We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Khartoum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khartoum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Khartoum
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Khartoum
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

this is a nice hotel in Khartoum, has the potential to become a great hotel but not very well managed by a Pakistani owner who is involved in everything.
Lovely pool and pool bar for a drink and shisha at night and good location in fromt of the nile.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank othmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    31
    13
    14
See reviews for
4
8
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I am currently staying here for two weeks on business.
If the modern day 5 star corporate type hotel is your preference then this is not the place to stay in. The hotel is owned and run by a Pakistani Family and this clearly shows in the warmth and friendliness of the staff. Though old, the building has history and a comfortable feel about it. There is not a vast choice of food at meal times but personally I always find what there is, well presented and cooked. The swimming pool and gym are important requirements for me when travelling and at the Grand Villa they do not disappoint . Consideration has to be given to the country you are in and of course cost. At US $140 a night ( including breakfast) I think this Hotel is of exceptional value and would will not hesitate to return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Grand Holiday Villa looks like a magnificent colonial edifice from the front, and even inside it looks impressive, but looks can deceive. I believe it rates itself as 5 star, if I was feeling generous I would give it 3 stars.

We stayed here twice during our trip and the first room was OK, but the second time we ended up in a modern block at the back, miles from reception and the restaurant, even though the place appeared to be empty. Only one towel was provided in a double room (both times) and it took quite a bit of nagging to get a second one, and hot water was a little hit and miss, mainly miss. Facilities varied, the first room had a kettle but no tea or coffee, and no water, the second room had water but no kettle.

The restaurant was OK, but the breakfast buffet had the appearance of having been there since the 1880's and the baked beans looked astonishingly un-appetising.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Grand Holiday Villa is well and truly rooted in the past and offers traditional comfort of a bygone age.
The room was adequate as was the breakfast, but staff were charming and very helpful.
Expect faded glory.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a much better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

In bygone days this used to be the famed Grand Hotel, alongside such names as the New Stanley in Nairobi or the Winter Palace in Luxor. Some years ago it was bought and refurbished by Pakistani investors, and while service cannot be called impeccable, the athmosphere still conveys something of the old grandeur. It is a matter of personal choice, like some other reviewers I find the place with all its flaws to be a much more authentic and pleasant stay then the glass bubble Coritnthia or the other soulless modern hotels. The staff are trying to be nice, but sometimes best effort is not quite enough, and speed is definitely not one of their main character traits. Then again, if you go to Sudan, you should be prepared for this in the first place...

Looking at the prices other hotels are charging, overall I think it is still the best value for money in town among the top-end hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the rear on the rirst floor in the main wing. There is a huge air-conditioner uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My trip to Sudan in the last week was a memorable one, wonderful people, diverse country, and tasty food. Pity about the hotel though, dirty, no hot water, towels not changed, and shampoos not replaced. The noise and disturbance also unbelievable, and the TV is depressing with very few channels and bad image ,I dreaded coming to my room at night and could not wait to leave in the morning. Hotel management is not great either, despite the complaints little was done.I bet from the time of Winston Churchill who presumably stayed here no renovation or cleaning was done.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sima k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khartoum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This classical colonial hotel has just been renovated and now managed by a new administration. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Spacious rooms with high ceiling and open environment. Food, service and amenities are excellent. Huge swimming pool where I spent my evenings puffing on 'shisha'. Real value for money. Memorable stay.

Room Tip: Nile view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haris564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Khartoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Khartoum

Property: Grand Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Khartoum
Address: Nile St, Khartoum, Sudan
Location: Sudan > Khartoum State > Khartoum
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Khartoum
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Khartoum 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 1800, the Grand Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Khartoum's historical building exudes an old world charm of the colonial era. Centrally located in the heart of Khartoum's commercial hub, this hotel features 160 guest room, in addition to office suites, a shopping arcade and an exclusive recreational club. With royal visitors of the past including Thomas Cook, Sir Winston Churchill and Queen Victoria, rest assured of 5-star conveniences and modern facilities to ensure a memorable stay in the grand city of Khartoum, Sudan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Holiday Villa Khartoum Hotel Khartoum
Grand Holiday Hotel Khartoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing