We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside Kololo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Kampala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protea Hotel Kampala
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Kampala
Mityana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Inside Kololo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A quiet place in a residential area. It has its own unique appearence right from the outside to the inside. Well tended green and very good security. The place has nice food and even when you have looked and every where is closed the only place where you can find a scanner and ready help.
They have great tea, and coffe save for the waitresses and waiters not paying attentionn at times but otherwise its a nice place to cool off.

Room Tip: Rooms are all Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilliandrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    93
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
4
11
13
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Here is a Hotel which is always busy. Ready to help and to insure you have a comfortable stay.
Based in a very convenient area, easy to get anywhere in the City.
The breakfasts is one of the Best in the City and the Bar has a wide range of snacks and bar meals.

Room Tip: Dinners are a Must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorianZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Sidcup
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have just completed a three night stay at the Protea. The room was not as lovely as the last time I stayed there but clean and pleasant none the less. Generally a very nice decor in the public areas too, and spotlessly clean. The big draw for me is the amazing staff, SO friendly and helpful. Lovely Sylvia in the bar/restaurant looked after me each night. The food is fabulous and spoilt for choice at the amazing breakfast buffet! I will be returning there again on business and will absolutely stay there.
I didn't get to try their new gym, I brought my trainers but they stayed firmly in my case as I was too busy with work and then just wanted to chill in the evenings. Some reviewers complained about the noise of the birds. Yes both the birds and the frogs were noisy but a far better noise to listen to than traffic and it didn’t affect my sleep at all.
Also room service was so efficient. No complaints at all. Well done Protea!

Room Tip: a room with a balcony is best. I had one for my first visit and it was so spacious and had a huge b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I have been staying at the Protea hotel since Wednesday and it has been a very pleasant experience. The room ( I am on the third floor) is spacious, bright and nicely decorated. The gym is well equipped and modern. I have not eaten at the restaurant but breakfast is nice. Few dining options in walking distance like Mediterraneo and the Irish pub. The golf club is also about 15 minutes walking. The only complaint is that the balcony could be a bit more private, maybe you should add few plants!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allegria74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Careful with this hotel - they stole my credit card details. Either pay cash or pay with a credit card that has a chip. I hope they shut down this place soon. Service is nice and food/drinks are reasonable. But credit card fraud should not be part of any hotel's business model, especially not of international hotel chains!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thorstenleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I returned to this hotel after a positive experience previously, however I would only be there for 24hrs for a business function. I was given a complimentary ticket for a free bottle of wine which I thought was nice as being a return visitor however I was then told that maybe I have to buy dinner to get the free bottle. With visiting an African family who have a little boy with a brain disease, I asked can I take the wine with me for the family meal, I was told no from the restaurant manager. Common sense would tell you that a guest paying 2500 dollars for 24 hrs is worth keeping happy, I hope he now realises that the cheap free complimentary bottle as cost him 2500 dollars, because I will not return again. However the hotel is adequate and clean, when asked for a zero coke was told hotel sold none, 30 yards away in the bar is where they sell plenty, the waitress was to lazy to get a bottle. I felt very let down to be honest this time and not appreciated and to top it off the manager who refused the wine took one of my complimentary pens I hand out which I said yes he could.

Room Tip: I would say for a quite night ask to be located far from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saint0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
entebbe
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a very practical hotel. Everything works. The rooms are spacious and well laid out. The bathrooms are large with lovely toiletries and with good pressure hot water. There is business centre and wifi is free.
Breakfast is great. The evening buffet is good value. The staff are nice and friendly and always welcome guests warmly. There is no nonsense and it is always a pleasure to stay there in a predictable, calm, aircon-ed, no hassle room. It's location is very central and close to the main malls and some really good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EntebbeEastafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.6 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 88 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#5 of 88 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
#15 of 88 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 88 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 88 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#16 of 88 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Kampala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Kampala

Property: Protea Hotel Kampala
Address: 4 Upper Kololo Terrace | Kololo, Kampala 9421, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Kampala 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upmarket suburb of Kololo in Kampala, only 35km from Entebbe Airport, the Protea Hotel Kampala offers GUESTS 4-star luxury and 5-star service. No matter which room you stay in, they are all fully air conditioned with free high speed internet connectivity, high pressure showers, large LCD screen TVs with 16 channels including BBC and SKY News. Keep up to date with our Business Centre and 24-hour Reception. After a busy day, de-stress with a workout in the 24-hour Fitness Centre and then call down for a midnight snack with our 24-hour Room Service a little later. We have the perfect accommodation choice in the heart of Uganda's Capital. Indulge yourself at Chapter One Restaurant, which serves a high quality buffet breakfast and sumptuous a la carte lunch and dinner. Travel to and from the airport in style with our BMW X3 and 5 series, which can be charged to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing