We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Business and Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Express Hotel
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have been staying in the hotel for the last four years during my business visits in Kampala. Rooms are big and the internet nowadays is excellent. The staff, the owner and his family are very nice and friendly. The hotel has been renovated and expanded for the last two years. The breakfast is nice but needs a bit creativity and change of the variety of foods which are available in Uganda. The only problem I have observed during my 5 days stay were noise from religious prayers which were conducted during the evening every day. Hotel conferences should not be used for prayers which disturb guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dudi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 37 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Me and my collegue stayed in hotel holiday express on 15 of March just for a night. The frot desk people helped us really well worth mentioning is Julious. There room service was excellent we are still thankful to Bright whom we have disturbed whole through the night. As we stayed only one night so it was enjoyable stay. We are thankful to the management as they allowed our friends to visit us whole through the night. I would certainly love to stay there again.
Thanks to Holiday express.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zubaer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank your positive review. We appreciate your patronage and would love to host you again on your next visit to Kampala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Located in the heart of Kampala, middle-price hotel. we had some problems. No water in the Bathroom, we had to go to another room to have the shower. Staff is kind. They were very kind of keeping for 1 day, our luggage 10 days after our stay, when we came back to Kampala to take the plane at night.

Room Tip: Ask for the new ones bedrooms, We had an old one :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carpediem_N0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank your positive review. We appreciate your patronage and would love to host you again on your next visit to Kampala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Holiday express hotel was the last place we stayed, for one night, before we left Uganda. It had pretty nice rooms (definitely nicer than any other hotel we stayed at in Uganda), good staff who were helpful and knowledgeable and friendly. The restaurant wasn't able to serve several items on their menu, but the food we did manage to order was good. And they include breakfast each day which was delicious and very extensive. They also have decent wifi, which we enjoyed a lot. The location is right in the heart of Kampala which is handy during the day, but can be very loud (and non-stop) at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sturner92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

It was great hosting you. We look forward to welcoming you again and please do recommend your family, friends or colleagues to us. We shall offer them your special rate and accord them our friendly and courteous service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Holiday Express Hotel and was very happy with my stay there. It was well located in Kampala and not too expensive. I had arranged airport pick-up with the hotel, and even after two flight cancellations/delays (and many last minute emails to the hotel) they still had a driver waiting for me when I finally arrived in Entebbe, two days late and at 1am. The trip from the airport to the hotel took about 45 minutes (no traffic at that time of night), and cost $35.
I opted for a single room with fan, rather than air con, and was happy with this – it wasn’t too hot and the fan was sufficient. The toilet in my room was not working when I arrived, so staff immediately moved me to a new room with no problems at all. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The reception desk is manned 24/7, as is the restaurant (I think). There’s free wifi available in the rooms (though it doesn’t always work in the higher levels) and breakfast is included in the price; available between 6-10am. Breakfast was basic but nice – cereal, fruit, toast, and boiled eggs.
My only complaint with the hotel was that you can still hear a lot of street noise (traffic, people yelling etc) even on the upper levels, and the curtains are light-coloured so the room gets light first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is right in the heart of Kampala. We had room for one night from street side, and windows didn't block sound that much. I sleep well in noice and room had air conditioner so only complain is that in big double bed there's only one blanket to fight for.

We left early next morning for post bus, and were supposed to have breakfest ready early, but information about that never reached the kitchen and had just couple fruits and instant coffee ready in time.

Hotel is safe and well located. Midrange prices so for one night in Kampala I would take this hotel again. I don't see reasons to spend any more time in Kampala as it's bit chaotic, but still very friendly like hole Uganda is.

Room Tip: Not from the street side if you can't take the noise. If you can take the noice, the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkkoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

2 ultra modern conference halls just unveiled! New spacious restaurant operational since 1st July '13! Rooftop open-air bar and coffee shop opening in October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable rooms (beds now with moquito nets), free wifi, friendly staff and a decent restaurant. Come prepared with ear plugs as the only reasonably quiet time is between 3am and 7am. A decent sleep can be had though if you're not a light sleeper. Also come with small change as the staff don't appreciate paying for cold drinks with large notes. Reception staff were very helpful in arranging day tours at short notice (night before). Come with reasonable expectations and you won't be too disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.9 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#21 of 105 in Kampala
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 105 in Kampala
343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#40 of 105 in Kampala
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
220 reviews
4.1 mi away
Nexus Resorts Hotel
Nexus Resorts Hotel
#35 of 105 in Kampala
48 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#32 of 105 in Kampala
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Express Hotel

Address: Plot 16/18/20, Luwum Street, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $61 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing