We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and chill”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Charly's

Charly's
Ranked #19 of 202 Restaurants in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relax and chill”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very good place for an after work or relaxing session in the pool during the week and "before" before a long Saturday night. It has happy hours and food until 11 pm. Music is diversified and there are special nights for salsa which is rare in Dakar. You can meet people from all ages and mainly expatriates if you are into this. It is a nice place to hang out if you are living in the busy and noisy Dakar and want enjoy a lounge atmosphere as you can find them in Europe. However, during busy hours, you might wait 15min to get a simple drink. I recommend the outdoor seating next to the pool or the bar because the room inside is too dark for me but good for more private conversation or tranquility.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nouidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
423 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nice atmosphere sitting outside near the pool on the patio. The food was OK but nothing special. Interesting collection of items, we had some fajitas and a Thai salad. The prices were a bit on the high side considering you're in Dakar. A large draft local beer was basically the same price I would pay in the US. We don't know a lot of French and our server knew almost no English so that was a minor challenge. They couldn't take our Visa card even though it had a chip (chip/signature not chip/PIN). Overall the service was fine and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Salsa dancing!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wednesday and Thursday night present salsa dancing with music provided by a very good DJ. Many of the patrons have been coming here for years and a few are professional instructors. The outdoor venue is perfect for breezy evenings dancing under the stars. The pool is a nice effect. Most peope arrive between 0930 and 1130 PM, but there is still plenty of space for dancing. Sometimes some professional dancers put on a show and this can be quite fun. Food and drinks are reasonably priced, appetizer and tapas type foods.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Outlaw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Africa”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Having stayed at the Hotel Sunugal for business, I have become quite accustomed to eating at Charly Bar, the food is fantastic western affair. Service is good and beer is cold. Not over priced.
Fish and chips are the best in Africa.....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgeo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charly's also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Charly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing