We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Dakar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Dakar
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the standard Ibis Hotel, such as you will find in France. Rooms are fairly small, but clean and comfortable, and the price is fair by Dakar standards (Dakar is an expensive city). The buffet breakfast is adequate, although staff were slow replenishing coffee and other items which ran out. For other meals, you have to go next door to the Novotel, which provides pretty average, and rather expensive, hotel food. The Ibis and the Novotel share a swimming pool, which is very pleasant and a nice place to cool off at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J-CDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    108
    54
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
28
22
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a great choice in Dakar. The hotel is next to the Novotel and they share some amenities such as the swimming pool, bars, etc. There is a taxi rank right outside the hotel gate as well as restaurants and you can walk to the ferry as well. The rooms are very clean, not luxurious, but have all the things you might want, tv, wifi, mini bar, toiletries, safe, etc. The front desk changed money and there is a small cafe and extensive hot/cold buffet breakfast. Other than breakfast, I didn't eat at the hotel, but found plenty of restaurants within walking distance. On my last night, having a beer poolside with the neon lighting on the palm trees and the full moon shining on the water....I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildernessSoAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I don't want to say too much. SImply that Ibis Dakar is a very godd hotel with a correct cleanliness rooms. I was in a room that have a direct view to the sea, and i can tell you that i was simply great.
Moreover, since i was in a professionnal trip, i was easly able to work in a good confort with an easy internet access (high flow).
They bed can helps you rest so well and feel very good at your waking up.
The taxis given to me to drive me back to the airport was not so confortable as i would like (as the hotel for instance). For that i would suggest Ibis to have a better taxi services in order to make their guests feel kings from their arrival to their departure.
Ibis Dakar is a very good place, well located. You have to try it. The rooms fare are affordable.
I do like your hotel and for any of my work trip to dakar, i will choose Ibis (best price and high confort)
Thanks..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank rostaingakoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed one night at the end of a business trip, because the other hotel had no availability on that particular night. It was half the price - and this was reflected in the overall space, budget toiletries etc. But the bed was very comfortable, there was satellite TV, a good shower, all very clean - and the breakfast was very good. Better than I had expected. My only gripe was that there were no tea/coffee making facilities, nor bottled water in the room. But for the price, it was much better value than where I had been staying. I'd happily stay again on a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Ibis hotel is Ibis hotel wherever you are.
Not fantastic, but clean, eficient and not as much expensive as others in the same range.
This hotel is expensive, because all Dakar hotels are expensive. But, comparing to others, Ibis is a good deal.
It is recent, it is clean, it as a (common with Novotel) nice swimming-pool, rooms are on the small side but they are ok, staff is very friendly, breakfast is very decent.
It is in a waking distance from Independence Square, downtown and there are taxis everywhere (be prepared to bargain a lot,otherwhise they will rip you off).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMPFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just built, new clean but basic. The advantage is that it shares all the facilities of the Novotel which is located literally next store. This is the budget hotel of the accord group but because it is new you don't feel like you are scrimping but at the time far from a 4 star hotel. Ideally located for the business traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for the first few days of our holiday in Senegal. The hotel is comfortable, extremely clean and provides everything you need as a base to explore Dakar. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is a plentiful buffet with lots of choice- something for everyone. The Novotel pool is luxurious and provides a lovely alternative to sightseeing in Dakar when you need it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bradybunch109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
2.8 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
0.0 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#9 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
La Demeure
La Demeure
#7 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
Pullman Dakar Teranga
#15 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Villa 126
La Villa 126
#4 of 43 in Dakar
5.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Dakar

Property: Ibis Dakar
Address: No 2 Avenue Abdoulaye Fadiga, Dakar 18524, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Dakar 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing