We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Khartoum!”
Review of Bougainvilla

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khartoum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bougainvilla
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Khartoum
Khartoum, Sudan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place in Khartoum!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I am a cycle tourer and found this guesthouse after rejecting multiple expensive hotels. I was also stuck with lots of problems with regards to money, Sudanese registration and visa for my next country. I can not put into words how AMAZING the manager and his staff were in helping me out and making me feel at home. The room was superb, very clean indeed, breakfast inc with free wifi, TV, fridge and towels etc. The toilet was spotless and the food cooked in the rooftop restaurant was lovely. On top of everything, the staff go out I their way to help you with everything. Hotel quality at hostel prices. I stayed here 5 nights and could've stayed a month!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjharding27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
4
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a hotel in a fairly large suburban villa. Very friendly, helpful staff, and excellent wi-fi. Adequate breakfast and rather monotonous dinner are served on the roof, which is very pleasant as long as you avoid the racket of the call to prayer from the several nearby mosques. I stayed for two weeks but had to sample three rooms during the first three nights. The first room had a very noisy AC that seemed to have no settings between off and freezing, and the room at night was bright enough to read from the street lights shining through the thin curtains. The second room, on the ground floor, was dark and claustrophobic. But the third room (no.1 on the first floor) was really very acceptable; good AC, dark at night, and with windows on two sides of the building so that you could get a through draught when not using the AC. There was also a generous-sized bath with plenty of hot water (albeit it came through rather slowly) - something that the other two rooms didn't have. Would I go back there? Yes, on condition that I got room no.1. It's friendly, cheap and clean.

Room Tip: Choose room no. 1 on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lissacaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Bougainvilla Guesthouse is a hit or miss, but mostly a miss. The rooms are so tiny it's hard to turn around in them without hitting something. The staff keeps the place clean and the staff aims to please, but the location is close to nothing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soller, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have been at Bougain Villa 2 nights and I have had fantastic experience, I only went for 3 day tourism, they arranged everything and supported my visa. I had a problem about the registration in Sudan, compulsory for everyone going to the country and they helped me a lot even when it was not their duty. Their attitude is awesome, totally recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is an island of relatively good (and free) wifi everywhere, cleanlinesses and friendly English speaking staff.
The rooms needs some improvements, but overall are clean and well maintained.
The bathroom is bellow average and there is not enough water pressure.
it is near the Khartoum airport, but I didn't hear any serious noise in the room.
I wouldn't describe it as great value for money, but it looks this is the level here in Khartoum.

The restaurant is very tasty - highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed several times in the GH, when on mission, mainly for its nice and friendly staff. It is also a good value for money: basically half the price you'd pay in other similar types of hotels. Topfloor terrace restaurant is managed by a lovely lady and is a good place to relax, with good food. Sure, a bit of refurbishing would not hurt, but rooms are clean with aircon & fan functional. Definitely a good place for budget travellers.

Room Tip: Room 9 is good!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank AurelieRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed a few nights in Bourgainvilla Guesthouse, and can recommand it absolutely. The price was fine, during the Summer it was reduced to 55 dollar a night. In the evenings a good diner is served on the roof. The staff, Shas and others, were very helpful in arranging taxi's etcetera. It's quite close to the airport, the centre of Khartoum is a bit further away, but not that far: 10-15 minutes by taxi. Especially because of the service I'll go back here during my next trip to Khartoum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bougainvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvilla

Property: Bougainvilla
Address: House 314, Block 21, Prof. Abdalla Attayb Street | Riyad, Khartoum, Sudan
Location: Sudan > Khartoum State > Khartoum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Khartoum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvilla Hotel provides a high standard service quality and hygiene. Our hotel is located in a quiet and central area with well equipped facilities and a helpful staff that will guarantee you a joyful holiday or business trip. Bougainvilla hotel has relocated into a new building, located approximately 70m west of the previous building, across an empty field. It is no longer affiliated with the previous building. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bougainvilla Hotel Khartoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing