We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Salam Rotana Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khartoum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Salam Rotana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Khartoum
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Nice Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

last week and on the first day of Eid, my husband and I decided to take a little break without leaving Khartoum so we booked one night in Rotana a King Classic Room on the fourth floor with a pool view. The experience was great, checking in was fast and easy and Mouhannad Rabie at the reservation desk was very helpful and friendly. After we were showed around, we settled at our room and ordered some Room Service, the food was great at 3:00 am, it was warm and fresh I believe it was chicken wraps and chicken and shrimp kababs (yeah we did not have much to eat the previous day or night so we had an apetite for all this). The room was spacious and the bathroom was amazing..Price was, I think it is worth every Sudanese Pound, it was around SDG 555 plus taxes and what not it comes to SDG 728.56/night this price includes a special offer for massage and souna.
In the morning, we had our nice breakfast at Rotana Club which is located on the same floor (4th), it has couple of computers with internet service, few flat screens and again the service was fast, we got our hot tea and coffee immediately and some fresh OJ.

As for the location of the hotel, it is in a nice area it seems far from down town Khartoum but who needs that, you are close to the nice area of Khartoum (Riyadh-Tayef- Amarat) and the main roads, and of course very very very close to the airport (which is in the middle of Khartoum any ways); transportation is easy and you can even get a tuk tuk from Afraa Mall which is right next door. the area is lively, there is Al Saha Al Khadra close by where you can get some exercise in the evenings!
We will return for a second treat sometime soon ;) we just loved it. We are already fans of Rotana's Restaurants and now that we have stayed there, we love Rotana Hotel all in all.

Room Tip: King Classic Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoSh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhassanDalalASRK, General Manager at Al Salam Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Ms. MoSH10,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent Eid Holiday stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest.

I have passed your compliments to our entire team who were happy at your gesture and thank you for your generous comments concerning our products and services.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back at Al Salam Rotana Khartoum and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Kind regards,

Ghassan Dalal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    125
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
20
18
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
khartoum
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I planned a surprise for my husband on valentine's day, and till today am glad i made alsalm rotana my choice for this special occasion, the staff helped me plan the whole amazing experience, starting from the suite till the romantic candel dinner,the food and atmosphere was spectacular and not to be soon forgotten. I had a wonderful time and won't hesitate to do it all over again if I could, thanks you again for all the wonderful service and making my valentine worth remembering..xxxoo

Room Tip: the rooms with the view of the pool is very serene and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pippa_sossagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhassanDalalASRK, General Manager at Al Salam Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Ms. Apiomadut,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments concerning your previous Valentine’s Day experience with us.

Indeed it was a great pleasure to have you and your husband as our guest and thank you for your generous comments and hope to see you again in 2013 Valentine’s Day.

Thank you,

Ghassan Dalal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spend a wonderful time, I was there for business, but if I was there for fun, I would not get more, the pleasure that I had from the staff, delicious food that I test, friendly staff that I dealt with, services that I got during my event showed me how professional place I was in.

Room Tip: all the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am not good in this, but all i can say, nice food excellent service, friendly dtaff and management. very near to everywhere, Airport, downtoun and key city streets, also never forget very clean rooms and hotel profissional staff.

Room Tip: any where in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salwa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhassanDalalASRK, General Manager at Al Salam Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Ms.Salwa A,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments on Tripadvisor it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the facilities of the hotel.

Best regards,

Ghassan Dalal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at the "egg hotel" (Corinthia, formerly Burj Al-Fateh) for 1 week in February, but they had no pool, so switched to this one for my September visit. Not disappointed.
Good quality hotel in nice surroundings. Rooms are good, service also and the gym has all you need. Outdoor pool is a must when it's as hot as it is in Sudan.
When here next time, I will choose this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B0ll0x2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhassanDalalASRK, General Manager at Al Salam Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Mr. B00llx2U,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Your detailed and very informative feedback of the hotel and its services is very helpful for the Al Salam Rotana family. Through your comments we understand more the expectations of our valued guests to further improve our facilities and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again Mr.B0ll0x2U and best regards.

Sincerely yours,

Ghassan Dalal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

All i can say it was a wonderful stay, from day 1, check in, escorting then the room it self, ordring room service and dinning in the main restuarant, all was just perfect, TIP TOP, food was very delisiouse, deferent varaties with the breakfast buffet, deferent buffet every night in the dinner, very friendly staff, you can always find a manager to speak to every wher you go inside the hotel to make sure the good service, excelent friendly reception during the check out, concierge staff as well. keep up the good job guys :)

Room Tip: Club Rotana Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhassanDalalASRK, General Manager at Al Salam Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Mr. Peter M,

Thank you very much for sharing your very positive comments about your recent experience at the Al Salam Rotana Khartoum.

Mr. Peter M it is indeed delightful to hear that you have been very pleased with the facilities and services of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your continued patronage and wishing you more ‘treasured times’ spent with us.

Kind regards,

Ghassan Dalal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Al Khartum, Sudan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

i didnt amagen that ther is a hotel like this in sudan , nice staff they trained well and very frindly with the guests ,also the food wooow especially the see food ,and the gym, they have amazing pool i realy ganna say the only 5 star hotel in sudan
good jop and well done

Room Tip: club rotana lounge and room near to the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhassanDalalASRK, General Manager at Al Salam Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Ms. Daniela M,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments on Tripadvisor it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Best regards,

Ghassan Dalal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Salam Rotana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Salam Rotana Hotel

Property: Al Salam Rotana Hotel
Address: Africa Road, Khartoum, Sudan
Location: Sudan > Khartoum State > Khartoum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Khartoum
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Salam Rotana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Also Known As:
Al Salam Rotana Khartoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing