We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A real great experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The rooms are large and nice decorated.
The garden is very nice as well as the bar and the restaurant.
Breakfast is nice.
Staffs are very friendly.
Reception is not a strong point, slow, not well organized, but the managed, but need time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jose677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    113
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
7
16
16
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our treatment at this hotel was highly unprofessional and unacceptable. The hotel offered a group a certain rate and then proceeded to change the price a number of times. Staff wasted a huge amount of time (a whole week) through a series of miscommunications, lies and intended avoidance in trying to resolve the problem. In addition they moved part of the group to another hotel at huge inconvenience (as we were attending a conference) with no compensation. Extracting an apology and coming to a solution was a long tedious and stressful process. The repeated response was to blame anyone else (including ourselves as customers) without taking responsibility. The problem here is poor management and a complete lack of communication.

Do not stay at this hotel, it is highly overpriced and not worth a single cent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is located right in the heart of Kampala city, next door to the golf course and a short walking distance to the shopping mall. the main down town shopping district is a short ("special") ride from the hotel. the hotel is what you would expect from any Protea hotel with the one great distinction being the size of the rooms, they are huge and have all the modern facilities a seasoned traveler would expect. Lacking is a swimming pool to refresh after baking on the hot and humid Ugandan sun. the hotel offers Wi Fi, a gym, a nice and quiet pub and a restaurant on the premises. the food and menu are great. the hotel staff is courteous although could do with a bit of sprucing up on certain world trends. unfortunately no travel desk was present so you had to plan your activities relying on friends and family and the trusty map. Great security, although very silly check points at the entrance and the guards could be a bit more courteous, almost as rude as the security staff at the airport. overall the hotel is great.

Room Tip: upper floors are better and you get a view of Kampala
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanchinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mityana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A quiet place in a residential area. It has its own unique appearence right from the outside to the inside. Well tended green and very good security. The place has nice food and even when you have looked and every where is closed the only place where you can find a scanner and ready help.
They have great tea, and coffe save for the waitresses and waiters not paying attentionn at times but otherwise its a nice place to cool off.

Room Tip: Rooms are all Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilliandrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Here is a Hotel which is always busy. Ready to help and to insure you have a comfortable stay.
Based in a very convenient area, easy to get anywhere in the City.
The breakfasts is one of the Best in the City and the Bar has a wide range of snacks and bar meals.

Room Tip: Dinners are a Must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorianZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Sidcup
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have just completed a three night stay at the Protea. The room was not as lovely as the last time I stayed there but clean and pleasant none the less. Generally a very nice decor in the public areas too, and spotlessly clean. The big draw for me is the amazing staff, SO friendly and helpful. Lovely Sylvia in the bar/restaurant looked after me each night. The food is fabulous and spoilt for choice at the amazing breakfast buffet! I will be returning there again on business and will absolutely stay there.
I didn't get to try their new gym, I brought my trainers but they stayed firmly in my case as I was too busy with work and then just wanted to chill in the evenings. Some reviewers complained about the noise of the birds. Yes both the birds and the frogs were noisy but a far better noise to listen to than traffic and it didn’t affect my sleep at all.
Also room service was so efficient. No complaints at all. Well done Protea!

Room Tip: a room with a balcony is best. I had one for my first visit and it was so spacious and had a huge b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I have been staying at the Protea hotel since Wednesday and it has been a very pleasant experience. The room ( I am on the third floor) is spacious, bright and nicely decorated. The gym is well equipped and modern. I have not eaten at the restaurant but breakfast is nice. Few dining options in walking distance like Mediterraneo and the Irish pub. The golf club is also about 15 minutes walking. The only complaint is that the balcony could be a bit more private, maybe you should add few plants!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allegria74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 103 in Kampala
649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#6 of 103 in Kampala
693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 103 in Kampala
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 103 in Kampala
205 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Address: Elgon Terrace, Kololo, Kampala 9421, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upmarket suburb of Kololo in Kampala, only 35 km from Entebbe Airport, the Protea Hotel Kampala offers guests 4-star luxury and 5-star service. No matter which room you stay in, they are all fully air conditioned with free high speed internet connectivity, high pressure showers, large LCD screen TVs with 16 channels including BBC and SKY News. Keep up to date with our business centre and 24-hour reception. After a busy day, de-stress with a workout in the 24-hour fitness centre and then call down for a midnight snack with our 24-hour room service a little later. We have the perfect accommodation choice in the heart of Uganda's capital. Indulge yourself at Chapter One Restaurant, which serves a high quality buffet breakfast and sumptuous a la carte lunch and dinner. Travel to and from the airport in style with our BMW X3 and 5 series, which can be charged to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing