We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
19
32
10
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
19
32
10
7
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 79 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

Very idiosyncratic place with some bizarre architecture. But that gives it character. If you normally like your hotels more corporate, then don't stay here!

However, it is friendly and efficient and the sea view rooms are delightful places to sleep with the sound of the waves and a cooling breeze.

Food is basic. Pool is not for small children.

And it is not expensive.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

I staid 3 nights at the Sokhamon for a workshop. The meeting room was OK, quite basic but at least well air-conditioned and full of light. The staff is punctual in arranging for the coffee and cakes during breaks. Breakfast is a bit monotonous and quite limited while lunch is unexpectedly good. Honest food, well prepared and in adult portions. Certainly appreciated. The rooms, I had an 'apartment', a misleading term for a large room, sparsely furnished without a kitchen corner or sink, which looked empty and in gad need of refurbishment. There was a phone which didn't work but luckily sufficient power outlets to charge phones, pc and whatever other gadgets one has these days. The price is fine and seems appropriate for what one gets. Certainly this place could have potential, given its location right in front of the ocean. But the lay-out, quality of construction and identify forms an obstacle to its further development. A huge bar without any entertainment doesn't attract clients. The absence of beer on the evening of my arrival didn't either. In short, good for a local workshop. But that's it. Families, stay away unless on a budget. Business trips? No...

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

So upon arrival I wasn't sure what I was in for, but after a few days I could see the effort put into the artistic decor that surrounded me. It's a great place to stay, nice ocean breeze and nice staff.

But as I was here for business I needed reliable internet, working aircon (for working in room) etc. it fell a bit short on this area. This a place to come for a holiday not a business trip. Don't expect a 5 star hotel and you will be happy. The deeper you look the more treasures you will find.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

The Hotel Sokhamon is located on the sea , in a residential area of Dakar. It has generous rooms, artistic design, of an undefined periode. This means a mixture of elements of presumably local type, some new interpretations of art nouveaux, which was built in a time which is difficult to estimate.

The swimming pool is located overlooking the sea and very pleasurable.

Needless to say, as most persons on Dakar, the personal is very friendly, and trying to meet the wishes of the guests.

Coming back from a tour, from seeing the Medinah, this place is an oasis of peace.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfgang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Room 302 had an ocean view, kept the window open and lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves on the shore. Enjoyed doing laps in the long (potentially Olympic but didnt measure to be sure) infinity pool. Walking distance to many good restaurants in plateau and great, safe jogging in the vicinity.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N_Bay_TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews