We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located,pleasant staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oceanic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Oceanic
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Centrally located,pleasant staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

I stayed two nights at the "Hotel Oceanic" in downtown Dakar.The hotel had a bar at the bottom level of the three story hotel that was on a patio terrace.The rooms were fanventilated with bathroom faclilities.The rooms were clean done up in basic West African decor. The best deal is to share a triple room with two other friends/travelers
the triples are cost per room per night not per person.Staff was very friendly,they liked going the extra step to be resourceful.The hotel is popular with fellow travelers that were visiting from mainly Europe.Hotel is right near the center of downtown with just a 10 minute walk to the ferries to Goree Island.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    6
    7
    0
See reviews for
2
11
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in Feb 2007, but felt compelled to write a review in Feb 2008 when reading other reviews for the Oceanic (in preparation for another trip to Dakar). I would not recommend this hotel to other travelers, unless you have absolutely no choice! The room was not very clean (I ended up sleeping in my clothes because I didn't want to sleep on the sheets). There was a mildew smell and everything seemed a little damp. The worst part was that I'm almost positive that the place was being used as a brothel because I kept seeing women coming and going. The tell-tale sign, however, was the man with the gold chains, gold rings, and lots of money, who seemed to know all of the women. I guess this will teach me to always by the updated version of "Lonely Planet" instead of using older versions (which said this was a clean, cheap place to stay).

  • Liked — very friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank khaywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

What a experience,we had a one month stay in the hotel and will never forget it,
The people working at the hotel looked after us as if we were family members,
The food -excellent
Rooms cleaned daily
The hotel exceed our expectations,

Johan Austin
South-Africa

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — No tv in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JakkieSenegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

After checking in and cleaning up (showers had hot water and good water pressure), we emerged from our retro-70s room to find a dirty old mattress had been discarded in the hallway directly outside our door. Well, we thought to ourselves, we suppose they'll get rid of it by the time we return from dinner. Alas, the dirty old mattress remained our steadfast companion for the duration of our stay.
That said, the staff did clean our room and the common areas diligently but didn't seem to realize that the old mattress negated the effort put forth to keep the place "clean". The balcony almost made up for the fact that we had a few roaches in the room. The restaurant downstairs provided satisfactory breakfasts, but don't expect to get a proper cocktail at the bar. The hotel is centrally located and affordable. We found a nice bakery and a good French restaurant nearby. Even in central Dakar we could have benefited from a mosquito net.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank Acey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2005

The Oceanic is a three story hotel in downtown Dakar. Its very cheap about 1/4th of the price of Novhotel. It is next to the Market Kermel. You need reservations in the hoilday season and in the winter months. Ideal for larger parties they have some rooms for 4-6 people. Nice restaurant and good security.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
28 Thank revsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#5 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Al Baraka
Hotel Al Baraka
#16 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.6 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#11 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar
6.4 mi away
Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceanic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceanic

Property: Hotel Oceanic
Address: 9 Rue de Thann | 9, Rue de Thann Senegal, Dakar 18522, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dakar
#7 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oceanic 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel OCEANIC, situated in city center in a colonial building of more than a century, shelters 24 rooms(chambers) (bathroom and individual air conditioning) on 2 floors around a patio in the shade of a mango and of a vineyard(vine). OCEANIC HOTEL was totally renovated with change of : All the bedding by mattresses quite new, cover beds, curtains, etc. All the air conditioning by quite new Split, WIFI is available gracefully at the level of all the rooms. Single: 38, 50 Euro All taxes Double: 46, 00 Euro All taxes Triples: 58, 00 Euro All taxes Quadruple:66, 00 Euro All taxes Have breakfast:3, 80 Euro/Pers. Menu(except drink): 11, 50 Euro Our Price lists are graded according to the duration of the stay (see tariff board on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Oceanic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing