We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Bit Jaded”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palm Beach
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Lome
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Little Bit Jaded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

We had reservations at a dump before this place so it made it feel like Hotel Palm Beach was a dream. Rooms were soooo outdated, it was a joke. Rooms were clean and the bathrooms seemed renovated, especially compared to the rooms. The A/C was stellar. After a hot and sweaty walk (and getting lost) to our original destination and forfeiting that place for Hotel Palm Beach we were just thrilled to be there. There was a pool that was nice. The pool bar was silly with about 22 bottles spread out between 3 large shelves. Might as well have stayed empty. Rooms were had dirty carpet, run down mini fridge's, terrible TV selection and a curtained blue velour type bedspread (that I immediately ripped off the bed) with matching curtains. Ewww. Staff was fantastic and there were many business type services. No free WifFi and we had to make a 4 minute (I timed it) call to Benin to make another hotel reservation and they charged us $25 U.S. dollars!!! Stupid mistake for that. Just ridiculous. Deal hard when getting a cab from the hotel because the drivers think you're loaded because you're staying at this hotel. Long review short...out dated, good service, terrible rates on currency exchange, other offerings for a business person but I would recommend just because it's Lome and there aren't many options.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
4
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, U.a.e
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

Lome only seems to have tired old hotels, and this is one of them. 20 years ago when it opened it was probably spectacular. I don't think it has been renovated since! Big rooms, big bathrooms, nice views, but........... everything is tired worn out and dirty. We paid CFA 75,000 (ouch) for a room with a pretty slow wired Internet connection. We stayed there because the Ibis was full, where we went the next day. Not up to typical Ibis standards either. Forget Lome- keep going to Cotonou- the Ibis and Novotel are great there!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcindxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lome hotels

London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

I was meant to stay there for 3 nights, but I packed my suitcase the following day. The room haven't been update for maybe 50 years, the carpet had huge stains on it...the overall experience left me with a big disappointment. It's a pity because the location is ideal, the sea views are wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wadalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulan-Ude, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

What can I say about this hotel?
1/ Dusky maidens wandering the premises knock on your doors at all hours and call your room when you're trying to sleep. If you tell them to go away, you are merely confirming your presence and giving them hope. I nearly had to pack up to the Sarakawa I was so harassed.
2/ Those wanting to walk barefooted in the beautiful golden sand beach in front of the magnificant azure sea should know that it is used as a public toilet.
3/ The hotel restaurant does great grilled fish and has a decent stock of white wine.
4/ No newspapers, postcards, or stamps available. You better have a PC and lots of work if you need to keep yourself entertained.
5/ 6 months after my stay, AMEX cancelled my card. Someone in the hotel got my credit card number and ran up USD 40,000 of expenses on my card. So you better come armed with cash.
6/ Phone calls to Europe cost in the hundreds of dollars so keep it brief!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — scamming my AMEX card for USD 40,000
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank planetaryconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lome hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golfe
Hotel du Golfe
#11 of 36 in Lome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Lome Centre
Ibis Lome Centre
#30 of 36 in Lome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel 2 Fevrier, Lome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belle-vue
Hotel Belle-vue
#2 of 36 in Lome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ahome
Ahome
#10 of 36 in Lome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Onomo Lome
Hotel Onomo Lome
#6 of 36 in Lome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Beach

Property: Hotel Palm Beach
Address: 1 Blvd de la Republique, Lome BP 2252, Togo
Location: Togo > Maritime Region > Lome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Lome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palm Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palm Beach is located in the city center, facing the Atlantic Ocean. All our rooms have a sea view and free wifi access. We are 15 min from the airport and within walking distance from the Grand Marche (main market). The hotel has 65 entirely refurbished rooms, a gym (technogym equipment), and an outdoor swimming pool on the second floor overlooking the ocean. Our gym, pool, and shuttle service, are free of charge for all in-house guests. Room Service 24/24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing