We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and very peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Dakar
London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view and very peaceful”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel Savana is wonderfully located on the southern coast of Dakar. Fab olympic sized pool, great food at the outdoor restaurant overlooking the ocean. WIFI connection was spot on and no concerns over safety. Dakar is a real Francophile jewel and no wonder the French want to keep it secret!!

Room Tip: Ocean view had excellent WIFI connection. No noise anyway as quite away from the main part of the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    50
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
16
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Savana is a good quality, no-frills hotel on the isolated southern tip of the Dakar peninsula, and with rooms over £100 per night, I think rather expensive. The room was rather dated, with a noisy air-conditioner, leaking water onto the floor. There were no toiletries provided.

On the plus side, the rooms were of a reasonable size, en-suite, and balcony overlooking the 50 meter swimming pool, and views of the ocean beyond. At the cashiers desk you can change your Euros, GPB and USD, and some credit cards (MC and Visa) are accepted. The restaurant offered a reasonable menu, as well as a pool-side bar offering snacks (pizza, Panini, pasta dishes and burgers).

I found making the hotel booking particularly difficult (probably the language barrier). Email replies took several days, and were not always clear. Even after booking and then sending a reminder for an airport pickup, we were not on the driver’s list. Luckily, another passenger on our flight was also being met, so we managed to share a lift with him. A taxi would have been far cheaper and not so confusing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John4One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is undergoing renovations but they aren't disruptive and if anything, it was exceptionally quiet, with good service. A lovely location with extensive property including Olympic-size pool (unheated so a little chilly), small sandy beach, good snack bar with long hours and room service, restaurant overlooking the sea. Wifi doesn't really work but supposed to be improved. Computer at business centre but not free. Rooms a bit old-fashioned but pleasant. Beds a bit soft. Excellent new bathroom fixtures and tub as well as power shower.

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor sea view room with balcony towards the end away from the dining room. Wonderfull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woggles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

During my journey in Senegal I had the occasion to stay during 2 nights in this hotel. Even if this luxurious hotel does look a bit old fashioned, I really appreciated its calm atmosphere that contrasted a lot with the noise and the dust that are everywhere else in the city. I had some problems with the air con though, as it was too strong and the remote was not working properly. But the people there were very nice and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

This hotel is a little bit farther than what I would go for next time (Almadie neighbourhood for sure), but it's got an olympic size pool and a beautiful restaurant overlooking the beach. It gets crowded on Sunday, rooms are soc-realistic expression of the late 1970-ties but clean and generally OK for the price you pay. Breakfast is good only if you are staying up to 3 days. The taxi mob outside will get you to pay the price one way or another but generally they are helpful and polite.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed here on two occasions over the space of a month and were very happy with the hotel both times. The swimming pool is huge and very well cared for and the food at both the bar and the restaurant is excellent with the bar, in particular, offering very good value. The buffet breakfasts were great with a huge choice and freshly prepared omelettes. The staff were unfailingly friendly and efficient.
The rooms are a little drab and dated but everything worked and they were clean and comfortable.

Although the hotel is outside the city centre, it only took us about 20 minutes to walk in and there is a constant supply of taxis if you don't fancy the walk. The location overlooking the sea is very attractive and it's also very peaceful with none of the hassle associated with a more central hotel.
We had no problems at all with dishonest staff unlike other earlier reviewers.

We liked best the pool and the bar/restaurant.
We liked least the decor in the bedrooms although this definitely wouldn't deter us from going back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annebailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I eat here in February 2009 and thought the Savannah had a lovely atmosphere. Apparently the rooms are not much good but this hotel is much nicer that the Novotel which is being refurbished not very successfully. The slightly out of the city centre location does it for me

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzrovia_Fellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.9 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
1.1 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 42 in Dakar
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lagon II
Hotel Lagon II
#22 of 42 in Dakar
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#13 of 42 in Dakar
498 reviews
8.5 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
2.9 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 42 in Dakar
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar

Property: Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar
Address: Pointe Bernard-Petite Corniche | Dakar senegal, Dakar 6096, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Savana Jardin-Hotel Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savana Jardin Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing