We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“rene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lagon II

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lagon II to your Saves list
Hotel Lagon II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de la Corniche Est | BP 3115, Dakar, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“rene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice in august 2013.

Breakfast is ok, restaurant is good and food is also available at the bar.

Internet wifi is free of charge.

Only the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks in the night can be bothersome.

Rooms are very spacious.

Location is very good, close to the beaches.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second floor. On the first floor waves can easily hit the balcony window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
9
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We only stayed one night but would go back if visiting Dakar again. Our room was super, very large, and as with all the other rooms the sea came up right under the balcony. It was lovely to hear the sea crashing on the rocks beneath at night and during the day you could see lots of little crabs clambering over the rocks. Management had placed an insect spray in the room should there be any mossies but there weren't any. The whole hotel is designed to look like a ship, even the doors of the rooms are rounded like watertight doors. Breakfast was not luxurious, but perectly adequate - continental style. The hotel was all clean, and its position on the Corniche meant that a 2 minute walk led to a flight of steps the top of which was really close to Independence Sq. From there it was a less than 5 minute walk to the Hotel de Ville, and a further 5 mins to the ferries to Goree. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies overlooking the sea - and I mean overlooking. If you jump out you'll ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Melodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

At first, you are welcomed by a horrible smell when entering the hotel. The staff was polite and welcoming enough, however we were put in a room stinking of cigarette. We obviously asked to chqnge rooms; the view was great but the room's furniture was old and the room was overall dirty. We paid 150 pounds a night for a double room, we found 2 beds stuck together to make up a double bed!! Avoid this dump, save your money. This is clearly not a 4 star hotel, they really a reality check, renovate and revamp this 70s smelly hotel or lower their prices..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pendinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dakar hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days for a meeting. Very good location and easy access to the city. The rooms are designed as if in a ship and each room has an ocean view with a small balcony. The only negative was that there were lots of mosquitoes in the room with no hook to hang a mosquitoes net over the bed. Internet was fast and the staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The staff is very welcoming and helpful. If your are lucky, you will have your room in the building facing the Gorée Isle. Rooms are quite comfortable with all the modern facilities. TV might be better.
About the restaurant, yes it is very good but definitely too creamy.
Even if the hotel is tagged with 4-star, do not expect a 4-star service

Room Tip: room on the side giving a straight view to Gorée
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericmgerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in February 2011 (and before that for a week in December 2010).

Hotel is in general clean. The rooms all have the same rate, but are not identically equipped (for example, some rooms have flat screen tv, when some others still have good old cathodic tube). All rooms have a balcony, which stands just on top of the water. Nearer from the ocean is not possible! This provides every day with a magnificent sunrise for breakfast!

Talking about breakfast, there is a buffet with enough food, but no ample choice. Staff is friendly and helpful, and after the first day when i complained that the orange juice at breakfast is non-tasty-diluted-cardboard box sirup, they started pressing fresh oranges for me every day!

Displayed rates are prohibitive, but don't hesitate to negotiate, especially if staying on a longer period or with a group.

A few negative points: internet tends to be rather slow when it works, no swimming pool (contrary to most other hotels on the Corniche), restaurant is extremely expensive and doesn't offer anything special, for that, better walk 100 m and eat at restaurant Le Lagon 1).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnergizeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

You rarely find such nice designer rooms in African hotels, even among the expensive ones. All the room are seaside, nice and calm, and pleasant to work in (easy internet access). Very nice bathrooms with tub. I enjoyed to find such a calm spot so close to the center of busy Dakar. The restaurant is very nice, and the retro design really enjoyable and well created. I had only positive experiences with the staff. I'm going back to Dakar next week, and will choose Lagon again (have tried Novotel and Croix de Sud earlier). Only slight draw back is that you need a cab to get into the city. It is not recommendable to walk up the hill.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#10 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rysara Hotel
Rysara Hotel
#3 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar
2.8 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Al Baraka
Hotel Al Baraka
#21 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lagon II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lagon II

Property: Hotel Lagon II
Address: Route de la Corniche Est | BP 3115, Dakar, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lagon II 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Lagon II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing