We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for a business visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Country Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Freetown
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have stayed here now on 4 occasions. The hotel is constantly improving. It is comfortable, the rooms are spacious and clean with airconditioning that is effective. The service provided by the staff is of a high standard and well supervised. The hotel has a fine pool, patio with poolside facilities. There is a gym well equipped with weights, treadmills etc. The restaurant is of a good standard, although the menu could do with some occasional updating to give a wider range for those who stay here for long spells. Currently the hotel is undergoing some expansion and so there is some noise and dust from that. However it is probably the nicest place to stay of all hotels in Freetown, with commanding panoramic views over Freetown and the sea. As others have said, the Patio Restaurant is cool and pleasantly breezey, and a good meeting place for those with business to transact. The one negative aspect is the quality of the approach road, which could do with some at least of the worst potholes being levelled - but perhaps that is the price one pays for the hilltop location, cleaner air and beautiful views!

Room Tip: Ask for the higher level rooms - especially if you find stairs a difficulty. They are brighter, ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 140 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent our first and last nights in Sierra Leone at the Country Lodge. On the first night it seemed good, and we relaxed from our flight, had a drink, nice meal and collapsed into bed. Breakfast was buffet style, and there was fried plantain, so I was happy. A chef made me some excellent sloppy scrambled eggs which set me up for the day. There was decent brewed coffee too, which I hadn't expected. We set off for our holiday replete.

When we got back from staying elsewhere, the Lodge looked like the lap of luxury! Comfortable beds, acceptable shower, great views over Freetown and some excellent food. I ate practically nothing but seafood all over Sierra Leone, and here over the course of our 24 hour stay I had a seafood salad, gigantic tempura prawns and snapper - all delicious.

More importantly, the staff were friendly and helpful, and actually asked us questions about ourselves. It's amazing how important this is - it means you're a guest and not a statistic.

Room Tip: The old block has massive and luxurious rooms on the floors down from the reception area, but the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ninakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Bearing in mine you can't expect 5 star luxury within a country where roads would be a bonus this place has everything you require in a country still getting over a war. It's clean and tidy, generators work, water is clean and the wifi in the terrace area is actually quick by SL standards. The food is fine, in fact you can make requests and the owners will accommodate. Staff very friendly, compound very secure, swimming pool and tennis courts are a good bonus. Rooms are big with all mod comms so ideal really one of the best places to stay in Sierra Leone for business travellers wouldn't recommedpnd anywhere else

Room Tip: Get executive rooms On top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ross7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

taking into consideration the quality of the hotels in sierra leone, I would say that this hotel is a good one, Even though the road is very bad, but its not just for this hotel, all the city is like that.

All the hotels are expensive there,

and its far from the downtown and the beach, so I would not recommend this hotel to you if you are in freetown for vacation.

and pay attention from the moskitos, I asked them to give me the spray multiple time but ... I never got it

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaito F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I really liked this restaurant it was very good and the food tasted good. I had lunch from their Lebanese choices, the food was good, and the view from the restaurant is really amazing. It has a nice view of the town as well as the ocean from the distance because the hotel is on a mountain. We paid in dollars and the food was not too pricey and quality was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank youngSaudiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My second visit in 2 years to Freetown and the Country Lodge. Seems to be continuous construction; my theory is they make a little money and the safest place to put it is in construction materials. Overall the service and food have gone down over time as the rates have gone up with the infusion of mining company personnel. With few other options, the only choice is to manage your expectations. And oh yes, the credit card system was down so carry back up cash.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms (1300 or 1400) seem best and newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdirtathens_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you're going to Freetown on business, there are not too many choices of hotel in this still-war-ravaged country. The Country Lodge patio eating area offers great views with cool breeze and the only wi-fi area in the hotel. It's interesting to see people from around the world logging in to e-mails and skyping from here.
After that, as other reviewers have said, you take what you get. We stayed in the Presidential Suite which is spacious but not worth the price; plus it overlooks the parking area where construction vehicles come in and out all the time - it's very noisy - and there's a container stationed just in front of the pathway up to the suite.
Service is slow and surly with many options on the menu not being available.
Noisy neighbours and mosquitoes kept us awake at night.

Room Tip: Do not go for the Presidential Suite - it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InkySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel
1.0 mi away
Swiss Spirit Hotel & Suites Freetown
1.6 mi away
New Brookfields Hotel
New Brookfields Hotel
#1 of 15 in Freetown
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Home Suites Hotel
Home Suites Hotel
#5 of 15 in Freetown
22 reviews
4.1 mi away
Florence's
Florence's
#9 of 15 in Freetown
34 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Place
The Place
#1 of 2 in Tokeh
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Lodge Hotel

Address: HS 51 Hill Station, Freetown, Sierra Leone
Phone Number:
Location: Sierra Leone > Western Area > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range: $104 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Country Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Lodge Hotel is minutes away from the embassy area, and the world famous colonial houses in Hill station and only 4km from the beaches of Freetown. Enjoy a spectacular and panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean, the Country Lodge is a boutique hotel which is situated on the hill of Freetown. You are guaranteed the best rates, complimentary welcome drink, warm towel and a free airport pick-up when you book on this site. We pride ourselves in providing a warm and caring service to all our clients and make their stay a most memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Country Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing