traffic noise. It was very quiet and relaxing. Staff were responsive to requests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I'll list here a few favourite things about Humura:
-Service; I found the staff very helpful and accommodating.
-Secondly, I'm a frequent traveler and often spend the first night in a hotel tossing and turning, at Humura however, I was able to sleep soundly all days. It's very peaceful and quite always, the curtains don't let in light in the morning so you can sleep in, the air-conditioning is suitably placed.
-The food quality at Humura was good, if you're new to Uganda you must eat their whole fish (fried) and also their fried plantains (gonja).
- Humura was also conveniently located near Garden City Mall which was great to go for dinner and drinks and if you need a supermarket.
- The only complaint I got was from one of my guests who complained that their bathroom was not well cleaned, they must improve on this. My room however was satisfactory so it seems standards must be evenly maintained.


I will definitely be going back to Humura next time I'm in Kampala.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMarshaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I am an international consultant who has been working in Uganda for four weeks since 05-Aug-12 up to 02-Sep-12. I've been staying at Humura while in Kampala mostly at weekends as I've been out in the districts. I'm really impressed with the place, it's a guest house size and very comfortable and intimate but with rooms which are certainly of an international hotel standard. The place has been professionally designed and is beautiful, the swimming pool is great, perfect for serious swimmers like myself, and it has really been home away from home. The internet system was perfect. Food was good, particularly the whole tilapia with mashed potatoes (:o) and Spanish omelette at breakfast, fresh from the pan. The DSTv system needs to be improved despite the many channels, I stayed in three rooms but all were the same. Needs signal boost and more BBC/CNN and Movie Magic! On the whole though I would highly recommend Humura to anyone who like me has short-term consulting work in Uganda and does not want the cold formality of the bigger hotels, Roy Thompson royhthompson@gmail.com

Room Tip: I liked the same level as the pool and dining area made it easier to move in and out, but all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyHThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

its very nice this i used it this year in feb for my clients and they were happy, the lady at the reception was so good me as tour operator he gave me enough time to ask as many questions i can because it was my first time to use the hotel for my clients

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
637 reviews
1.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 100 in Kampala
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
6.0 mi away
Cassia Lodge
Cassia Lodge
#4 of 100 in Kampala
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humura Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humura Resorts

Property: Humura Resorts
Address: Plot #3 Kitante Close, Kololo | P. O. Box 35521, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#5 Business Hotel in Kampala
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Humura Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humura, meaning "state of relaxation and calm", is a city-based resort in a calm country atmosphere. This elegant 18 room resort within 5 minutes walking distance from the 18 hole Kampala Golf Club and an easy drive from Kampala’s key attractions, including major shopping malls, is a tranquil oasis amidst the bustle of the central city. Whether visiting the capital on business or pleasure, Humura’s picturesque garden, outdoor swimming pool, restaurant, bar and gym facilities combined with impeccable service will provide you with a complete escape and will allow you to experience Kampala at its best. A special Program for Children is also available at the Humura Resort. Pets, however, are not permitted on the hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Humura Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humura Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing