We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here if you enjoy not enjoying yourself”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mbabane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages
Ranked #4 of 14 Mbabane B&B and Inns
Mbabane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay here if you enjoy not enjoying yourself”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed in many places around Swaziland, but this was by far the worst. They overbooked us despite booking months in advance, then stopped returning calls and eventually forced some members of our party to find other accomodation. The service was surly and the facilities were dirty. At one point, the stove wouldn't light, so we politely asked the staff member to help us light it. She tried, then said it was broken. We stated that we would try to microwave our baked goods. Just as I was literally reaching for the microwave, she swooped in and microwaved her own dinner for the next 5 minutes. Locals/non-guests blasted music all night and as early as 4:30 in the morning with no objection from the staff. Tea and coffee are apparently NOT complimentary. The dorm room was really just a bedroom where they'd crammed an extra 2 bunk beds. If you don't know the others staying in the room, it would make for an uncomfortable night. The common area was always full of non-guests, such that guests had to spend all time in their rooms. Ceilings and bathrooms were moldy, heater in the room didn't work, and the decor is sparse and like something out of the Hostel horror movie series. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet, clean atmosphere with friendly staff, stay anywhere else in Swaziland! Swaziland is small enough and public transport is good enough that any advantage this place might have due to location is nullified by the extreme crappiness of everything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swaziblazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vekisvillage, Owner at Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 5 days ago
The above review is not for Veki's Village. The number of people which made booking doubled. We offered them one cottage, which was booked at Veki's Village for 4 people and for the other people Veki's Guesthouse, budget accommodation. They did not want to split. They made decision to stay at Vekis Guesthouse, budget accommodation. They had complimentary breakfast and tea and coffee. The rooms were clean and ladies working at the Guesthouse were helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
3
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

am one of the 5 ladies stayed @ veki during bush fire festival, I was admitted hospital after returning back south Africa, poor services, she treats people bad, I will never ever book that so called self catering, whatever she calls it, we had to sleep on mattress, smelly blankets, not to mention toilets, breakfast was horrible, she came in the morning n did not even bother to apologies or greet us, the poor cleaning lady tried her best to make us comfortable, we called her n she sounded drunk

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ditebogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vekisvillage, Owner at Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 5 days ago
The same group of people wrote 3 bed reviews. They made decision to stay at Veki's Guesthouse, budget accommodation enstead at Veki's Village. More people came from the original booking. We suggested them to stay at Veki's Guesthouse, budget accommodation and at Veki's Village, up market self-catering cottages, but they refused to split. The ladies employed at Veki's Guesthouse organised accommodation for all of them at Veki's Guesthouse. The employees tried their best to accommodate them. They have been served complimentary breakfast and tea and coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stayed at Veki's for almost 4 weeks I can vouch for the other reviews. Veki and Dave are very friendly hosts and the lodges are comfortable and well equipped. In terms of my stay in Swaziland I could not have wished for a better place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaafConsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We travelled to swaziland for the bush fire festival, booked at veki's guest house, the picture on the internet showed nice rooms. I enquired with Veki if there is private bathrooms for the rooms of which she confirmed that some rooms do have. i booked for 5 ladies. when we got there , there was double bookings, she booked people into our rooms, and she made the five of sleep in one room. she organised a matress as the beds where not enough. the blankets were smelly, some of us slept on the mattres on the cold floor. she did not even have the curtesy to come apologise in the mornig for all the mishaps. it was the worst holiday of my life. the bathrooms are communal. it is actually a backpaskers place, but it is not advertised as such. I will advise anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay in swaziland not to stay at this place. the reviews here were very misleading had i known i would have booked in a better place. after the weekend I got very sick, the bathrooms were a mess and untidy, who knows what i picked up there

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mokgadi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vekisvillage, Owner at Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 5 days ago
The above comments are not for Veki's Village.
The ladies stayed at Veki's Guesthouse, budget accommodation.
There was a cottage reserved for them at Veki's Village, but they came more then booked. They were offered to stay at Veki's Village and at Veki's Guesthouse. They did not want to split. The ladies working at the Guesthouse tried they are best to accommodate them all at Veki's Guesthouse , they served them complimentary breakfast, tea and coffee. The owner does not drink at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Veki's as a jumping off point for Mlilwane and Malolotja, and it was a great central location. Loved the cottage, the bathroom was especially nice. Veki was a gracious and helpful hostess. The pool was a highlight - beautifully landscaped and overlooking the valley below. Great value and a really enjoyable place to stay. So happy we found it!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Beautiful place, hidden in the mountains of Mbabane Swaziland. Extremely peaceful , i got to recharge my batteries, the kids and wife loved it. Very hospitable hosts, where very informative and helpful, they made us feel at home. Real value for money. We are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, safe, friendly atmosphere, then this is really the best place to stay in the capital of Swaziland.
The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and the location is a 20 minute walk from Mbabane but only a few minutes by car.
The cottages had everything I needed to feel at home.
And I had such a great sleep because the mattress was superb :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sirstan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
2.9 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
13.6 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ematjeni Guesthouse
Ematjeni Guesthouse
#1 of 14 in Mbabane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Place
The Place
#5 of 14 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages

Property: Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages
Address: Mountain Drive | Plot 881, Fonteyn, Mbabane H100, Swaziland (Formerly Veki's Village)
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 4km from Mbabane center, Veki's Village consists of 11 one bedroom and studio self-catering cottages. Each cottage has a lounge, kitchen bedroom and en-suite bathroom. Services include, cleaning,laundry, security,swimming pool, free WiFi and DSTV. We are here to provide you with all your accommodation needs, for both short and long term guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we will ensure you have an enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Veki's Village - Self-Catering Cottages Swaziland/Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing