We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lebanese Food”
Review of Restaurant Farid

Restaurant Farid
Ranked #2 of 205 Restaurants in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Nouakchott, Mauritania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese Food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent Lebanese food and very nice atmosphere. I suggest the Mezze menu.
Prices are quite high for Dakar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    115
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful break”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a real gem, tucked behind a solid wooden door on a side street of Dakar. I only opened the door because of the Trip Advisor sign, but wow, what a great surprise. After nearly two weeks of rice, fish, and bread in rural Senegal, the minestrone and fresh veggies were a revelation.

Quiet, significant menu, and not as expensive as it might appear to be. Not my usual taste while in Senegal, but a nice retreat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrMarkWMeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprising ambiance”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

In a rather somber street, in the very center of Dakar, entering the door of this restaurant, really creates un expected surprise view of a largely open air restaurant. A very modern ambiance creates a nice environment for the nice lebenanese meal served by very kind personnel. Sometimes it takes a while before they notice you need another drink or something like that, so don't hesitate to insist.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosvanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Dakar”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

After several days in Senegal, our group decided to venture beyond our hotel and found this recommendation on Trip Advisor. A little hard to find, but eventually found a door across the street from the Hotel Farid which opened into a huge garden courtyard. Great ambiance, and delicous Lebanese food. One in our party is from Lebanon, and gave it good marks. We ordered several cold and hot dishes, all of which were prepared very well. The only complaint is that the service was slow and difficult at times to flag down a waiter.

Overall: Very happy to find this restaurant, and will return on my next trip to Dakar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjolicoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Under-whelmed”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Maybe I caught Restaurant Farid on a bad night but I had such an unsatisfactory experience there, I doubt I ever will go back. The combination of poor service, high prices and small portions added up to a dreary evening. Though I was the only patron there (it was early in the evening), the waiting staff spent most of my time there gossiping in loud voices with one another. My Lebanese mixed grill came without any rice or potatoes or salad – just a few cut onions. The mixed grill was tasty but amounted to only a few bites. That is unusual for a Lebanese restaurant. The best thing about this establishment is its décor which is very pleasant. However, there are far better and cheaper places to eat in Dakar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Farid also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Restaurant Farid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing