We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly maintained hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Royale Hotel
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Big rooms, but musty and no air conditioning. Food verges on being some of the worst I have ever tried and I have travelled fairly widely. Level of staff incompetence is amazingly bad even by African standards, would have stayed at the Serena next door except a friend got me a ridiculously good deal. But even so not staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRamakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Royale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 105 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel have proberly seen better days. The hotel is located nicely in the city center and is very big. I had the chance to stay only one night nice my first book hotel was overbooked.
The hotel is big and is the architecture is interesting with open hallways where you can see the other floors. Everything is dark and groomy, Black and fungus stain on the wall paper and the Whole hotel smells like fungis. The hotel could use a update in funiture and paint.
The bathroom was ok, but rest not ok.
The service was ok, but one person did not know what the other was doing so some misunderstading sometimes but they where helpfull.
Breakfast was below standard!
To be honest i will not stay here Again - but i will not scare others away, you just have to know about the standard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aab163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Overall, the hotel is fine. Well located and very big rooms...Very pleasant and helpful staff. Free wifi is available. Maintainance/renovation works, especially in the rooms, are overdue...and rooms look a bit old.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RN717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms for put wedding night and a few nights after. The room was very exotic and comfy and made our stay really amazing one.

It was all quiet and staff where so helpful, we were upgraded to a super deluxe by the manager when they we were newly weds...!
Thank you Imperial Royale

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slylutar444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2015

Dear Slylutar,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodation, as well as the environment.
Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Imperial Royale is well located. I looks very posh and the rooms and the attrium are huge. The room itself is a bit grotty. The capets look old and don't smell fresh, the bathroom is big but not very modern. I stayed here one night for business, which is ok, but I would not like to stay here longer. Breakfast was not what you would expect from a hotel like this, little choice and average quality. On my return to Kampala I stayed in the Sheraton, which is in a different league and wins hands down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a business trip of 20 days. Nothing could have been better than the location, pricing and facilities offered by this hotel.

The rooms were big, cleaned every day (with sheets and towels changed), Wifi access, mini locker and clean bathrooms. Each room has Tea/coffee making equipment and some (like my colleagues) also have a mini bar. Please request for on above the pool area, you get excellent wind/sun here.

Hotel has an adequate gym, lots of cardio equipment but only machines for weight training (suited me well for a short duration stay). Swimming pool is 18 mtrs, sufficient again for a short stay, cleaned daily. It has a sauna and steam center, though I never used it but my colleague did and he was quite satisfied.

There is a Western Union office in the same complex as the hotel (just outside) so you can change forex right there.

The food served in the buffet is mainly non-vegetarian with not much variety. Mainly beef and seasonal veggies. This is an everyday thing, I think they really lack creativity here. Veggies can have seasonal vegetables (though I am not sure how long you can keep up with boiled stuff) and potatoes.

I also recommend plantains (roasted bananas) and grilled Tilapia for fish eaters.

That's it ! Overall, very good hotel.

Room Tip: Take the ones above the pool area. And go for 814 if you can get it. Its the only one with a Balcony...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you're a business traveller in Kampala, stay in the Sheraton or the Serena, and avoid the Imperial Royale at all costs.

The place is like a ghost-town - a cavernous hotel where no one seems to be staying, with the top five floors in darkness, half the lifts not working, and an empty bar and restaurant. In spite of the lack of guests, staff are still incompetent and unhelpful. The food is awful, the service is poor, and the Business Centre leaves a lot to be desired.

The one saving grace: the rooms are a good size, although a lot of the furniture is unnecessary and simply looks a bit tacky.

Terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
2.4 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#66 of 103 in Kampala
70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#6 of 103 in Kampala
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#29 of 103 in Kampala
201 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 103 in Kampala
660 reviews
3.8 mi away
Arcadia Suites
Arcadia Suites
#9 of 103 in Kampala
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Royale Hotel

Address: Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $157 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Royale Hotel is a Conventional Centre because it has the Biggest Conference facility in Uganda. It's located in the central Business city of Kampala with easy and traffic free access to Government offices, Banks, Ngos, Diplomatic missions and shopping malls. The Hotel has 275 rooms, 22 Conference Halls with the Biggest hosting up to 2,000 guests under one roof. The Hotel also has guaranteed parking facility for 500 cars on 2 level underground parking. Imperial Royale HoteL was designated "The Media Hotel" during the Common Wealth Heads of Government meeting (CHOGM) in November 2007 in Kampala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing