We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy room, friendly staff”
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy room, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay. It was probably the most pleasurable experience we had in about 3 weeks in South Africa and Swaziland - mostly I think because the reception desk gave us a nice discount to get us to stay the night, and they were truly friendly. The room was very clean, large, with a comfy bed. The dinner and buffet breakfast were fine, nothing remarkable but they suited our needs. The view from Room #1 was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Wonderful!. We are pleased your enjoyed our services. Thank you. Your reviews are important to us.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    147
    67
    16
    3
See reviews for
59
108
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed for one night at this hotel.
The best part of this hotel is the view. Just amazing to have this great view above the city. Beside this view the hotel was just average. The room, including bathroom, and the rest of the hotel was clean but it needs some renovation.
The restaurant (dinner and breakfast) was good, again just average nothing special.

For a one night stop it is good, but not for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated. Our views are spectacular and we get to enjoy them everday. We are in the prosees of upgrading all bathrooms and bedrooms and are confident that these will renew our look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Mountain Inn, whilst being rather 'tired' has much charm. It is rather run down, and the food is mediocre, yet it has 'something' which appealed to us. Reminiscent of some other older African Hotels (ie the White Horse Inn at Kabale, the Aberdare Country Club in Kenya, or Outspan) it has seen better days. Nevertheless, it has charming and caring staff, and the rooms are comfortable. We enjoyed spendid views down towards Manzini, and our room was perfectly adequate, with a sofa, Marula products, tissues etc., Sadly the TV was very limited, and the shower badly in need of replacement. The emphasis at supper was on quantity rather than quality, however it was so reasonably priced we felt we could say nothing. A filet mignon was approximately £8! There is a nice swimming pool, and the hotel is conveniently situated for touring this attractive and friendly country. We would certainly be happy to recommend it to anyone who is visiting this country and who is on a budget. If you like Hilton type hotels go elsewhere, but if you like character, friendly staff and lovely views, this is an ideal spot. We enjoyed out experience here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reports

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our charm, hospitality and service. We are continually upgrading and renovating. As you indicated your bathroom was in need of an renovation, and at present we are upgrading bathrooms with showers. We have done 50% of our rooms, however unfortunatly this does take time. We have improved our TV network and now have 16 channels with more renewal projects in the pipeline.
We do thank you for your critic and personal response. We ceratinly will continue to improve our product.

Assuirng you of our best attention.

Patrick Ward


Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Swazi people are lovely, the staff at this hotel were no exception we stayed here for 2 nights one of them being new years eve, the rooms are clean and comfortable with great views, they had a party on NYE and a disco the buffet food was amazing, the only down side was the up hill hike to the restaruant and main part of the hotel, if you have any walking difficulties ask for a high up room a porter will take your bags for you, the pool looked great, and was enjoyed by a group of French people on a company trip at midnight NYE.
throughly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonyaclairelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What an amazing stay. A soft bed and an incredible view. The room that we stayed in was clean and well cared for and I was very pleased with the how quiet the room was despite there being many guest that night. It was nice not having to hear people outside the room. In one of the hallways are some wooden giraffes that add to the décor. The lobby is also outfitted with nice local flare. If your a business traveler know there is a computer room with a few computers to check e-mail and even a printer if need be. The dinner we had was perfect, you can't go wrong with any of the choices. The entire staff was very friendly from start to finish. One of the key parts of staying here is soaking up the mountain views and enjoying the pool. When dining make sure to get a table close to the window.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianA778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having stayed 3 nights, I really have no constructive feedback. Superbly placed with breathtaking views. Quiet except for the bird life!!! Friendly staff who ensured you had great friendly service. Both A'la Carte dining and the buffet meals were EQUALLY as good. Internet access in all rooms was a pleasure and room service was efficient from laundry to delivery of meals. Absolutely loved it there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraKaribu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my two night stay at the Mountain Inn. The inn is high on a hill with beautiful views, lovely pool and spacious grounds. The room was simple, but clean and very comfortable beds. Bathroom comfortable and adequate. First night buffet was awesome with a great choice of delicious desserts. Breakfast also very good, and views from the breakfast room were gorgeous. Second night ordering from the menu was a big dissapointment. We ordered fish, and we disliked it so much we couldn't eat it. Management apologized, did not charge for our meal and offered us another choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our sincere apologies regarding your poor dining experience on your second night. We do endeavour to ensure a quality dining experience. Your voice has enabled us to correct our lapse in quality procurements. Thanking you and assuring you of our best attention, The Ward Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
7.2 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
695 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
270 reviews
15.3 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
471 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
273 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Property: Mountain Inn
Address: Msebe Road | Po Box 223, Mbabane H100, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family yet professionally run hotel. The views are stunning and the hospitality great ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Mbabane
Mountain Inn Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing