We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Royale Hotel
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of Feb 2012. Having read the other reviews on here I was slightly dreading my stay, however I ahd nothing to fear and I'm not sure whether there's been some mistake and the other reviewers have reviewed the wrong hotel.

The rooms are huge, extremely comfortable with great bathrooms and shower. The only negative: no mini bar although bottled water provided daily.

The hotel is huge and therefore can lack atmosphere and warmth when occupancy is low as it was during my stay. The staff were perfectly pleasant and the food in the restaurant was good.

By Kampala standards this is a great hotel and is perfect for the traveller who wants a good nights sleep in comfortable and clean surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAherne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

This "5 star" hotel is to be avoided at all costs. Reasons? Hmmm, where do I begin? Alright, here's a shot:
- Over New Year's weekend, which is when I stayed here, the hotel felt like a mega, abandoned structure. At least 5 of the top floors were dark and seemed to have no one staying there. I spotted a couple of people on each of the other floors. Very eerie!
- The Business Centre was locked up the entire time I was there. When I enquired, I was told at Reception that the hotel could not find anyone to man the Business Centre. So they simply closed it.
- The gym and swimming pool were not accessible on the 1st day of the year. They were also locked up. It was a holiday, you see...
- The "bar". When I enquired on arrival where the hotel bar was, I was guided to what looked like a little cafeteria near the Reception. It had 5 little wobbly tables, had seating like a school dining hall and no one really around to serve you. An order of a beer took about 15 mins or so to arrive. The coke never did show up.
- Information. In the room, there was 10-item room service menu, that's all. No info on any other telephone numbers or on how to contact Reception or to make an outside call or on what floor the swimming pool was. Nothing. You had to guess.
- Guest travel services. There was no one at the table the entire time I was there. How do I get to Queen Elizabeth National Park, arguably among Uganda's biggest attractions? Reception: no idea. Any numbers or directions? Reception: Nope, but here's a general travel magazine that might give you that sort of information. Now stop bothering me! [Ok, she didn't say that last part, but given her look, she might just as well had..]
- Breakfast. A sorry afair. None of the variety or range of goodies you would expect - and get - at a 5 star place. All served in a huge, dreary hall.

Anything good about the place? OK, the rooms are huge, almost suite-like. But they do not even come close to making up for all the downsides.

Final verdict: please stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hemant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

From seeing on the outside it reaaly looks cute and when you get inside the place looks nice but its one of the most dangerous buildings in Kampala. Built in a road reserve and anytime it can collapse. if you have a function inside the building behaves like a trampollin, the swimming pool shakes the whole build. you sleep in there at your own risk and peril. it has serious crack in the basment parking.

Room Tip: Do not sleep any where near or above the swiming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilliandrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Everything is spacious in this hotel, the rooms, the reception and "corridors". Too bad the potential is not used. The reception is big but this does not necessary make it nice.They need to look at det lack of decoration put some plants etc. It is very rear to see such spacious rooms, but style can not be called modern. Check inn and check out time consuming and a bit confusing. Recomend that you pay cash. Breakfast ok with some local specialities, in addition to the usual fare. Hotel is close to the city centre other hotels and restaurants.During my stay there were several seminars in the hotel with a lot of movement but still it seemed as if they switched off some of the lifts!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safari1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here for three nights for a business trip. There was nothing wrong with the hotel, it was functional, clean and perfectly well presented. There were hundreds of rooms with very few customers so it did have a fairly cave like feeling.

Service was poor, from check-in I did not receive a smile for my whole stay other than one friendly waiter. In the restaurant I had to push to get a menu, and even then had to call over someone every time I wanted anything. For the price (compared to the rest of Kampala) I would have expected more.

All that said it was perfectly pleasant but not worth the stars they have awarded themselves.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJPPAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Upon check in we had to pay for our full 7 night stay using our credit card. Plans changed and in checking with the hotel they stated that the extra 2 nights we were not planning on staying would be credited back to our credit card but that it would take a few days for the charges to show up. It has been a month and all I've see are 3 fraudulent charges but no credit. So, now I've had to cancel my card. Be aware....be verrrry aware....Many other good hotels to choose from. The locals also also told us they feel this one was built in too big of a hurry and think it will collapse!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Queenbee555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The good:
I've stayed here five times for work and been very pleased except this time. The rates have remained around $125 for a double room and $115 for a single for the last 3 years, which is really pricey for Uganda. However, the rooms live up to the price certainly. Lovely furnishing, very very spacious and a huge lovely bathroom. For a realtively luxury or business hotel in Kampala that is safe and clean, this is pretty much at the top of my list if it weren't for the customer service. The health spa is great with top of the line equipment and even a private room for yoga or stretching. The massages are priced at $20/hour and are usually really great.

The bad:
Oh man! The staff is OUTRAGEOUSLY inept. Even for Ugandan standards of customer service, they are beyond intolerable. The management seems to be very good and tries really hard but the staff is beyond slow and normally inaccurate. But let's just start with our last stay:
- every trip to the restaurant took over an hour to get the food with at least one order being completely wrong.
- getting extra towels took 3 phone calls over the span of an hour
- the front desk took over 30 minutes to check in 3 rooms
- the ironing board that was sent to our room had roaches crawling out of it and a disgustingly stained cover
- the massage appointments were scheduled at the same time as other guests
- the desk staff couldn't make any decisions without calling in a manager
- during our last visit in 2009, our credit card had fraudulent charges put on it after being used here

Overall, this hotel is great but until they get new staff or train them better, I don't foresee going back there at all with a group of people or even for business. I'm pretty much done. I'd rather pay for the Serena Hotel or downgrade to the Mosa just to avoid the hours of hassle this place caused.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romarosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampala
2.4 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#70 of 105 in Kampala
70 reviews
0 mi away
The Sanctum
The Sanctum
#33 of 105 in Kampala
9 reviews
3.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#30 of 105 in Kampala
212 reviews
16.8 mi away
Imperial Golf View Hotel
Imperial Golf View Hotel
#12 of 30 in Entebbe
59 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 105 in Kampala
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Royale Hotel

Address: Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $139 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Royale Hotel is a Conventional Centre because it has the Biggest Conference facility in Uganda. It's located in the central Business city of Kampala with easy and traffic free access to Government offices, Banks, Ngos, Diplomatic missions and shopping malls. The Hotel has 275 rooms, 22 Conference Halls with the Biggest hosting up to 2,000 guests under one roof. The Hotel also has guaranteed parking facility for 500 cars on 2 level underground parking. Imperial Royale HoteL was designated "The Media Hotel" during the Common Wealth Heads of Government meeting (CHOGM) in November 2007 in Kampala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Jovago.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Imperial Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing