We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food for less”
Review of The Crocodile Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Crocodile Cafe & Bar
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
FO
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice food for less”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Two gin and tonics, one excellent white wine and 500 mL Nile beer ( I am not a beer drinker but I liked it) plus two excellent chicken dishes for ~ $30 U.S. Nice outdoor eating with pleasant servers. Good value!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geowmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    21
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Consistently Good, Both Service and Food”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Dropped by the long-time Kisimenti restaurant for lunch with an old friend during my recent visit to Kampala. It was staffed by only a couple of people, but the waiter really managed to provide good service. We had cappuccinos and lunch. I had a Chicken and Bacon on baguette that really hit the spot. It was good to see that it wasn't patronized solely by Mazungus. I first went here in 1998, and although there are certainly more competitors in Kampala these days, it's still a good choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tilda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Restaurant”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

One of the best restaurants in town. Great, friendly service & delicious food. I especially liked the mango juice. The atmosphere is inviting. Parking could be improved.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nyakairu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best steak I had in ages..”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great atmosphere, friendly staff and amazing steak... We were here to say goodbye to a friend and had a wonderful time. Outside it was raining but inside it was cosy and warm. The food was incredibly good, didn't have such a good steak in ages! A bit expensive but for one night it was definitely worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MvanArendonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon,Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's busy at Lunch time because of surrounding offices but nice to seat and have a meal in the evening.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

At least,They don't serve crocodile meat ant their fish simsim fillet is wonderful.my friend loves the chicken on skewers and their fresh passion fruit juice is a dream

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crocodile Cafe & Bar also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing