We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Nearby Hotels
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
$261
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
$103
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$141
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$232
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
63
125
47
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
125
47
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripbusiness hotelthe hotel staffmodern hotelbreakfast and dinnerthe hotel offersrooms are cleanrooms are bigair conditioningchapterwifigymconferencekololomeetingmattressessecurity
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 265 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I have been staying at the Protea hotel since Wednesday and it has been a very pleasant experience. The room ( I am on the third floor) is spacious, bright and nicely decorated. The gym is well equipped and modern. I have not eaten at the restaurant but breakfast is nice. Few dining options in walking distance like Mediterraneo and the Irish pub. The golf club is also about 15 minutes walking. The only complaint is that the balcony could be a bit more private, maybe you should add few plants!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allegria74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Careful with this hotel - they stole my credit card details. Either pay cash or pay with a credit card that has a chip. I hope they shut down this place soon. Service is nice and food/drinks are reasonable. But credit card fraud should not be part of any hotel's business model, especially not of international hotel chains!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thorstenleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I returned to this hotel after a positive experience previously, however I would only be there for 24hrs for a business function. I was given a complimentary ticket for a free bottle of wine which I thought was nice as being a return visitor however I was then told that maybe I have to buy dinner to get the free bottle. With visiting an African family who have a little boy with a brain disease, I asked can I take the wine with me for the family meal, I was told no from the restaurant manager. Common sense would tell you that a guest paying 2500 dollars for 24 hrs is worth keeping happy, I hope he now realises that the cheap free complimentary bottle as cost him 2500 dollars, because I will not return again. However the hotel is adequate and clean, when asked for a zero coke was told hotel sold none, 30 yards away in the bar is where they sell plenty, the waitress was to lazy to get a bottle. I felt very let down to be honest this time and not appreciated and to top it off the manager who refused the wine took one of my complimentary pens I hand out which I said yes he could.

Room Tip: I would say for a quite night ask to be located far from the bar area.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aramis110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a very practical hotel. Everything works. The rooms are spacious and well laid out. The bathrooms are large with lovely toiletries and with good pressure hot water. There is business centre and wifi is free.
Breakfast is great. The evening buffet is good value. The staff are nice and friendly and always welcome guests warmly. There is no nonsense and it is always a pleasure to stay there in a predictable, calm, aircon-ed, no hassle room. It's location is very central and close to the main malls and some really good restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EntebbeEastafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you need serenity and a corporate environment, Protea hotel is the place to be. The hotel offers an in-house business centre that is open 24 hours a day with complimentary wireless internet. It have a a conference center that serves up to 300 people. It also has a gym for the exclusive use of only the hotel guests while its dining serves continental cuisines with 3 course meals. It is one of those 4 star hotels in Uganda that you should consider.

Room Tip: Since it has limited parking space, it is advisable not to take in a lot of vehicles because you may be stranded at the parking yard yet parking out side the hotel is at the owner's risk.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AASAFARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews