We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, but renovation is overdue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Royale Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Imperial Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Royale Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Kampala
Utrecht
Level Contributor
256 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Big rooms, but renovation is overdue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Imperial Royale is well located. I looks very posh and the rooms and the attrium are huge. The room itself is a bit grotty. The capets look old and don't smell fresh, the bathroom is big but not very modern. I stayed here one night for business, which is ok, but I would not like to stay here longer. Breakfast was not what you would expect from a hotel like this, little choice and average quality. On my return to Kampala I stayed in the Sheraton, which is in a different league and wins hands down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pune
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a business trip of 20 days. Nothing could have been better than the location, pricing and facilities offered by this hotel.

The rooms were big, cleaned every day (with sheets and towels changed), Wifi access, mini locker and clean bathrooms. Each room has Tea/coffee making equipment and some (like my colleagues) also have a mini bar. Please request for on above the pool area, you get excellent wind/sun here.

Hotel has an adequate gym, lots of cardio equipment but only machines for weight training (suited me well for a short duration stay). Swimming pool is 18 mtrs, sufficient again for a short stay, cleaned daily. It has a sauna and steam center, though I never used it but my colleague did and he was quite satisfied.

There is a Western Union office in the same complex as the hotel (just outside) so you can change forex right there.

The food served in the buffet is mainly non-vegetarian with not much variety. Mainly beef and seasonal veggies. This is an everyday thing, I think they really lack creativity here. Veggies can have seasonal vegetables (though I am not sure how long you can keep up with boiled stuff) and potatoes.

I also recommend plantains (roasted bananas) and grilled Tilapia for fish eaters.

That's it ! Overall, very good hotel.

Room Tip: Take the ones above the pool area. And go for 814 if you can get it. Its the only one with a Balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikramrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you're a business traveller in Kampala, stay in the Sheraton or the Serena, and avoid the Imperial Royale at all costs.

The place is like a ghost-town - a cavernous hotel where no one seems to be staying, with the top five floors in darkness, half the lifts not working, and an empty bar and restaurant. In spite of the lack of guests, staff are still incompetent and unhelpful. The food is awful, the service is poor, and the Business Centre leaves a lot to be desired.

The one saving grace: the rooms are a good size, although a lot of the furniture is unnecessary and simply looks a bit tacky.

Terrible hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Williamston, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in late May. The place is pretty much as described by others. Very quiet at night because there are relatively few other guests, which can feel a bit weird until you get used to it. Busier during the day with meetings, conventions etc. But the rooms are large, the showers work, the beds are comfortable, the place is clean, the restaurant was OK and service was quite effective and helpful with pick up and drop off at the airport as requested. The wi-fi works if you find the right spot in the room. I got a special rate through Makerere University and so value for money was good. I wouldn't feel so positive paying $250 a night. Likely enough there are better places to stay in Kampala but I'm sure there are worse and this was fine for 3 nights. Between 3 and 4 stars

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maycarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel for a week. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. The hotel however is very big and has few people staying there. The staff are helpful but are some time slow. It was great being here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaggwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of Feb 2012. Having read the other reviews on here I was slightly dreading my stay, however I ahd nothing to fear and I'm not sure whether there's been some mistake and the other reviewers have reviewed the wrong hotel.

The rooms are huge, extremely comfortable with great bathrooms and shower. The only negative: no mini bar although bottled water provided daily.

The hotel is huge and therefore can lack atmosphere and warmth when occupancy is low as it was during my stay. The staff were perfectly pleasant and the food in the restaurant was good.

By Kampala standards this is a great hotel and is perfect for the traveller who wants a good nights sleep in comfortable and clean surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAherne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imphal, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This "5 star" hotel is to be avoided at all costs. Reasons? Hmmm, where do I begin? Alright, here's a shot:
- Over New Year's weekend, which is when I stayed here, the hotel felt like a mega, abandoned structure. At least 5 of the top floors were dark and seemed to have no one staying there. I spotted a couple of people on each of the other floors. Very eerie!
- The Business Centre was locked up the entire time I was there. When I enquired, I was told at Reception that the hotel could not find anyone to man the Business Centre. So they simply closed it.
- The gym and swimming pool were not accessible on the 1st day of the year. They were also locked up. It was a holiday, you see...
- The "bar". When I enquired on arrival where the hotel bar was, I was guided to what looked like a little cafeteria near the Reception. It had 5 little wobbly tables, had seating like a school dining hall and no one really around to serve you. An order of a beer took about 15 mins or so to arrive. The coke never did show up.
- Information. In the room, there was 10-item room service menu, that's all. No info on any other telephone numbers or on how to contact Reception or to make an outside call or on what floor the swimming pool was. Nothing. You had to guess.
- Guest travel services. There was no one at the table the entire time I was there. How do I get to Queen Elizabeth National Park, arguably among Uganda's biggest attractions? Reception: no idea. Any numbers or directions? Reception: Nope, but here's a general travel magazine that might give you that sort of information. Now stop bothering me! [Ok, she didn't say that last part, but given her look, she might just as well had..]
- Breakfast. A sorry afair. None of the variety or range of goodies you would expect - and get - at a 5 star place. All served in a huge, dreary hall.

Anything good about the place? OK, the rooms are huge, almost suite-like. But they do not even come close to making up for all the downsides.

Final verdict: please stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hemant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 81 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 81 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
#19 of 81 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 81 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
2.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#13 of 81 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#39 of 81 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Royale Hotel

Address: Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Royale Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Royale Hotel is a Conventional Centre because it has the Biggest Conference facility in Uganda. It's located in the central Business city of Kampala with easy and traffic free access to Government offices, Banks, Ngos, Diplomatic missions and shopping malls. The Hotel has 275 rooms, 22 Conference Halls with the Biggest hosting up to 2,000 guests under one roof. The Hotel also has guaranteed parking facility for 500 cars on 2 level underground parking. Imperial Royale HoteL was designated "The Media Hotel" during the Common Wealth Heads of Government meeting (CHOGM) in November 2007 in Kampala. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing