We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belle-vue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belle-vue
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Lome
Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel rooms are plain and nothing special at all. But that is the most negative thing I have to say.
If you chosse this hotel, you are in for a treat, both on service level and food quality level (in the hotel (did not visit the pizza restaurant)).
Friendly staff is one of my preference when staying at a hotel and here I got what I came for.

The wifi work great and they take credit card.
This one comes recommended from my side.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
7
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Although the hotel is good and I happened to visit two other rooms apart from mine, I must admit my room was not the best available ( Will comment in room tips). The restaurant is a great place to relax and has a very charming outdoor seating arrangement with two chirpy parrots who keep you company.

The prices are decent ( about 35,000 FCFA/night) and they have another pizzeria nearby that serves some really great pizzas. Being right behind the German embassy really helps in explaining the location to Moto/taxi drivers.

The hotel have their own taxi as well, with a polite driver (Christian) who speaks very good English and also gives you invaluable tips about the city.

The breakfast is typical continental and being South Asian, insufficient for me...;-)

The hotel is a 5-7min walk from the beach ( not the best beach though) as well as close to the border.

I would recommend this place since you can pay by card as well which could be a blessing if you are in transit or do not have enough time to change money.

Room Tip: Always insist on the room in the main building and not the one at the back with the Garden. After co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhereIsPrateekToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Decent rooms, very quiet and convenient location. Service was good, wifi was working well. The water feature and parrots in the courtyard are nice features.

Restaurant absolutely superb - every item I had over the course of a few days was absolutely delicious. Salads, beef, desserts, everything was top notch.

Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IAS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Although a bit pricey, I'd definitely go back here. The staff is very good, food is excellent, free WiFi that works and it is close to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterevjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is only two blocks from the main beach road, but since it is located just behind the German Embassy, you can't hear the street noise. The rooms are small, but bright and comfortable in the main building with A/C, there are more in the annex a block away. But the best part of the hotel is the outdoor eating area under a huge mango tree, with trellises next to a small pool and two huge cages for very talkative parrots adjacent the bar with a thacted roof. The French food and service is great and the French owner also has another restaurant called Belle Epoque two blocks away which serves great pizzas. The rooms are reasonably priced by West African standards, and they do take MasterCard (for a 3% fee), which is a luxury in Togo!

Room Tip: All rooms have south and north exposures. There is Wi-Fi available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is a few hundred metres from the Ghana border, and a block away from the huge Lome beach. Despite being close to a couple of main roads, the neighbourhood is extremely quiet. So, when you are relaxing in the delightful garden - small, shaded area, with small pool - you hear nothing but the crazy parrot. The food is really good. Delicious. And a number of other restaurants a minute's walk away. We loved the pizzas just around the corner, with a lovely evening sea breeze to keep us cool.
Why not 5 stars? The air conditioning was not working well in the 3 rooms our group used. Better than nothing, just, but not enough to really make it cool. The small garden area is lovely, and quiet, but gets little breeze so is warm.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd floor) has views, and is at the top of the amazing big tree. But check that the A/C i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crods01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Our room was at the back of the hotel, on the ground floor. I wanted to swap as I thought it would be damp and mosquito infested but actually it was fine. The owners were quick to help when the air con was not working to start with and then the water went off a few times. This was rectified by the lovely staff and owner promptly. The room was nicely decorated, well furnished and had plenty of space for two.

The outside area is very cute - a covered bar area, with mood lighting and comfy sofas and arm chairs, then a terrace for eating. The menu (especially when you are coming from Ghana) is fantastic. The set menu is good value, breakfast is not included in the price of the hotel but you can get fresh baguette, REAL butter, proper jam, delicious croissants... heaven! Oh and the coffee is amazing.. again especially compared to the nescafe of Accra!

Bad food poisoning (who knows where from) meant we had to get a doctor then go to hospital. The hotel were helpful, organised the doctor, then transport, phoned the hospital to say we were coming etc. Then didn't bat an eye lid when we just stayed on an extra night. The staff were wonderful and all very concerned for my partner's health.

All in all, it was an oasis of French loveliness!

Room Tip: Specify if you want to be upstairs as at the back of the hotel on the ground floor are around 4 or 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GingerTravelsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lome hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel 2 Fevrier, Lome
2.6 mi away
Hotel Onomo Lome
Hotel Onomo Lome
#6 of 36 in Lome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Robinson Plage
Hotel Robinson Plage
#3 of 36 in Lome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Cote Sud
1.1 mi away
Residence Hoteliere Oceane
3.6 mi away
Hotel Napoleon Lagune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle-vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle-vue

Property: Hotel Belle-vue
Address: Quartier Kodjoviakope | Rue Gnagbade, Lome 2718, Togo
Location: Togo > Maritime Region > Lome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Lome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belle-Vue Hotel ! Belle-Vue Hotel offers 43 comfortable quality rooms, with a particular attention for decoration. The Bar under the straw hut proposes varied drinks that you will savour just in front of our swimming pool while you enjoy relaxing. Finest gourmets, the restaurant La Belle Epoque opens its doors in a refined mood. Our cookers prepare every day gastronomic French cooking with a lot of creativity and originality. NEW ! We propose 13 new rooms around a large swimming pool, reserved to our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belle-vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing