We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is situated on the coast south of central Dakar, set into the cliff above the sea, away from the noise, bustle and traffic of central Dakar. The only disadvantage of this hotel is the number of stairs down from reception to the rooms and bar/restaurants. These stairs can be slippery when wet.

I liked this hotel, it had an excellent atmosphere, with views over the Isle de Gorre. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, ours had a small balcony overlooking the huge pool and the sea. They are not that modern in style, but the air con worked well, the bathroom was excellent, the free wifi was good and there was a TV.

The staff were welcoming, well trained and efficient.

We ate twice in the restaurant. For the first dinner we were part of a large group of 15 , and the service was slow and the food suffered from not being served as soon as cooked. However, we ate the following lunch time and dinner as a couple and the food and service were much better. Indeed some of the best we managed to find in Senegal. The Pelican restaurant is nicely situated above the small private beach, within sound of the sea. The food was reasonably priced. Do not expect an extensive wine list, but what was on offer was reasonable.

Breakfast served in the restaurant overlooking the pool was excellent.

I have rated this hotel as excellent by the standards of Senegal, not by those of Europe, but it was the best all round on trip our through Senegal and The Gambia.

We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 111 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my second stay (1 week) at the Savana. It was selected by others for a conference. The location is lovely - right on the beach. You hear the waves lapping the shore and enjoy the sea breeze. The outdoor areas are pretty - a nicely maintained garden, a lovely big pool. The lunches prepared for our conference were very good, with a good selection of salads, meats, fish, vegetables. And juices that I love (bisap, ginger, baobab fruit...). The bar by the pool also makes pretty good sandwiches. The staff is really friendly and does what they can to help - service with a smile - although some things fall through the cracks. The rooms could use refreshing - as could the bathrooms. They're dated, and although quite clean, their age makes them look tired and perhaps a bit dirty (the carpets definitely could use a steaming). Wireless was ok this time, it was off for a couple of days, but better than a year ago. The hotel is (slowly) undergoing what look like serious renovation, and I'd love to visit after this is finished. All in all, it's not a bad choice, by no means luxurious, but quite good enough, and it definitely grows on you because of the pleasant site and nice staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tradewinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What I realised when looking for a hotel in Dakar was that everything is really expensive.Savana Jardin is not the kind of hotel I would usually visit(mainly because of style and price).I spent in total 6 nights in the hotel and I really liked the location even though it is not walking distance from the centre.The staff is not always helpful it depends,the rooms are quite clean (anyway the standards in Africa are different).The food in the restaurant is not good so I advise you to eat out.In general I had a pleasant stay over there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kits_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for a conference in the hotel. The location is great and quiet. The breakfast offers eggs, breads, fruits, cereals, ham, cheese, juices, tea/coffee. The room had wifi connection of the internet, good enough to read e-mails and newspapers. Water pressure of the shower was good, while the water temperature could be a bit hotter. On the last day, water pipes broke in the hallway, and we did not have water. It was fixed by the late afternoon. Staff was nice, and I will probably go back with a good price offered. Lunch offered for the conference was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fukuyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel Savana is wonderfully located on the southern coast of Dakar. Fab olympic sized pool, great food at the outdoor restaurant overlooking the ocean. WIFI connection was spot on and no concerns over safety. Dakar is a real Francophile jewel and no wonder the French want to keep it secret!!

Room Tip: Ocean view had excellent WIFI connection. No noise anyway as quite away from the main part of the ci...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Savana is a good quality, no-frills hotel on the isolated southern tip of the Dakar peninsula, and with rooms over £100 per night, I think rather expensive. The room was rather dated, with a noisy air-conditioner, leaking water onto the floor. There were no toiletries provided.

On the plus side, the rooms were of a reasonable size, en-suite, and balcony overlooking the 50 meter swimming pool, and views of the ocean beyond. At the cashiers desk you can change your Euros, GPB and USD, and some credit cards (MC and Visa) are accepted. The restaurant offered a reasonable menu, as well as a pool-side bar offering snacks (pizza, Panini, pasta dishes and burgers).

I found making the hotel booking particularly difficult (probably the language barrier). Email replies took several days, and were not always clear. Even after booking and then sending a reminder for an airport pickup, we were not on the driver’s list. Luckily, another passenger on our flight was also being met, so we managed to share a lift with him. A taxi would have been far cheaper and not so confusing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John4One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is undergoing renovations but they aren't disruptive and if anything, it was exceptionally quiet, with good service. A lovely location with extensive property including Olympic-size pool (unheated so a little chilly), small sandy beach, good snack bar with long hours and room service, restaurant overlooking the sea. Wifi doesn't really work but supposed to be improved. Computer at business centre but not free. Rooms a bit old-fashioned but pleasant. Beds a bit soft. Excellent new bathroom fixtures and tub as well as power shower.

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor sea view room with balcony towards the end away from the dining room. Wonderfull...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woggles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.9 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
1.1 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 43 in Dakar
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lagon II
Hotel Lagon II
#22 of 43 in Dakar
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#12 of 43 in Dakar
510 reviews
9.0 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#34 of 43 in Dakar
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar

Address: Pointe Bernard-Petite Corniche | Dakar senegal, Dakar 6096, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range: $124 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Jovago.com and Orbitz so you can book your Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savana Jardin Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing