We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely service & hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bulembu Country Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bulembu Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely service & hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just back from Bulembu. The Lodge is excellent - former mine manager's home in old, colonial style. The lovely staff can't do enough for you and all profits support their orphan programme. Lovely local products, mountain views outstanding and a fascinating story to boot. Check out the website www.bulembu.org for details. We spent the evenings in front of the log fire in the lounge.

Room Tip: Loved the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
14
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We found Bulembu in 2012 whilst exploring a different route home from Swaziland to Johannesburg and were fascinated by this place. Two weeks ago, we took the same route with friends from Australia and stopped to walk through the museum. Really interesting. This little town has come to life since being abandoned when the asbestos mine closed and is now an inspiration. Although we did not stay over, we did buy honey - there are 600 bee hives which form part of this self sustaining project - and the ladies doing embroidery were wonderful - as was their handiwork. The route from Piggs Peak through to Barberton goes through Bulembu, nestled in the mountains - but be aware that the border closes at 4pm. It is a sand road from Piggs Peak to the border but it is a good road - just watch for forest workers and machinery. This time, leaving Bulembu, instead of going into Barberton, we took the sand road from just past the border through to Badplaas. This was also fascinating. A scenic route of truly great beauty - a good sand road - we came across another little town abandoned when the mining came to a halt - and I think it is just waiting to be turned into another village home for orphans on the SA side of the border. Ghost towns are so interesting - the abandoned homes - all in good condition - the hotel and recreation centre, post office and hospital all In an area of great beauty. Did not manage to find the name of this place though! And it's all looked after by security people.
I think Bulembu is an interesting destination and a beautiful route to take and is well worth a stay over - or to give time as a volunteer! I could not rate all categories for the guest house as we did not experience their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Bulembu is an interesting story - abandoned when the asbestos mine closed, the town was reestablished as a project to house Swaziland orphans. 350 are currently there. The lodge was the mine manager's quarters.A beautiful spot, excellent food, an interesting area to walk around and friendly personnel. A bit off the beaten track but well worth the visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEEZER_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Bulembu is a special place with special people. The staff and service at the lodge went over and beyond my expectations. The food was excellent night after night. The mission of Bulembu is worth the trip. It's truly an awe inspiring place and vision.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesiwearshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
282 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

What a wonderful place, You don’t expect much when you volunteer to help those less fortunate, but here, you are truly looked after. This is a project that everyone should see. A whole town dedicated to providing employment in a country with rampant unemployment to generate sufficient income to support an orphanage like you have never seen, again in a country with a seemingly growing orphan population. Income is generated through their own enterprises which are detailed on their web site.

Meals are fully provided for and are quite good, remembering where you are, in an isolated self sufficient town.

If you can and are interested, take your own wine, the onsite selection is poor and there is certainly no wine shops in the town.

Service is great and you can’t help but feel that all the staff just care about you, appreciate you and delight in servicing you. Everything is looked after for you including appropriate transfers.

I would challenge anyone to stay here and not come away inspired, relaxed, refreshed and somewhat guilty!

Room Tip: Accommodation is mixed but we enjoyed private rooms. Pay the extra for these; separate accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

Bulembu Country Lodge is a great mid-range property in the mountains of Swaziland. The staff are very service oriented, catering to your every need. The food is tasty. The lodge is a colonial house built in the 30's for the GM of the near by Mine. It needs some small renovations but offers a clean and restful sleep. Stay here, you will love it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

Bulembu Country Lodge is located in the small, half abandoned mining town of Bulembu in Swaziland. The most ideal point of entry is from the South African side, as the road to Bulembu is tarred there. Comming from Piggs Peak you may encounter trouble if it has been too much rain.

Once youre done with the horrible road getting there you've arrived at the most friendly place in Swaziland. The staff is incredibly charming and nice, most of them speak very well english, and are eager to tell you more about both Bulembu and Swaziland. We had our very own history lession from the girl in the reception.

The Lodge itself is not suited for someone who wants it all about luxery, the rooms are tidy and nice, with own bathroom, but the entire building shows sign of old age. There is a TV-room with satelite TV and several channels, a pool table and a small unheated swimmingpool. Most likely you will have all this to yourself, as not that many visitors find their way to Bulembu.

The food at the Lodge resturant is simple, but incredible. We were very suprised at just how good it was.

Staying at Bulembu was one of our top two memoriable moments during our trip through South Africa, Swaziland and Lesotho. Can very highly reccomend staying here for everyone that can live with not having the 5 star luxery in your room.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
26.8 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
26.3 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hawane Resort
Hawane Resort
#9 of 10 in Mbabane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Maguga Lodge
Maguga Lodge
#2 of 2 in Piggs Peak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
22.7 mi away
Silverstone Falls Lodge
Silverstone Falls Lodge
#2 of 14 in Mbabane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
22.6 mi away
Ematjeni Guesthouse
Ematjeni Guesthouse
#1 of 14 in Mbabane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulembu Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulembu Country Lodge

Property: Bulembu Country Lodge
Address: PO Box 21 | Pigs Peak, Mbabane H100, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the malaria free, northern Hhohho region, Bulembu Country Lodge stands at the foot of Mount Emlembe, Swaziland's highest mountain. The town of Bulembu is surrounded by the natural beauty of lush green hills and eucalyptus forests. Bulembu Country Lodge presents a charming blend of history and nature, beauty and comfort. Whether you are just passing through or plan on staying a while, you will savor the solitude as you relax and enjoy our scenic beauty, or be changed forever by being part of restoring and bring hope to this town. Bulembu will provide a rich cultural experience and is within reach of all the major South African attractions, like the Kruger National Park. Being a guest here you will be treated as royalty at the Bulembu Country Lodge, offering comfortable and luxurious accommodation to suite your requirements. You have a choice between lodge accommodation, self-catering homes or hostel accommodation; all with well-appointed en- suites or shared washroom facilities. We also provide healthy, balanced and traditional meals at our set-menu restaurant and some of the best Pizza around. You can just relax in the tranquil surroundings or go for a hike up Emlembe, the highest point in Swaziland. The Bulembu Museum also offers a unique look into the past and the crafts created by the ladies in town are true works of art. Whether you come here to have a adventure or to just get rid of the stresses life gives you, Bulembu lodge is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bulembu Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bulembu Country Lodge Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing