We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Customer service locked out of Farid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Customer service locked out of Farid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Our four night stay in the Hotel Farid was marred by, bizarrely, issues with the lock on our door. Firstly, the cleaners perpetually forgot to lock our door, despite numerous reminders, which is hardly good security. Secondly, our lock (on one of the faded 'classic' rooms) broke, which was hardly our fault, but was dealt with as if it was.

The management hardly covered themselves in glory. We had to wait whilst they endlessly fiddled around with the lock to no avail. We asked if we could be moved to another ('classic') room whilst it was fixed, but there were none available. We eventually moved to one of the superior rooms (which were not full), but not before the management had asked us to pay the difference (which we flatly refused). They are more interested in money than customer service at the Farid.

The location is good and, as mentioned before, the Lebanese restaurant over the road is a real tasty oasis. Dakar is a lively city with a breezy climate and is well worth a visit. I'm not sure the Farid is the best option though.

Room Tip: There is a vast difference in quality between the 'classic' and superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagicMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
19
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Expensive hotel at £40 a night, great location, safe (someone on desk 24/7), rooms was not serviced at all during my 3 night stay (went while on holiday in the gambia) and while I am glad of the experience of travelling from Gambia to Senegal I hated Dakar, dirty, uncomfortably aggresive people following me around the streets and dead rats on the street really did for me, glad of the experience but never again.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade from the smaller, darker "classic rooms" which are basically small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellinman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Senegal is not as cheap as other African nations, and Dakar is an expensive city in Senegal, so all things considered this centrally-located hotel is good value. The rooms were large, clean, with hot water, the reception staff were friendly and helpful. If you want downtown accomodation which doesn't cost the earth then I'd recommend the Farid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Hotel Farid is located right in the center of the Plateu (downtown) Dakar, within walking distance from Place de l'Independance, the ferry to Ile de Goree, downtown markets and shopping avenues. The room are clean and ok for a stay in the city. The staff is helpful and the people at the reception usually speak other languages besides French (at least English, and possibly some Italian/Spanish). The lebanese restaurant of the hotel, located cross the street, is a nice place with great food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moongateclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We booked Hotel Farid as it was the best hotel we could see with our budget and were pleasantly surprised about the quality of the hotel and friendlyness of the staff.

the hotel was clean and well designed and had good access to the internet. the restaurant was very pleasant and secluded and gave a feel that we were not in senegal at all.

the staff were very friendly and helpful and should I need to visit Senegal again I will definately book this hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erfmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I'm used to credit card charges when booking hotels, so I was a little nervous with just email correspondence for our booking. But our room was waiting for us upon our very late arrival.

The "Classic" rooms are more humble than an average Quality Inn--just well-worn basics, but clean, as anyone who travels much outside the U.S./Europe might expect. The slightly-overpriced restaurant across the street is nice, and the one up the street and around the corner was great. The staff was helpful with our tourist-y questions and poor French.

Pros: clean rooms, centrally located (walking distance to everything in Dakar), free internet access, helpful staff
Cons: some noise from stairs/hallway and streets

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed in Hotel Farid for the first few nights and for the last night during my first trip to Dakar. It was a wonderful introduction to the city. I particularly enjoyed the central location, especially being a first-timer in the city. The staff was excellent, helping me with not only hotel related issues but other questions as well. The rooms are simple but very comfortable, with lots of hot water and air-conditioning. In the vicinity, many restaurants are available, including local and international. Try Keur Ndiaye (just around the corner) or La Gallette. The Lebanese restaurant next to the hotel is also great. One tip for the travelers, especially if your taxi driver doesn't find the way to the hotel, always ask for Ali Baba restaurant (in Plateau), that's a well-known spot and Hotel Farid is a few blocks away from there. Overall, great place, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budapest-Hung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#4 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Baraka
Hotel Al Baraka
#17 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.2 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oceanic
Hotel Oceanic
#8 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar

Property: Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar
Address: 51 Rue Vincens, Dakar 99, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-restaurant in Dakar, Senegal: Business, Downtown, Online booking, free internet access - Wi-Fi access, Airport shuttle, currency exchange at hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farid Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing