We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting too expensive for what they have to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel Kampala
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Getting too expensive for what they have to offer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here plently of times, each time it gets worse! It seems the South Africans have left the Hotel to the Ugandans to Manage. Hence the service standards have dropped. The room price also keeps going upwards each month.

Internet is free but you need to wait for a few mins to load one page, poor hotel!! Rooms are clean and nice with good channels. But besides that the Hotel needs to be re-vamped. It seems they do not care for their vistors anymore as they are busy all the time, as Uganda does not have good hotels hence do not expect much.

Avoid eating at this Hotel for lunch or dinner if you can, its expensive and bad. A few mins outside the hotel by walking you can get a number of 5 star resturants. If you want a place to sleep and then go for work, its the right place but hanging around the lobby or resturant or bar, you can find better places in Uganda to do that.

Room Tip: Do not eat at this Hotel, go out as you will find cheaper and better places around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nairobi_KenyaAspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    110
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
7
14
15
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hotel is centrally located and away from the noise of some of the other hotels. Security was good. Staff is very pleasant and very attentive. The best asset of this hotel was definitely the professionalism and attentiveness of the staff in reception, at the door, housekeeping, and restaurant. The only reason i am giving this hotel a 3 and not a 4 is because of the lack of reliable internet in my hotel room and the view of a wall from my room.
I came to Kampala for a business trip that lasted 4 nights and 5 days, and needed internet in order to respond to work in the US whilst away. I was not able to get online consistently while there which is a huge drawback if the hotel is geared towards catering to business travel. i'd recommend they have someone add a booster or repeater to improve the strength of the wi-fi.
My hotel room overlooked a wall and window from the conference room so i had to keep my blinds closed all the time.
Other than the internet issues, the staff was pleasant, attentive and helpful. The rooms were clean and neat. Food in the hotel was adequate and staff was at the restaurant actually packed a sandwich for me when i was heading out back to the airport. Also I had a late night flight at 11:30pm and they were flexible about the late check out and charge half the room rate which was great.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amergalinpretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and nice (although some small rooms are a bit too small, I find), and close to a couple of very good restaurants. I find this hotel a good one for my business stays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MI1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is in a central location and so is great for doing business on Uganda trips. The free fast wifi works well all over the hotel. I found the breakfast buffet to be excellent and the rooms great and the staff nice.There is a good restaurant on site and it is close to many others. I will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanisharch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

when we were there in august also roberto di matteo, the couch of chelsea, stayed there, so everybody was very nervous and excited about that...but the hotel really was an oasis, compared to the rest of kampala...great rooms, great restaurant, a safe parking lot....of course that has it´s price, so it´s not cheap, but at least you get first class service and quality for that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wueibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having stayed in different priced hotels in 13 countries. Ranging from $60/night BnB's to $350+ resorts...

I've come to learn where one can go cheaper and where one can't. In Uganda you don't sacrifice.

protea Kampala is great value for money when it comes to Uganda. Otherhotels are over priced or lack cleanliness and amenities.

Protea claims to uphold a certain standard and this they do.

When I have an early departing flight I would shift to protea entebbe to avoid missing flights

ProKard is definitely the way forward

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moorzinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at Protea Hotel for one night in August 2013 and i really liked the hotel. I had dinner there and the food was great and you get a complimentary bottle of wine if you eat dinner!
The bed had a good support, internet is fast, they have an average equipped gym, and the breakfast was good with a lot to choose from.

For the cost, the hotel is worth it.

I definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.0 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#11 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Kampala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Kampala

Property: Protea Hotel Kampala
Address: Elgon Terrace, Kololo, Kampala 9421, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Kampala 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upmarket suburb of Kololo in Kampala, only 35 km from Entebbe Airport, the Protea Hotel Kampala offers guests 4-star luxury and 5-star service. No matter which room you stay in, they are all fully air conditioned with free high speed internet connectivity, high pressure showers, large LCD screen TVs with 16 channels including BBC and SKY News. Keep up to date with our business centre and 24-hour reception. After a busy day, de-stress with a workout in the 24-hour fitness centre and then call down for a midnight snack with our 24-hour room service a little later. We have the perfect accommodation choice in the heart of Uganda's capital. Indulge yourself at Chapter One Restaurant, which serves a high quality buffet breakfast and sumptuous a la carte lunch and dinner. Travel to and from the airport in style with our BMW X3 and 5 series, which can be charged to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing